We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stuff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
South Side, Cayman Brac, Cayman Brac
345.948.1418
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Cayman Brac
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
central missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice menu, good selection. Staff is very friendly. I had lion fish for the first time and it was delicious! This was special because I had just returned from diving that afternoon and the guide had caught a few of them. I uinderstand he sells them to Captain's Table so I probably enjoyed one of those freshly caught fish.

Prices are decent, location great, fast and friendly service. The only reason for not giving this place 5 stars is because my wife had a meal she was not thrilled about, although she ate it anyway. Can't recall what it was. I loved everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The service was good, food was OK, very salty. Not enough to choose from, no view, outdoor lighting would be good for the outdoor seating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Extensive food choices, good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Extremely wide menu choice...some Mexican inspired, some Italian, some American. A couple nights they had more local specials. Staff very friendly, but Cayman style - slow by Amercian standard. Food was well prepared. Portions were about right. Never leftovers but you felt full. They were accomodating to specail requests for my daughter which was a plus.
One of the only restaurants on the island that serves alcohol. There is a outside bar to the rear of the restaurant where you can also eat food. Over a 14 day vacation, we ended up eating here five nights so we ended up coming back! New Years Eve they had a special menu and the food was very good. Great entertainment that night!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“chef's night off?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonder if reviewers visited same restaurant as me? Out of 3 meals (dinner), one was "OK", second had reheated, hard rice which was borderline inedible and last was very disappointing - pasta was runny, milky and tasted of .... milk and little else, despite being described as "Caribbean". Server was friendly and helpful and prices OK but sat at plastic table with plastic chairs outside with white tablecloth, little view apart from backs of people smoking at bar. Visited Captain's Table years ago and had a completely different (and wonderful) dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stopped here one day for lunch and drinks outside at the bar. Good food and drinks, not a lot of view from here but OK. Staff was friendly and helpful. We got mixed reviews around the island on their dinner so never ate dinner here. We did have an enjoyable couple of hours here and would go back next time we visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.