We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended for Divers and Non-Divers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brac Reef Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brac Reef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Brac Reef Beach Resort
PO Box 56 WE | Brac Reef Beach, Cayman Brac   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended for Divers and Non-Divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

This was our second trip to BRAC REEF BEACH RESORT. Just like before, the resort was great, the food was great and the diving was great.

The resort staff is friendly and helpful. There is a resident resort manager that oversees the operations on a daily basis. The rooms are simple, comfortable, clean and the A/C works great. If you are a diver, the king bed rooms have more storage area.

The pool and bar area are centrally located and very nice. Not surprisingly, the bar area is the gathering place for divers to socialize. The bar has been upgraded with new bar stools and tables. Bar drinks are expensive so keep track of your bar tab daily.

You can't imagine the quality of food at this resort!! The food is gourmet quality. Do not plan on eating out since there are very few other places to eat on The Brac and they are not close to the resort.

The diving with REEF DIVERS is great. The staff handles everything. This is valet diving at its finest. Each day you leave everything but wetsuit and mask on the boat. They have an excellent area to hang up wetsuits and other things to dry.

They have a relatively new fleet of Newton 46 dive boats. Their rental gear is excellent if you don't want to lug your gear with you. If you don't have a computer they will furnish one for free. All dives are computer profile.

The only downer is the goofy flight schedule on Cayman Airways. The jet arrives just before dark and leaves around 6:00 a.m. That cost you two (2) half days at the resort when you could be having fun. The excess baggage charge is not that much, so next time I am going to take the turbo-prop aircraft and have a better flight schedule.

FYI, now that Divi Tiara has closed up shop (partially due to Cayman Airways) this is your only choice for a full service resort on The Brac. You can stay at several condos, but you will be cooking your own food and the diving will not be so convenient.

BRAC REEF BEACH RESORT and REEF DIVERS are highly recommended. I am definitely going back as soon as my schedule and bank account allow.

  • Liked — Clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — Travel arrangements to get there
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    103
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
45
148
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northwestern CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

We don't like to vacation in crowded places, and I don't like shopping. This was absolutely one of the two best places I've ever been and I can't wait to go Brac (as they say). The diving was fabulous and the crew (Barbie & Menne, our divemasters, and Chris, our captain) was absolutely wonderful. The Reef Divers staff and everyone at the hotel know your name from the minute you arrive and treat you like good friends. Don't miss diving Bloody Bay wall off Little Cayman (weather permitting; the crossing can get rough sometimes).

The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. Buffet in the dining room or order off the menu at the bar. I would also recommend getting the three-meal package.

When you're not diving, the relaxing is no finer. Sit in the sun, swim in the pool, read or nap in a hammock... there's always a spot just right for you available because this resort has only 40 rooms. Quiet and peaceful. And if you forget a book or finish yours, they have a lending/trading library.

  • Liked — The fantastic staff at Reef Divers - Menne, Barbi, Chris, Jenny and all the rest!
  • Disliked — Everything is expensive in the Caymans
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

All i can say the this pace was great.. the food was great , the dive shop was great .. the diving was excellent along with the service.. it was a very relaxing , yet but tiring vacation doing 3 dives a day so basically we ate, slept and dive.. The island was very small we saw it all in about 4 hours .. and the was stopping at all the tourist spots.. I would definitely go back there again!

  • Liked — the peoplle
  • Disliked — no sure
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

Just returned from a wonderful week at Brac Reef Beach Resort. I have only good things to say about this trip. The resort was exceptionally clean. It isn't overly fancy, but it serves all your needs. The food was very good and they had a great selection for all three meals. We never had the same thing twice in eight days. I highly recommend getting the 3 meal package as there is no where else to eat. Ask for a ground floor room or a second floor room with a balcony. The diving was outstanding. Be sure and request a boat with Donnie or Menne (pronounced Mannie). They are both exception dive masters and really go out of their way to make your trip safe and enjoyable. The best souvenir shop on the island is at the resort, but it is limited at best. I would recommend packing some snacks with you and maybe some drink mixes. The snacks and drinks between meals are not part of the all-inclusive plan. We dove every morning, came back for lunch, took a nap in a hammock and laid on the beach the rest of the afternoon. It was like having the place to ourselves. If you want peace and relaxation - this is the place. If you want night-life and partying - you are out of luck on this island. The spa is also wonderful. I recommend Robin for a great massage.

  • Liked — cleanliness, quiet
  • Disliked — no elevator, stairs only
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

We did not stay at the hotel but spent most of our time there. I would suggest one thing, if you have something negitive to say about it, you should certianly dive elsewhere. The dive staff was fantastic, Donny, Chris, Jason, Barbie, Brett, Mannie, Phil and those were the ones I had direct contact with. There was only one dive staff memeber that was unfriendly and thankfully I only had to deal with HER (not Addy) once in the dive shop and she would certianly not deter me from staying there again and again. The water was crystal clear and warm. We did run into a little current but oh well, one bad dive compared to 7 fantastic dives, I like my odds. The food is the best on the island. The staff is friendly but certianly works on "Island Time". Considering we were on a freakin island, that was expected and added to the ambiance. I did not get the feel that he wait staff ran the island. I do agree that they need a little competition. I would certianly go back and as a matter of fact, we are in the process of planning our next trip to go back to Brac Reef with some friends and family. When you go, remember, this is a dive resort. The diving is fantastic, the boats are clean and safe, the "valet" style diving will spoil even the most seasoned diver, and the food is great. Rent a car and travel around the island. There are some hidden gems, caves, rock climbing, hiking, fishing ect.

  • Liked — The diving
  • Disliked — just that one person
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

This place is a divers paradise, and if you are like me, and have a great wife who loves to be with you, but prefers the hammock under the palm trees and the beach, then this is your spot.

The diving was better than great, especially the 357 russian warship at 100'. Chrystal clear waters, an attentive and considerate dive team at Brac Reef Divers, and spots to enjoy every 30 yards of shoreline, just 30 yards offshore, on a tiny, nearly deserted isle.

The food and atmosphere were great. 45% occupancy in Feb is too low. We need to keep this place thriving. Diva next door already went under because people just aren't traveling. After 8 years of going to Grand, this is my first outer island, but won't be my last.

  • Liked — Charming remote island atmosphere, clean and comfortable, with a great view. Diving enthusiasts only.
  • Disliked — althought the airport is 10 steps away, it is a lengthy cab ride around to the other end of runaway
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

Brac Reef Resort was perfect. The rooms were basic...in a good way. Central air, cable tv, king or two queen beds, hair dyer in bathroom. Most rooms had balconies. All face the water...can't see it too well through the palm trees, but it's there.

Nice pool, hot tub, and beach. Not great for swimming...many rocks, but for most who are there for diving, it's perfect. They have plenty of beach chairs and hammocks.

The food was definately above average for all-inclusive. Yummy desserts during lunch and dinner. Grilled lobster tail night was really great!

The staff were all super nice. The dive group was a great bunch of people and made sure you didn't lift your gear all week. They picked it up outside your room the first day and you didn't need to worry about it all week!

Free bikes if you felt like taking a ride, and kayaks too. Internet access in the lobby, gift shop, and workout room...didn't see much of them, but it was nice to know it was all there.

I've traveled all over the Carribbean and would definately suggest BRR to anyone looking for a great dive vacation!!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brac Reef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brac Reef Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 56 WE | Brac Reef Beach, Cayman Brac
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Brac Reef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brac Reef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.