We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brac Reef Beach Resort is back and better then ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brac Reef Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Brac Reef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brac Reef Beach Resort
PO Box 56 WE | Brac Reef Beach, Cayman Brac   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cayman Brac
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brac Reef Beach Resort is back and better then ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I just returned from Brac Reef Beach Resort and it is better than ever. As you may know, It was shut down due to hurricane damage and reopened in December 2009. The room renovations were exceptional. Highlights include: exceptionally quiet rooms; real doors on the patio/deck of each room as opposed to sliding glass doors; upgraded mattresses; and a walk-in shower. The renovations have taken the rooms from a Quality Inn level to something akin to a Hilton. OK you don't go to Cayman Brac to sit in your room...

Food: Most folks sign up for the 3 meal or 2 meals per day buffet option. The buffet was very good. Don't plan on losing any weight here unless you are VERY disciplined. The variety at each meal and throughout the week ensured a wonderful experience at each meal. The Service was excellent from seating through dessert; no request went unfulfilled. Brac Reef has added a "fine dining" option where guests on the Resort and Cayman Brac Locals order from a generous menu. I found the Service and food to be very good but am not of a fine dining guy so I will leave that for others to comment on. The Tipsy Turtle Bar has been moved adjacent to the pool and is an excellent place to unwind with a drink or to order a very generous "pub grub" meal.

Activities: The reason to go to Cayman Brac is Scuba Diving and Reef Divers which is attached to the Resort is the best Dive Shop I have ever used. They specialize in "valet diving" where guests have to barely touch any of their equipment from the time they leave it outside of their room on the first morning until you pack up after the last dive. Dive safety is always their primary priority followed quickly with an exceptional knowledge of each dive site. This is the only Dive Team I have used that actually sketches each dive site on a white board and walks the Divers through the best dive plan for each site; a truly exceptional experience.

For non-divers there are plenty of hammocks to while away the hours near the surf along with tennis, and biking; not to mention socializing at the pool or around the Tipsy Turtle. Snorkeling is allowed but most morning dive sites are too deep for a great snorkel; afternoon trips tend to go to shallower sites.

Security: I have never felt safer in any place I have traveled to.

If you are going to Cayman Brac the place to stay is the Brac Reef Beach Resort and you must dive with Reef Divers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    91
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
137
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this resort. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and of a good size. The diving was wonderful. The food was excellent,
The resort has been completely refurbished after the hurricane (Paloma) and everything is brand new, and in pristine condition.
I would name loads of staff in both resort and dive centre, but I would risk leaving someone out.
Thanks to everyone!
I would happily return sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed with partner in April for 5 nights.

On the plus side
4 minute drive from the airport, however due to the infrequency of flights and small planes, causes no dusturbance.
Very efficient check in - Lovely Staff allround
Excellent food (and I mean consistently excellent)
Clean accomodations
Common areas kept clean
Reasonably quiet, so good nights sleep
Decent sized pool for resort
Excellent dive operation, knowledgable and friendkly satff

Areas of concern

The beach is nice however the water is difficult to swim in and is very rocky
No umbrellas by the pool
The generator for the air in the diving shop emits an annoying whirr constantly thughout the day
Rooms are slightly on the small side
TV was not tuned in properly

So all in all the big and importnat things are in place, with just some minor annoyances that i am sure will be ironed out over the next few months by what is an excellent and attentive management team.

Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed 6 nights at the resort, and wanted for nothing. The staff is friendly, learns (and remembers!) your name, and sees to it that you have a relaxing, hassle free stay. Comfy room, great amenities, and smiles all around. The dive staff is warm and professional. The food wasn't as great as we wanted, but there was plenty of it. The island itself is devoted pretty much to diving, and we didn't look much deeper than that for our activities - but we could have. Overall we had a very relaxed trip and amazing diving. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

The Brac Reef has the best beaches, food and scuba diver resort facilites we have ever had. This is the safest island location to go to and get away. Swim in the pool or ocean, snorkel, scuba, sit on the beach, build sand castles, play ping pong, read, dream, rest, eat great food and re-charge. The Grand Palm Restaurant offers 5 star dining while the other two places to eat on site include a casual american bar and an awesome buffet of breakfast, lunch and dinner meal options. We have stayed here four times over the last six years. The total updated (100%) facility is top notch. I guarantee you that the staff will become part of your extended family. They are so warm, freindly and will attend to your every need and request.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Excellant quiet and relaxing. Great diving and snorkeling. Wonderful crew and staff. Food was very good and some native dishes were prepared.

Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We were at the Brac Reef Resort during Hurricane Paloma, and saw the destruction it left behind. I can tell you that after being back there in Feburary the Island and Brac Reef Resort are back and better than ever. The food is fabulous and the staff are wonderful. Trudy does an amazing job at managing the resort. I can't tell you how great the Reef Dive operation is. Once you give them you dive gear you never have to do anything with it till your done diving for your trip. The dive masters are wonderful. Ian and Barb were ours and we have a fabulous time. I can't wait till I can come back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brac Reef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brac Reef Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 56 WE | Brac Reef Beach, Cayman Brac
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Brac Reef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brac Reef Beach Hotel Cayman Brac
Brac Reef Beach Cayman
Brac Reef Beach Resort Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brac Reef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.