We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a FANTASTIC vacation, accommodations and host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayman Brac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Box 56, Stake Bay, Cayman Brac   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cayman Brac B&B and Inns
MN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a FANTASTIC vacation, accommodations and host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing but the best from Lynne (and George), from greeting us when we first arrived, to their friendly conversations. We stayed in the B&B and Lynne tried to accommodate our request for "lite" breakfasts, and did a great job! We spent every evening in the gazebo by the ocean, did alot of hiking on the bluffs in the middle of the island. This was truly a much needed relaxing vacation. Island food was great, scuba-diving outstanding, and we were able to get alot of walking/exercising in each day. Star Island Restaurant became our favorite and a short ride from the B&B, Harry's Friday night famous jerk chicken, made in a parking lot on his grill, was the best. And Brac Scuba Shack were great for our scuba-diving. They took us to some great dive sites. The island is only 1 mile wide and 12 miles long, so no bright lights or noisy traffic-far from it! It was very quiet and relaxing. We've definitely made this one of our favorite vacation spots, and Mango Manor our favorite B&B! Hope to be back sooner rather than later. Miss you Lynne and George! Thanks again for everything!
Lynda Jo and Greg

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Girvan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lynne and George are very welcoming and friendly hosts and I enjoyed hearing their stories of the islands and their history. The B&B was just as we like it, relaxed and informal in style with lots of personal objects and furnishings. Access is very easy for your hire car and the beach/sea for snorkelling is a short and simple walk to the bottom of their lovely 'sand garden'.
Wish we had had more time as I could have truly relaxed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had forgotten to write about this place. We stayed for 10 days at Mango Manor for our first real southern vacation back in 2004. I learned to snorkel here although the dead coral which lines the shoreline is a bit tricky to navigate on your way into the water. Hiking is a bit of a problem as well unless you come equipped with a good pair of hiking boots because the island is made of dead coral and can really carve up your running shoes when you leave the roadways to explore. The history of the area is very interesting and if you corner George you can settle in for some great stories. George is an Islander, born and raised, so he has many experiences to tell and is quite the character. Ask him to show you how to cut a coconut but stand back. He really can swing a machete. We stayed in the main house and enjoyed morning breakfast before setting off for the day, and there are some really great cafes to eat for lunch and dinner. George and Lynn also have a chalet with a kitchen for those who prefer to be by themselves and I checked that out before we left. I found it to be very clean, well laid out and close to the water, read other reviews that stated that a car was important, but my husband and I are hikers and walked most of the island during our stay without issue, (except for the bull in the field that we wanted to cross) We had a wonderful time here, relaxing, soaking up the sun and doing some great snorkeling at a fabulous price.We are busy exploring new areas of the world but always thought we would return to Cayman Brac someday. Enjoyed.

Room Tip: don't forget to look both ways when you are crossing the street. This is a British Colony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Sea Dreams Villa just a short distance from the B & B...and wish we never had to leave! From the initial mails back and forth with Lynne, being greeted by her at the villa personally, and our final goodbyes - this was an amazing experience! The villa has everything you could possibly need, is roomy, spotlessly clean, and feels like home the minute you walk through the door. Although there wasn't a sandy beach, there was access to the water both on the property, as well as at the boat launch just a steps away. While snorkeling just off our shore we saw many fish, a few stingrays and a sea turtle! Lynne was kind enough to arrange a rental car for us, share restaurant recommendations, and let us know where we could get groceries, etc. for our visit. We were treated like family, and had a few welcome visits from Lynne and George just checking on us. The hospitality we were shown cannot be described. These are two people who have made a lasting impression on us for so many reasons. If you are looking for a "get away from it all" vacation, this is where you need to be. We spent eight full days "extremely busy doing absolutely nothing"! We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Comfortable, warm, friendly, great breakfasts customized for you, very clean, beautiful grounds, pretty gardens and very unique property. Good location and nice beach area with chairs and gazebo for relaxing. Snorkeling out the back door. Lynn is a terrific hostess and a fascinating person and she makes sure you are content, have all questions answered and all of your needs met. Its a nice house and very quiet. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you are looking for a hearty, made-to-order breakfast, spotlessly clean rooms, a charming house, a beautiful garden and the friendliest hosts, then Walton's Mango Manor is the place for you. The breakfasts always had at least 2 fresh fruits, plus juice and coffee. Lynn's oatmeal was the best I have ever had. She served mango-maple syrup with her pancakes and fabulous French toast in the formal dining room. George and Lynn Walton were two of the nicest and most interesting people we have ever met. They made us feel like family instead of guests. They know everyone and every place on Cayman Brac. Lynn arranged for a rental car for us, as well as a private tour of the island. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have private baths. There is a large, comfortable living room, front porch and kitchen available for guests' use. It is a short walk through the lush backyard garden to the ocean. During our visit, we met other guests who were repeat visitors to Walton's Mango Manor, and we could see why. We can't imagine staying at any other place on Cayman Brac. This is truly a gem of a place.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We did not stay in the building that housed the bed & breakfast, so can't comment on those facilities. We rented the stand-alone villa called Sea Dreams.

Sea Dreams was a two bedroom, two bath villa with full kitchen and a living room/dining room area. It was very attractive, light and airy. The villa is about a 15 minute ride from the airport and is on a very quiet, safe side street facing the ocean. There is a small beach area with a pretty gazebo, but not good for swimming because of the coral lining the shore. The snorkeling is said to be very good, but the winds and surf were high when we were there, so we cannot speak to that. A car is a must.

Lynne and George Walton are very gracious hosts. The grounds are very pretty. George has even built Lynne a beautiful temple on the grounds, the only one in the Cayman Islands, if we are not mistaken.

Cayman Brac is a rugged island. There are only several beach areas. Hiking boots are a must if you plan on doing any serious hiking. Make sure you go looking for the Cayman Brac parrot. Find papayas trees with ripe papayas, go early in the morning or late in the afternoon and you will probably spot some.

Check out Cheffete for a local, little restaurant. It is on White Bay Road. The sign listing that day's specials is on North East Bay Road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayman Brac
17.3 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#3 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
15.0 mi away
Sunset Cove
Sunset Cove
#1 of 1 in Little Cayman
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
Cayman Breakers Condominiums
#3 of 4 in Cayman Brac
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: Box 56, Stake Bay, Cayman Brac
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Cayman Brac
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cayman Brac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walton's Mango Manor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.