We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Cayman Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Cayman Beach Resort
Save
You added Little Cayman Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 51 | Blossom Village, KY3-2501, Little Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

For the Caribbean, this is a very nice place. People are great. Rooms are nice. Diving is great as long as the wind does not blow very hard, and even then it is ok.

So what is not great? Well for starters, the buffet. It is a buffet, and as buffet goes, it is actually pretty good, Desert was mostly cake...different kinds, but cake or cake like every night. Ok, they did have this neat fried cheese cake (not really cake) two nights. I thought the quality was good, which is about as high as I can rate a buffet.

The rooms while nice, had paper thin walls. Thankfully those next to me were very quiet people, but had they not been, it would have sucked.

If you order a drink at the bar, there is no way to know what the price is. I ended up going up to the front office to find out the next day, but it would be easy to spend a ton of money and not realize it.

One of our group had their toothpaste removed and went to the local store to get some, they were charged $14 for a tube, so be advised to be careful to have everything. It should be noted on this issue that the front office had free small containers, if asked.

I was in room 112. Pretty room, had a TV that did not actually have a picture (why do places insist on putting a TV in a room, where they don't really have TV?). The shower worked, but has some flow issues when used at normal water temperatures, and the shower curtain did not stay inside the shower (mounted too high), so the room floor got really wet.

Still, I like the place overall and had a very nice time.

Room Tip: Farther from the bar area is quieter at night.. but overall, all the rooms seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    68
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
104
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

LCBR is top notch! They really know what they are doing and they do it well. I had a spacious, comfortable room with a super comfortable bed. The ocean view room had a beautiful view of the water and felt very private. The room was always made up by the time I got back from my morning dives. Every member of the staff was gracious and accommodating, and most of them knew me by name after a day or two. The food was delicious and varied and I always left satisfied. Diving was amazing! The week I was there we had perfect water conditions: warm (82 - 86 degrees), calm, and great visibility. The dive staff is really AMAZING and made me feel safe, comfortable and looked after. The valet diving has spoiled me to the point where I can’t even imagine diving any other way. A BIG THANK YOU to Aly, Clive, Warren, Ed, Nick, and Sharon for the awesome dive experience!! You’re the best!

The whole resort is intimate, laid back and very comfortable. I work in the service industry and can honestly say that everyone at the resort was genuinely friendly and made me feel very welcome and well looked after.

My week at LCBR was just what I wanted: a carefree adventure, surrounded by incredible nature, where I could completely disconnect from my everyday life. An amazing experience and I look forward to coming back! Thanks to everyone who made it a special stay!!

Room Tip: Splurge and get an ocean front room. Great view and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Little Cayman Beach Resort...and we cannot wait to go back next year. This is our absolute favorite place on Earth. We travel at least twice a year to the Caribbean with our large scuba crew, and this place could not have been more accomodating. We had a dive boat pretty much all to ourselves, and the biggest table in the dining room was reserved for our group at each meal so we could all sit together. The food is absolutely outstanding...every meal is delicious and offers many different choices, including an array of delectable desserts. The staff is incredibly happy and friendly, and seem truly excited to see and talk to you each day. We had our very young daughter with us and all the staff made a huge deal out of her everywhere we went. The bar is the perfect beach bar...with really, really good food (incase you want something in between meals, or just want some chicken tenders or pizza)...and the bartenders are all really friendly and fun. Ingvar is the coolest dude ever. He put on trivia night and karaoke night and we all had a blast!! The dive shop/staff is fantastic...and the diving in general is the best I have seen. We had two days this trip that the water was so calm it was like a swimming pool. The visibillity was probably 300 feet. It was insane! The divemasters were fun and as always, did a great job taking care of all of us and our equipment. The resort rooms are very nice, tastefully decorated with nice bath products. The only "complaint" I could possibly dream up is that the TV reception in the rooms is really bad. But honestly, who sits in the room and watches TV on a dive trip anyway, right? So I would HIGHLY recommend this place to ANYONE looking for the perfect, relaxing dive vacation. Two HUGE thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: There are 40 rooms at this resort, some have 2 queens and some have one king. They are all pretty m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved our stay at LCBR, our room was very nicely appointed and quite comfortable. The food was delicious and plentiful - 3 buffets a day!! Great cocktails and great weather... The staff is great, everything was excellent except... the water (its reverse osmosis, and it just tastes really bad). But you can buy bottled water at the dive shop and it's not outrageously priced.

