We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Cove to your Saves list
Sunset Cove
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   34 Wonder Lane, KY3-2501, Little Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

As a solo traveller arriving at Sunset Cove early May 2013, I was the only guest! Tarrah and Raymond were fantastic and it turned out that being the only guest was not a problem as they were so great to be around and helped me out with seeing the island and having fun! Tarrah even managed to arrange a very last minute diving trip. The place is great (and rare) value for money on the Cayman Islands, and as it is further away from the other resorts it is easier to truly enjoy the natural beauty of the place. The beach is just idyllic. I kayaked out to Owen Island and snorkeled, sat on the deck and ate freshly caught land crabs, and had coconuts straight from the tree, visited the national trust and explored by cycle. Nearby bars and the other resorts are an easy distance away for a drink in the evening, while being far enough away from the Booby pond to mean you don't get the nasty smell when it dries up, unlike the other resorts!
The location is truly stunning, and the iguanas were the icing on the cake. It's a great place to stay, especially if you're up for doing a little exploring and enjoying the natural beauty of the island, but Tarrah and Raymond's hosting make it extra special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Tara was a stupendous host. Raymond was a great cook. We had such a good time here I doubt we would have had so much fun in another place. Apart from diving, we went coconut harvesting, land crabs hunting, fishing. We cooked and ate our delicious crabs under the stars with a camp fire to ward off the insects. We kayaked to Owen island for a snorkel. Absolutely fantastic time. Wish it was our last stop so we could finish on a high note. Tara and Raymond were a great laugh.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetCoveLC, Owner at Sunset Cove, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hi P-on-TravelTheWorld,
Thanks so much for a great review, we are glad you had such a fun time at Sunset Cove and made the best use of your time here! We look forward to extending our hospitality again in the near future!
Warm Regards,
Sunset Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Caymans are very expensive so if you cannot afford to spend more than 200 dollars per night and you don't mind a place of total plainness then this is the place to stay. The place is extremely simple, overlooks the nice South Hole Sound Bay and the lady managing the place is very friendly. There are several drawbacks though that even a place this simple should not have. We found a huge cockroach in the bathroom, the bathroom has a faint smell of mold and the mattresses need some serious firming up! I'd recommend it only if you are on a tight budget and staying on the island just for a night otherwise I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yzado, Manager at Sunset Cove, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we may have the chance to serve you better in the future. We strive to make each guest’s stay an enjoyable experience. Had you brought your concerns to our attention, we would’ve taken the necessary steps to try to resolve them while you were here. While other guests have not expressed similar concerns, we appreciate your comments, as they are helpful in improving our services. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We’re committed to providing the best experience and customer service possible, at the most reasonable rates on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent 5 glorious days at Sunset Cove. Paul and Isabelle were excellent hosts, they were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. There is lots to do without leaving the resort, we enjoyed kayaking over to Owen Island and snorkelling. The rooms are right on the beach, and it was lovely to sit and gaze at the wonderful view. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the price was very good for such a lovely location. We would recommend Sunset Cove to anybody looking for a relaxing time on a lovely Caribbean Island.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in overlooked the ocean - it was worth the extra money to have an ocean view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

There are few words to describe what my wife and I experienced at sunset cove other than truly amazing sunsets and the most friendly and hospitable hosts that we have ever encountered. They are truly a special part of our hearts and we cannot thank them enough for all they did to make our honeymoon unforgettable. Paul and Isabelle went to all lengths to see that we had everything we needed and shuttled us where we wanted to go. We actually had the entire resort to ourselves because it was off season, and it was great! What else do we need to say other than book and keep them going strong! We look forward to staying with them in the near future.

Room Tip: Why would you need a pool and a fitness center on a remote island anyway? They have the most amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you're looking for an upmarket fully catered for experience then this is probably not for you. If however you want good value with clean and comfortable rooms with exceptionally hospitable hosts then this is the place for you. On an island where accomodation is expensive this is a welcome respite in an idyllic setting. Plenty to do and all sorts of activities on offer - especially kiteboarding but paddle boarding, canoeing, fishing and cycling as well - not to mention yoga for you supple types! We had a most relaxing time - Izzy and Paul made it even more memorable - thanks guys - we'll be back.

Room Tip: only 10 rooms available and only some with kitchens - so if you're into self catering book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had to make a quick trip to Little Cayman and discovered Sunset Cove. Isabelle and Paul are great hosts and made us feel welcome and at home. We managed during our short stay to spend some time on the water trampoline...that was a blast...a must try!!! and you should experience the hammocks and watch the sunset...the facilities are clean and the room had a mini fridge and microwave. Breakfast is included as well as airport transfers. My only regret was that my stay wasn't longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Cayman
2.4 mi away
Paradise Villas
Paradise Villas
#3 of 4 in Little Cayman
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove

Address: 34 Wonder Lane, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic place for couples, friends and families on Little Cayman. A friendly, serene, relaxed place to chill. We have lots of fun things to do directly from the white, sandy beach at Sunset Cove. We have kayaks, canoes, stand-up paddle boards and luxury beach floats available for rental, so you have everything you need right at the resort. You can kayak over to Owen Island and snorkel or hang out on the beach. South Hole Sound is a lovely, reef-protected, sandy, shallow area with ideal conditions to enjoy most any watersports. We also have bicycles available for 1/2 day or full day rental. There's something for everyone! Or on a lazy day, you can indulge in a massage or lounge in one of the hammocks at the resort. For your dining pleasure, we also have The Beach Bum Cafe which is open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.