We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brac Scuba Shack

Brac Scuba Shack
17 Channel Road | South Side, KY2-2001, Cayman Brac
345-948-8472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Activities in Cayman Brac
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Personalized Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

One day our family of 4 decided to go on a scuba trip and we picked the Brac for the amazing pristine reefs, ease of diving and stuff to do when not diving (we can't stay under all day even if we want to). After checking out the 2 dive operators on the island we chose Scuba Shack because they offered small groups and picked us up at Carib Sands. We found the staff personable and easy to connect with. What we really benefited from were the pre-dive talks from our very smart Marine Biologist Dive Master Roxy who pointed out so much about the dive site and even included a white board drawing. The boat crew used a valet style approach to diving which means they are willing to hook up your equipment(you can do it yourself if you want) then you walk to the back of the boat, sit down, put on your blades/fins, they deliver your bc/reg/tank to you, you buckle up and jump off. So easy. We rented one set of equipment and found the shop to be meticulously organized with equipment that looked new. A manifest was checked before we left the dock and after every dive - adding a level of safety

Getting to the Brac was more tiring than we expected so we changed our dive dates and they were willing to accommodate our last minute request.

In the end we found it's the people who make this island special. So GO! You'll love it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosemead, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better dive option on the Brac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not a lot of diving operations on the Brac, but Brac Scuba Shack is the better of the two. Small dive boat operator. Much more intimate and personal than your other option. They picked me up from my hotel and offered a ride back after the dive. Rinsed and stored my gear for divers at end of day. Plenty of snacks and water. Jessie, Lesiel, and Roxy were all very attentive and knowledgeable about the diving and dive sites. Offered restaurant suggestions and were just a happy bunch. See you in January to explore more of Cayman underwater with the Brac Shack. :-)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of the Brac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

When we were planning on diving on Cayman Brac only Brac Reef Divers were listed anywhere on the internet. Lucky for us we meet one of the dive masters for Brac Scuba Shack in the airport on our way there and that might have made our trip. The shop is smaller but the staff is great, not to mention Chocolate the adorable mascot. We found that the smaller boats make the experience less of an aquatic circus and much more enjoyable. The dive masters are equal parts professional and laid back. All in all, we had a great time and would highly recommend Brac Scuba Shack to anyone visiting the Brac!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukwila, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Brac Scuba!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Liesel and Martin are the greatest hosts and dive masters! Roxanne was a super instructor for my first dive! So patient and a marine biologist to boot! I would highly recommend this shop for diving on The Brac! They exemplify a family business and represent the island well. They are a smaller operation which provides for a more intimate experience without missing anything. My boyfriend and his dive buddy went out on the boat several days and really enjoyed their dives. We would definitely go back to them if we ever get back to "The Brac"!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Personalized Service + Best Price = PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Liesel and Martin were an amazing help during our 7 day visit to the Brac, and the prices blew everyone else away. Phil and Roxanne (dive masters) were amazing resources as well. We were so lucky to have them. The boat is big enough and offered plenty of room to move around, but intimate enough to feel like a personal trip. The local resort's boats were set up for a cattle call, not an amazing diving experience, so believe me when I say that the Brac Scuba Shack is who you need to talk to about anything to do with local diving. When we come back, we will certainly make sure that the first people who know will be the incredible staff at the Brac Scuba Shack! Thanks, guys!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brac Scuba Shack also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Brac Scuba Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brac Scuba Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.