We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carib Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carib Sands Beach Resort
193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Cayman Brac
central missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ideal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved our stay here. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, well stocked kitchen, nice beach, nice pool. Easy walk to restaurants, dive shop and liquor store. Will not even consider anywhere else upon a return visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Actually, there is no fitness center or room service but didn't want to leave those blank. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are looking for a Hilton quality resort with all of the amenities, Carib Sands Beach Resort isn't the answer, but then neither is Cayman Brac. From my family's experience, Carib Sands Beach Resort is the best place to stay on the island. The condo style resort is basic, clean and comfortable. We arrived late at night and were a bit reluctant at first, but this quickly dissipated the next day. We settled in nicely and very much enjoyed our stay for a week. The basic pool and deck are private and well cared for. The dock and the associated marine life is fascinating. The view of the ocean is nice. While the beach is a bit rustic, it is typical of the island.

All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. When walking around the first morning, I ran into the maintenance man . He stopped me to shake my hand and introduce himself. The office staff tried to help with all of my requests and obtained a car for us after I figured out one was a must on the island.

One suggestion is to ask for a condo with a clear view of the ocean. Also, if you're a diver, we highly recommend that you book with Brac Scuba Shop about 300 yards down the road and boat pick up at the resort.

The reason we gave the resort 4 stars is because there are no truly 5 star locations on Cayman Brac.

We are very much look forward to the next time we can stay at the Carib Sands resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything here was pretty fantastic. It was laid back, the staff was friendly and helpful. The only annoyance I had was that I checked out early (because I was bored on Cayman Brac) and they refused to give _any_ of my money back.

So, I paid the full ~$1,200 (which would have been for a 7-night stay) for a 3-night stay. That was, well, a little frustrating (to say the least).

So, why the four stars anyways? I still gave them four stars because, in terms of experience, friendliness, etc., they were great. And, I wouldn't guess that most people would have my same experience.

They would have gotten five stars, and would have had the opportunity to have my business again had they been at least - a little - lenient with early checkout. I had to hold myself back from giving them one of those ranting, one-start reviews (because losing ~$600 because of lack of leniency is frustrating).

In conclusion, I will definitely not stay here again, and none of my friends will stay here again either (if I can help it). Good customer service, that's what brings people back. I'm not coming back. I probably would have come back here for many years to come for SCUBA adventures were it not for this complete lack of leniency on early checkout. Oh well, they have lost my business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskoka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love this place! I have been coming to the Cayman Islands for over 20 years, and the Brac since Ivan destroyed the 7 mile beach condo we rented. The Brac is more like home to me with out the crowds of Grand Cayman. The Carib Sands is conveniently located on the island being close to most amenities, however I do suggest you rent a car, to enjoy all of the island. The grounds are well kept, and the condos are spacious and clean with new linens each year. The view is outstanding from all directions, from sunrise to sunset. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, going beyond to assist with any thing you need, from giving directions to stocking your fridge for your arrival. We have stayed at this resort/condo for over 5 years with nothing but new adventures while making new friends, as well as meeting up with old friends. With being here for an extended stay I find the internet to be good, and overall value for your dollars exceptional.

Room Tip: All units are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My family and I have vacationed in the Cayman Islands for over 15 years. The last two we have stayed at Carrib Sands. We are a family of 4 and our children being 14 and twenty. The three bedroom unit was perfect. Each of our children brought a guest and with each bedroom having its own bath it gave us the privacy of a hotel but the luxury of family living. The beach out front was absolute perfection I was able to wake in the morning to a cup of coffee and spectacular sunrise, followed by a morning swim in crystal clear water. The location was convenient to all the island had to offer including a dive boat the picked us up at the end of the dock, a major plus! We do rent a car to go exploring which the staff arranged for us as they additionally arranged bicycles for the kids being such a safe Island they loved the freedom of riding to the store, beaches, and anywhere they wanted. All our years of traveling, (we have been to many of the islands and Europe as a family) Carrib sands goes down as one of if not the best locations for us. The staff is more than happy to assist you with anything you need, but that will be little as the unit was well equipped. Just for the record the left over vacation money in my wallet went as a deposit for next year, before heading to the airport as I did not want to miss out on the same location next year. Can't wait to get back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 4 days in a one bedroom units. Unit was beautifully decorated with brand new stainless appliances, as well as washer and dryer. Unit was extremely clean and neat. We were in a first floor unit with french doors that opened to the beach and an amazing view of the ocean. Sunrises and sunsets were beautiful ! Staff was very friendly and accomodating. A perfect vacation location to get away and relax and enjoy the awesome Cayman weather ! Next trip to the Caribbean, we would go right to Cayman Brac and forego the stay in Grand Cayman. Thank you to the Carib Sands for a very enjoyable stay !!! Don & Deb S., Cavendish, Vermont

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carib_Sands, Manager at Carib Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review for us. It was a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you. We look forward to your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay. Neat, clean, right on the beach with a great dock/lounging area. Nicely furnished w/ all conveniences and w/in walking distance of 2 good restruants = Captain's Table and Brac Reef Club. Stayed a week. Had a great time. Gary & Dottie, Loveland, CO, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carib Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carib Sands Beach Resort

Address: 193 Bert Marson Drive | Southside, KY2-2101, Cayman Brac
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Laid Back on the Brac" is our trademark. Carib Sands Beach Resort a vacationer's dream, safe, quiet, relaxing and welcoming surroundings are all here. The only thing that is missing is you! Direct flights from Miami on Saturday's get you here by 1:00 p.m. so you have the rest of the day to lay around the pool, beachcomb, swing in a hammock, or sit out on your patio, enjoy a good book or choose to have a massage in your own condo or out on the second floor of the dock. So pack up the family, or your favorite person and come on down to the greatest piece of paradise on Cayman Brac. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carib Sands Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carib Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carib Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list