We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top option for the Brac!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alexander Hotel
403 Gerrard Ave, KY2-2001, Cayman Brac   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cayman Brac
Grand Cayman
1 review
“Top option for the Brac!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

You can't beat the welcome that you get at the Alexander Hotel! Helpful and friendly staff. Great accomodation with modern, fresh decor and good amentities in the bedrooms and throughout the hotel. Excellent food and entertainment. The BBQ is definately not to be missed! A great venue for a business retreat or a relaxing weekend getaway. I thoroughtly enjoyed my stay and am recommending a visit to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    44
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
64
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Alexander Hotel is a little slice of paradise, in paradise. The accommodations were very nice, and the food and staff were excellent. The barbecue was a great event, with great food and some fun entertainment. A great choice for a weekend getaway for those of us living on Grand Cayman, and a fantastic add on to visitors to the Cayman Islands

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having had the opportunity to visit The Alexander Hotel in March 2013 I was pleasantly surprised. I found the accomodations, food and entertainment to be superb especially for such a small island. All areas were clean, attractive and well kept. Definitely a great start to a quiet get away. I loved it and have been telling all my friends. Definitely worth it - especially the BBQ!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are perfect for family but maybe stay away from those closest to the bar as it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent place to host a weekend getaway/retreats - business/friends/family. Was there for a tow day seminar and stayed on for the weekend. Staff were great and accomodating, facilities clean and comforting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We didn't stay here but came for BBQ night (Tuesday). It was a lot of fun and the food was plentiful and delicious! The live entertainment was a lot of fun, Perry plays what the crowd likes and encourages audience partipitation.

We also had lunch here a few days later. Once again, the food was great. Service was a little slow, but we were the only patrons at that time of the day (2:30 PM)

Only reason for not giving 5 stars is the unfortunate smell that wafts in from the lagoon. Perhaps that will clear up when the rainy season starts. We would return regardless of that minor annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you need to unwind and recharge your batteries, this is the place to relax. The room has great amenities including a fully stocked kitchen. The bed was really comfortable. If you want a low key getaway this place is perfect for that.

Room Tip: I picked one on the top floor as I don't like to hear people above me. The rooms are carpeted so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff at the Alexander Hotel are all charming, and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
Cayman Brac is a small island (12 miles long) but I would recommend a car to get the best from you stay. Bucanners natural swimming pool offers excellenr snorkling, 5 mins drive away, and sandy beaches also 5 mins drive away.
The rooms have the most comfortable beds I have experienced in a hotel, and rooms have a well stocked kitchenette. We had breakfast in room and enjoyed most of our evening meals by the pool outside. Not to be missed is Thursday night all can eat Jerk Chicken and rib night for CI 15.00. Excellent! Tuesday night was live music with a bit of an open mike session. So we were stunnded and impressed by some ofmthe singers, including Barbie the barmaid.
One thing that made our trip extra special, arranged by the hotel receptionist, was a free island tour, the government emplyed guide, comes in you car with you and gives a personal 2 hour tour guided to you needs. We offered a tip, our guide Keno, was amazing! Found all the lovely little beach and snorkle spots that we would never have found alone. 10/10 for a very relaxing trip. We stayed 9 nights, and shall return

Fay Heckford

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Hotel

Address: 403 Gerrard Ave, KY2-2001, Cayman Brac
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest hotel on Cayman Brac, Opened June 2009. Located on salt water pond across from the ocean. Decorated in Caribbean Summer Cottage style. Flat screen TV w/ cable & iHome unit in rooms. HD Satellite TV and large projection screen at The Bar. Excellant F&B quality. 27-seat Executive Board Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Hotel Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.