We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and views to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Ty Newydd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gwesty Ty Newydd to your Saves list
Gwesty Ty Newydd
Aberdaron, Aberdaron LL53 8BE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Aberdaron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connahs Quay
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great food and views to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Called in here with my wife, children and all four grandparents for lunch whilst holidaying in nearby Porthmadog. Not having stayed over I can't judge the hotel but as a restaurant it's faultless. Great food served by friendly staff and all seven meals arrived within two minutes of each other. There's nothing worse when eating in a group than watching everyone else clear their plate while you twiddle your thumbs. No such problems here.

Spotlessly clean with an awesome sea view if you can get a window seat you are in for a great dining experience. And if you like the view as much as I did prints from a local artist are available to purchase at the bar. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    56
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
32
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here March 2011 and august 2012 for the weekend.over the years we have also visited aberdaron for the day and enjoyed a few meals at ty newydd.
aberdaron is so lovely, its a place to get away from it all.friendly and pleasant village.
The staff, service, bedrooms and the food are all excellent.
Only managed a day visit twice this year but will back for a weekend next year.
Cofion cynes am tu newydd ac aberdaron
Karen and brannon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ty Newydd was very busy, but the view is great. It is not a very attractive place - looks a bit like a throwback to a 1960 pub but lunch was very good, and excellent service and very friendly and helpful staff.
The only drawback is the lack of parking. And it costs a few pounds to park in the main parking area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely family run hotel on three occassions and each time the experience has been a memorable one. Mainly we have visited out of season and taken Bed and Breakfast terms. On one trip we were in the company of good friends who had neither visited the location nor the hotel before. They were blown away by the wonderful vistas, warm welcome,very comfortable rooms and the breakfast we were served in the restaurant overlooking the beach. Fresh bread, local produce and friendly service are features.
This property sits right on the beach and the rooms facing the sea and very special. Relax in one of the most comfortable beds on which I have ever slept and listen to the hypnotic rythmn of the sea. Fabulous sunsets are not uncommon on the Lleyn peninsula and the sunrises compete for grandeur.
We have eaten our dinner in the Ship Inn Hotel opposite whose resaurant is both excellent quality and value. Its wine list shows how you can make the best of a compact choice to complement their delicious food. Our eldest son arranged by phone with the Ship Inn for my wife to receive a birthday card and wine with our meal in their restaurant which made for a very special night.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlooking the sea are first rate. I have no experience of the rest but doubt that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was very fortunate to be based in Aberdaron for 5 months this year and stayed at this hotel throughout. I had not visited Wales before but I will certainly be coming back whenever I can. This is a family owned and run business and everything about the hotel is first class. The rooms are spacious, modern and very clean, with fantastic views across the beautiful bay and the hotel is literally on the sea front. The staff are very friendly and helpful and provide an excellent service. Last but not least the food is excellent with a good variety of choice and Adam the chef will tailor your food to suit your preference and taste. One thing I noticed throughout my stay is the standards remained consistent throughout and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel also has a segregated bar where you can watch live sports and just have a pint. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and was made to feel very welcome by the staff and local people. Diolch yn fawr !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went here one busy day in early August. We had the Sunday carvery.The food was quite fantastic, and the quantity of meat was amazing, as were the lovely fresh vegetables. The price was also very reasonable. In addition the position of the pub, overlooking the sea was very special. A must if you happen to be in Aberdaron on a Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Engalnd
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here midweek for 1 night (our room was in the annexe (previously called the Pretoria))

The room for bed and breakfast was £80.

To be honest the room was simple (but everything you would need ie bed, shower, kettle &TV)

The breakfast, which was the best I've had for a while, was served in the Ty Newydd and filled us both for most of the day.

Would I go back, yes, as Aberdaron is a LOVELY place

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwesty Ty Newydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Newydd

Address: Aberdaron, Aberdaron LL53 8BE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Aberdaron
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iain and Wilma, offer you a warm welcome at Gwesty Ty Newydd. The hotel is situated in the picturesque and historic village of Aberdaron on the Llŷn Peninsula, North West Wales. Gwesty Ty Newydd directly overlooks the bay and sandy beach of Aberdaron, which is one of the finest and safest beaches on Llŷn. Stay in comfort in this fine hotel, enjoy fantastic views and savour the delights of freshly caught Bardsey lobster and crab, afternoon teas with home baked cakes and watch the sun go down from the terrace or in our newly refurbished lounge whilst enjoying a drink from the fully licensed bar. Dine in the restaurant enjoying meals cooked with the finest fresh locally produced ingredients whilst savouring views over the sea towards the islands.You will be guaranteed a warm welcome at Gwesty Ty Newydd whatever time of year you choose to visit us on the Llŷn Peninsula, and every season has a beauty all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Ty Newydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Newydd Hotel Aberdaron
Gwesty Ty Newydd Aberdaron, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Ty Newydd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.