We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a buffet of local foods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawlins Plantation Inn - CLOSED

Rawlins Plantation Inn
Mount Pleasant, St. Kitts
869-465-6221
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a buffet of local foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We made our way to Rawlins Plantation Inn for our lunch during a tour around the island. We were just in time to be first to enjoy a buffet of local dishes, offered in an attractive display including the name of each dish. We enjoyed sampling different dishes and went back for seconds of a few of our favorites. While eating we really enjoyed looking out over the Caribbean with views of St. Eustastius and Saba and the beautiful grounds of the resort, which incorporate the remains of the old sugar plantation buildings.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Her Majesty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Oh..English tea...best Pina Colada.....romantic cottages...great experience x

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

After a long and bumpy taxi ride to the opposite end of the island, we were a bit woriied about whether the we had made a mistake traveling so fa for our brunch. We didn't the food was awesome. When we arrived they made us at home up on the beautiful veranda where we sat sipping cocktails and enjoying the view while soft music floated around us. Then we moved to a table with a view of the pool and the old sugar cane towers. The owner came by and gave us a brief history of the plantation and encouraged us to explore while we were waiting for our food. Finally we moved on to our meal. It was a mix of the island and the familiar all with a special twist. The food was homey and filling and the staff made us feel like we were family. This was definitely made it on our come back list!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Stopped for lunch while touring the island. Garden and view (of St. Eustatis) were lovely, and the drinks while waiting for 15 minutes or so were excellent (try the banana daiquiri).

Lunch was buffet and all of us totally enjoyed it all, including the chicken curry, the meatballs, and especially the fish (bite size pieces in a yummy sauce. The price of $30 per person seemed quite reasonable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Rum Punch in the Caribbean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I had lunch here with friends recently. We were greeted with quite friendly service and had drinks on their verandah while waiting. They advertise this as the "Best Rum Punch on St Kitt's". I'd have to say that it was the best rum puch that I've had in the Caribbean and topped off with freshly grated nutmeg. The Buffet choices were very nice and all local specialties (which was what we were looking for. If you want something different, it might not be a good choice). A friend who had previosuly eaten at a $270.00 per person plantation dinner said that the food at Rawlins was absolutely of equal quality. The dining room is beautiful and in an old 17th century plantation hosue. The views out over the sea to Saba (I think it's Saba) were spectacular. When we got back to Basseterre, a number of the shop-keepers asked us where we had lunch and seemed envious that we had been to the Rawlins Plantation, which they seemed to think was among the best on the Island.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rawlins Plantation Inn also viewed

 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawlins Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.