We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Operation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Divers

Reef Divers
Brac Reef Beach, Cayman Brac
(345) 948-1642
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Activities in Cayman Brac
Type: Educational Sites, Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Dive Operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Brac Reef Resort in late Jan 2013, and we dove with their operation, Reef Divers.

The dive operation was excellent. They do "valet diving." By that, they mean that they set up your equipment and change tanks for you between dives. Now, I wasn't sure I was going to like this because I like to set up my own gear. But I came to appreciate it.

Mick, the general manager, explained that they went to this system after noticing that nearly all accidents occurred on the boat. After changing to this system for safety reasons, they have had hardly any more problems. Once you experience it, it is easy to understand why. You don't have a bunch of geared-up divers all bumping around, trying to balance themselves on a rocking boat.

Here is how it works: You sit down on a small bench at the rear of the boat. They bring your rigged BCD, help you put it on, then you jump in. After the dive, you climb the ladder and sit down again. They remove your gear and carry it to your seat. They change the tank so fast that it is done before you get back. AND -- this is important -- they know what they are doing. They set it up right.

The operation does charge extra for Nitrox. You don't really need to use Nitrox, but we did anyway (why not?), Reef Divers also has this down pat. You analyze all the tanks you will need for the next day, plus a spare. This way, your tank is already analyzed when you are ready to dive again, and you don't have to mess with analyzers on the boat. You don't even need to take one. Their system analyzes and checks the tank pressure all in one easy step, and the mixes were very consistently 32%. (They use a membrane system.)

The boat captain and dive crew are instructors who handle your gear and take care of things on the boat. The dive briefings are thorough and accurate. They draw maps and orient you well. One of them will go in the water for about 30 minutes, but you are free to dive your own profile and go where you like. The first dive of the day is a deep dive with max depth 110 ft for 50 minutes. The second and third dives of the day have max depths of 60 ft for 60 minutes. They have towels on the boat, and snacks between dives.

At the end of the day, you leave your gear on the boat, and they rinse it off for you. They have good rinse tanks and plent of space to hang your wetsuits, etc. They also have a good camera rinse tank, and by the way, they are very careful with your camera. The boats have nice camera tables.

The diving is Cayman diving. At this time of year, the water was a little cool, varying from 74-79 F. The dive sites are a short boat ride from the resort, usually 10-15 minutes, and occasionally 20 min if you went far around to the North side of the island.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The dive shop is clean and organized. The boats are in good shape and properly equipped with oxygen and other safety gear.

Overall, a well-run operation. We would be happy to dive with them again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    25
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great dive operation with very friendly staff. Lot's of attention paid to safety. True valet diving experience which I have never had the pleasure of enjoying before. Just grab your fins and go the end of the boat. They assemble and haul your gear for you the entire trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah,WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Dive Operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were very happy with our experience with Reef Divers on Cayman Brac. They offer "valet service" - your equipment is set up for you. There were around 12 divers on our boat, although there is capacity for more. Safety is important - they place a regulator in the water near the back of the boat in case you are running low on air at the end of a dive. They also have signals in case of emergency, for example a siren that can be heard underwater. They also take roll call after every dive to make sure everyone is back on board. We rented BCD's and regulators from them. Their BCD's have integrated weights, so no need for a cumbersome weight belt. A diver in our group completed his dive certification on our trip, the Open Water Referral Course. This was a good dive operation, with good dive sites, to complete a certification with.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Concierge DIving...? Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

See my review of Brac Reef Beach Resort where I also review the dive operations run by Reef Divers. If you do not know what concierge diving is, you need to give it a try! You won't go back to lugging your own gear ever again...!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Dive Operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We did 5 days of 2-tank morning dives with Reef Divers. It was a great experience - extreme valet dive service (they carry your BC to the platform for you to put on before you enter and take it back to your spot when you exit!!). You leave your gear on the boat and it is rinsed and set up for you ready to go the next day. Great dive briefings, DM in the water if you need a tour but OK to dive just with your buddy if you like - generous time allocations for computer diving (none of the "back on board in 45 minutes so the crew can get to lunch early" crap that you find some places). And FREE computer loans so everyone can maximize their bottom time. All the staff we met were enthusiastic, helpful and friendly - they clearly wanted all their guests to have a great time, even staff who were not our crew went out of their way to get anything we needed. Highly organized, efficient Nitrox test facility; towels, snacks and drinks on the boats; fresh water shower on board; rinse tanks on board and at the dock - everything you need for a hassle-free dive vacation. The crew listened to requests from the passengers and picked an interesting itinerary every day. Highlight was Christmas Day trip over to Little Cayman - fantastic dive sites. Be aware that the main reason for diving Cayman is the walls, so Brac might not be the best choice for novice divers, but for anyone with a bit of experience and a sense of adventure - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Divers also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Reef Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.