We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carib Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carib Sands Beach Resort
Save
You added Carib Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hi to all! This was our first time on Cayman Brac and it was outstanding. The resort and staff were great and everyone had a marvel time. The people of Cayman Brac open their homes to use with very unique crafts. Outstanding... The fishermen would sell you fresh fish off the docks and you could not ask for more. The Caves were amazing and we did them all.

We will be back and we will stay at Carib Sands!!!! The best home away from home....

Room Tip: If you can select a second floor, the sunsets are wonderful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. Our ground floor, ocean view condo was fitted out to the highest standard with everything we needed and what a view! It was so peaceful and, as non-divers, we had the beach and the pool to ourselves for most of the time. You do need a car - the nearest grocery store is a 5/10 minute drive and choices for eating out are limited. These condos provide the perfect combination, for doing your own thing when you want to or dining out when you fancy a change. Can also recommend the spa services - had the best massage ever from the wonderful Elaine! All the staff on site were friendly and helpful - highly recommended and would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Ocean views make all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our dive vacation to Cayman Brac. The unit #135 was furnished and decorated very well and it was very clean. There were basic pots, pans, and utensils in the kitchen but nothing other than salt and pepper and a few sugar and folgers coffee packets. All of the appliances worked well. The first floor porch had two lounge chairs and 2 small tables. The beach maybe 20 yards straight out from the unit and the pool was to the right about 15 yards away. The pool was very clean and well kept. Maintenance was out there every morning. The biggest problem with the pool area was a lack of shade. No over hanging trees and no umbrellas which could be a real problem for families looking to relax by the pool without getting roasted. The beach was somewhat sandy but one you entered the water there was a lot of hard pan, rubble and sea grass so this made going barefoot next to impossible. The lagoon was great for snorkeling once past the first 25 feet shallow part. The dock to the dive boat was right off the pool and made diving with the Brac Scuba Shack incredible easy and convenient since their boat docks there. The biggest complaints that my wife and I had did not really affect our trip much because we were there to scuba dive and these were spotty internet service (basically had to sit on the porch to access it) and limited channel selection on the t.v. with several of the channels having poor picture and sound quality. My wife and I would not hesitate to head back here, in fact we tried very hard to find a way to stay longer.

Room Tip: Phase 3 units are right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of Carib Sands Beach Resort. We appreciate the time you took to review us. Just letting everyone know we now have a big umbrella for our guests to use around the pool. Of course the coconut trees are still on the beach too, which guests like to lay under for a nice break. The internet service here on island has just introduced a more powerful internet service which we now have!! Time pretty takes care of most guests suggestions!! Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Brac isn't for everyone but it was perfect for us. We are a family of 4 divers and enjoyed walking right out our door to the Scuba Shack dive boat - literally a 30 second walk. The valet dive service made diving so easy we even added a day of diving to our plans. We rented a 3-bed, 3-bath condo right next to the ocean. Each room was big and clean with comfortable beds. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to make our own meals. The air conditioning was appreciated since it is very hot on the Brac in June. We were grateful for the pool which is bigger than it appears in the pictures. This is a no frills location which means it is quiet, most nights it was just the 4 of us gazing at the stars and scanning the ocean from the 2nd floor of the dock/pier. We enjoyed seeing the Southern Crux in the skies and eagle rays, sharks, tarpon, barracuda, and crabs under the dock. The internet worked intermittently which I found helpful in my quest to getaway from it all. I'm sure some people could be bothered by this. Car rental is critical to enjoying all of the island has to offer. We zipped around everywhere - caves, sunsets, restaurants, grocery store, snorkeling and hiking. Carib Sands set-up the car rental and diving for us. The airport is tiny so you really do need to pre-arrange your transportation. We did visit restaurants at some of the other resorts and found a different vibe in each location but were always happy to return to Carib Sands - where it really was "Laid Back on the Brac" (fyi . . . .Brac is pronounced "brack." so it sounds like back). My advice: Just GO! Then enjoy the STOP!

Room Tip: The Condo right out front is Room 111 - loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! It was a pleasure meeting you and your family! Keep us in mind for more vacationing and diving by staying at Carib Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Unbelievable cleanliness and beautiful ocean views from this 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. Wish I could buy this unit as it is for sale. I know this unit will sell quickly.
Loved the privacy of being on 3rd floor and late night candle light dinners on the balcony. Master suite was great with another bedroom on main living area with own bath.

  • Liked — the view was spectacular; beautiful water; nice dock; scuba /snorkel access
  • Disliked — I had to leave!!!
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bay, null, Cayman Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took my family to the brac for vacation and it was great. carib sands is a very quite and nice place.
enjoy the facilities having your own kitchen , pool and dock. beautiful place to injoy everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved our stay here. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, well stocked kitchen, nice beach, nice pool. Easy walk to restaurants, dive shop and liquor store. Will not even consider anywhere else upon a return visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Actually, there is no fitness center or room service but didn't want to leave those blank. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carib Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Sands Beach Resort

Address: 193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Laid Back on the Brac" is our trademark. Carib Sands Beach Resort a vacationer's dream, safe, quiet, relaxing and welcoming surroundings are all here. The only thing that is missing is you! Direct flights from Miami on Saturday's get you here by 1:00 p.m. so you have the rest of the day to lay around the pool, beachcomb, swing in a hammock, or sit out on your patio, enjoy a good book or choose to have a massage in your own condo or out on the second floor of the dock. So pack up the family, or your favorite person and come on down to the greatest piece of paradise on Cayman Brac. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carib Sands Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carib Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.