Reef Divers is an awesome dive operation. We dove with them on the Brac also, many years ago, they're top notch. Craig has particularly excellent pre-dive jokes. ;-) Hurricane Sandy made some really large swells and waves so our diving suffered a bit for it... the viz was really off, but the dive sites are beautiful.

I loved sitting in the "outdoor living room" near our room. So very pleasant. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are looking for a top of the line dive resort with FANTASTIC service, diving & accommodations at a very affordable price. Look no further. This is the place. Highly recommend you bring the kids. They have a pretty beach with hammocks and the food is SUPERB.

But remember. You are on a tiny island. There are no shopping malls or bar districts. This is a secluded place for a wonderful get-away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Shhhhhh! No more reviews....we are keeping this one for ourselves.

Diving - excellent
Dive Staff - excellent - kudos to Clive, Aly and of course Sharon
Rooms - excellent
Staff - excellent
Food - excellent - Anthony is the best chef in the Caribbean
Bar Staff - excellent - We hope Teresa stays forever


Enough said.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited Little Cayman Beach Resort in 2010 and could not wait to return. This trip we returned with a bit more critical eye for details and I can say this place was better than the first trip.

Our first person of contact was the Immigration lady on Cayman Brac and her welcoming smile and pleasant attitute is so different from clearing immigration in the US where we are all treated like criminals. What a delight it is to arrive in the Caymans.

Much like our first trip, the food was fantastic and the executive chef still onboard preparing unusual delights and desserts. Simply amazing food for an all inclusive dive resort. As I have said before, you will not lose weight here.

We had the same ocean front room as our first trip (304) and I would highly recomend any of the ocean front rooms in the 300 building. Spotless clean thanks to great staff, Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room, comfortable bed, very quiet...perfect! And wireless internet all over the resort for those who need to be connected.

Valet diving with Reef Divers is a breeze. The ocean was perfect with 84 degree temps and 100' visibility, mostly calm. The dive instructors/divemasters were a great team with lots of knowledge of the dive sites and always found us a spot to call our own.

We made good friends on the boat over the week and are planning to book the group in October 2013 so we know we will have another great review in the making.

You will find the front desk staff, restaurant staff, bar staff, housekeepers, grounds staff, and all the boat crews part of what makes this place special. When you walk in the door, you know you have arrived "home."

Room Tip: We love the 300 series rooms, beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Cayman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Cayman Beach Resort

Address: Box 51 | Blossom Village, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Cayman Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the world's top dive destinations with the legendary Bloody Bay Wall, paired with one-of-a-kind valet diving service and modern tropical amenities. Welcome home! Enjoy your next vacation at the quaint, tropical Little Cayman Beach Resort, featured in Scuba Diving magazine's Top 100 Readers' Choice Survey for the Caribbean and Atlantic. With more than 50 dive sites, a wealth of marine life, shallow reefs, and utterly astounding walls, experience all your dives with our custom-built dive fleet. Our dive sites and colorful marine life provide breathtaking backdrops to capture once-in-a-lifetime photos. During your dive, you can experience the world-renowned Bloody Bay Wall, rated as the best diving in the Caribbean by National Geographic photographer David Doubilet and underwater cinematographer Stan Waterman, and one of the most pristine underwater sites in the world. Little Cayman Beach Resort has 40 air-conditioned, spacious rooms surrounded by lush tropical foliage. Oceanfront rooms overlook our beautiful turquoise water and reef, and pool-view rooms share access to the cozy lounge areas around the resort. Our dining offers a wide variety of international and Caribbean-inspired gourmet cuisine. Choose to dine in our air-conditioned dining room, screened lanai, or al fresco on the patio with our resident iguanas! During your stay, explore the island and its unique wildlife, take a bike or scooter ride to see the entire island, paddle board or kayak Little Cayman's pristine waters, or simply relax at our calming spa. You'll see why the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Cayman Beach Hotel Little Cayman
Little Cayman Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Cayman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.