We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but almost everything else a let-down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Ty Newydd

Save Saved
You added Gwesty Ty Newydd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Ty Newydd
Aberdaron LL53 8BE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Aberdaron B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great view but almost everything else a let-down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This is only one of two hotels/pubs in Aberdaron and it has the best position with some rooms looking out into Aberdaron Bay. The current owner has redeveloped much of Ty Newydd, and most notably he's opened up the main restaurant/bar area and made it into a gastro pub, and also extended the balcony over the beach. During the summer, it gets very crowded but if you can get a balcony seat on a warm summer evening then there's no better place to enjoy a drink.
The small bar area can make it difficult to get served during busy periods, toilets are round the front and you have to go through the front lounge which is favoured by locals and it can be a little intimidating. Food is expensive and during our visits a large number of meals were returned partially eaten which isn't a very good sign. In addition, bar staff can be indifferent towards tourists but this is nowhere near as bad as the nearby Ship Hotel.
Overall then, it's a decent hotel in a great spot and with a lovely balcony area but it's nowhere near perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Gwesty Newydd with my husband. We had stayed at this hotel about 2 years ago and liked it so much we couldn't wait to come back. This time we only had a partial sea view room but the view was still stunning and listening to the waves at night is very relaxing. We had our evening meal here on the first night and the food was lovely. It did get quite busy and service was a bit slow but it was bank holiday weekend and lovely weather so everyone was out! Our room was clean and bathroom was spacious.
The only complaint I have about this hotel is that the walls are quite thin and you can hear people walking up and down the stairs and children running around the corridors, also there is a door bell that rings quite often when no one is at reception.
I would recommend this hotel more for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton Trussell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are vegetarian, then advoid this pub. The vegetarian option I had can only be described as slop at a premium price.The chips were bad and overcooked at an extra charge. My partners lasagne was also overcooked. The waitress was ok but didn't ask if everything was ok with our meals.The service was very slow. The only good thing about this venue is the view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We tried a holiday further away from home since i became disabled,we have visited this hotel a few times for lunch,and we loved the atmosphere and food.So we thought this would be a good choice to stay,and we were not wrong.They have two rooms for disabled,one for fully disabled,and one for partial disabled.Room number one was for partial disabled and a sea view,so we booked room one,it fitted all my requirements and they have a lift so we could reach dinning area and bar with ease.Staff and management were very pleasant and helpful,food was to die for,room was clean and with a wet room (no bath) the holiday helped me forget my disability and just enjoy every day.On our return home we felt like we had an holiday relaxed and a few pounds heavier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I ate here twice over the course of a week and both times the meals were good. I had a fresh crab salad the first time which was fantastic, and the second time a sirloin steak which was a bit average. Nothing wrong with it but it was a bit bland and rather a let down. However, the pub itself is lovely, a great view and very friendly staff. The menu is fairly small but the food is well cooked and clearly made on the premises, which is a bonus. Expect a good pub meal and you wont go wrong. And if you're lucky and have the crab, expect something special!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visit about twice a year for lunch. The food is always more than adequate and the service from a friendly staff is always without cricism.

If the weather is fine lunch on the terrace could not be bettered. The views are to die for and should not be missed.

One bonus the front bar is always available to watch sport if there a match or game of general interest. Rugby foootball is always most atmospheric wih much local vocal support especially if Wales are playing!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had room 6 which is on the second floor overlooking Aberdaron bay. The views are superb. The room very modern, comfortable, spotllessly clean and spacious. Huge king sized bed with views out to sea. Superb bathroom with underfloor heating, spacious bath and shower over. Room was very well appointed with tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water. Really nice to have two comfortable easy chairs to relax in. Staff were very friendly and the food both at breakfast and evening meal was wonderful. Breakfast cooked fresh to order and very generous portions servied piping hot. A really great place to relax and get away from it all. Would deffinatley recommend and will be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gwesty Ty Newydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Ty Newydd

Address: Aberdaron LL53 8BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Aberdaron
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iain and Wilma, offer you a warm welcome at Gwesty Ty Newydd. The hotel is situated in the picturesque and historic village of Aberdaron on the Llŷn Peninsula, North West Wales. Gwesty Ty Newydd directly overlooks the bay and sandy beach of Aberdaron, which is one of the finest and safest beaches on Llŷn. Stay in comfort in this fine hotel, enjoy fantastic views and savour the delights of freshly caught Bardsey lobster and crab, afternoon teas with home baked cakes and watch the sun go down from the terrace or in our newly refurbished lounge whilst enjoying a drink from the fully licensed bar. Dine in the restaurant enjoying meals cooked with the finest fresh locally produced ingredients whilst savouring views over the sea towards the islands.You will be guaranteed a warm welcome at Gwesty Ty Newydd whatever time of year you choose to visit us on the Llŷn Peninsula, and every season has a beauty all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gwesty Ty Newydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Ty Newydd Hotel Aberdaron
Gwesty Ty Newydd Aberdaron, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Ty Newydd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.