We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantasy Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Cross Club
Save
You added Southern Cross Club to your Saves list
Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$1,886 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fantasy Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I went to SCC to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Every member of the staff was attentive and thoughtful. The dive masters Clive and Chris were incredibly adept at identifying interesting finds-we saw a rich assortment of reef life-rays, turtles, hamlets, spotted drums, octopus, eels, scorpion fish, and even a frog fish (eagle eye Clive). They made a point to go to sites that we had requested or that they knew we would enjoy based on topography. My husband loves swin throughs and I wall diving. Beyond setting up our tank the first day there was no need to tough or equipment any further--the dive masters took care of everything. The food exceeded our expectation, was well prepared, and there was a great variety of offerings. The kitchen/wait staff (overseen by Ron) was courteous and took great care of us. On our anniversary they even set us up a table for two on the beach with candle light and tiki torches. Our outside shower on the porch of the honeymoon cottage was a delight. We awoke each day looking at the beach and the torquoise water of the bay. We went for time alone, to dive, and relaxation and had an amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    17
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
176
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

My wife and I spent our second year anniversary at SCC and has a ball. The diving is incredible...bloody bay wall is just indescribably cool. SCC is small, intimate and quiet. I would not recommend going if you do not dive, because I think it would be a little slow. If you do dive, best place I can imagine.

Ask for Fireworks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

The Southern Cross Club is a wonderfully relaxing resort with a fantastic staff. My husband and I are divers and have been to several places in the Caribean. The diving on Little Cayman was the best we have experienced. Very healthy reef. Bloody Bay Wall was amazing! The dive masters at Southern Cross were great. Everything is taken care of for you! Well equiped, uncrowded boats, a hut to hang your wetsuits to dry on the dock, etc. Bikes (a bit rickety, but they worked) and kyaks were provided and it was fun to use both. We recommend riding a bike to feed bananas to the big iguanas. One of the staff can tell you where to find them - it was about a 15 or 20 minute bike ride just past the airport.

The bungalows at Southern Cross are right on the beach. No TVs, clocks or phones - just amazing views of the ocean right from your porch! All meals are included and the food was very good. Plenty of variety in the five nights we were there. Some dinners were buffet, some plated where you made your dinner selection from a limted menu at lunchtime.

We heard that most guests here are repeat visitors and we will defintely be back to Little Cayman and Southern Cross Club.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed at Southern in the 2nd half of Jan.'09,fulfilling a promise made to ourselves after discovering the Club on a first visit to Little Cayman in early Feb.'08.As before,Little was flawless - uncrowded,tension-free,fine weather,etc.
Last year we stayed at Paradise Villas,a set of spotless self-catering cottages on the shore near tiny Blossom Village,and dined most nights at the nearby Hungry Iguana which offers good food in a fun,casual setting.On one occasion ,however,we ventured up the road to dine in the more elegant surroundings of the Soutern Cross.We also visited the Club for fly-fishing and kayaking.Those memorable experiences soon transformed into promises to return.
Return we did--and our very high expectations were met and exceeded ! Indeed,the positives began even before arrival with the expert advise and assistance of Craig,who does the Club's bookings.On arrival,it was quickly apparent that there is nothing " self-catering" about this Club - it is a luxuriously all-inclusive experience which somehow manages to remain completely informal,relaxed and unpretentious.
The Club's property appears to be the island's best location in terms of calm seas,breezes,sun,beach,etc.It has many shaded hammocks and a double swing beneath the branches of a big casuarina.On its doorstep a brief paddle away is pristine Owen Island,a dream-like blend of palms ,fine sand and solitude.Our bungalow was impeccably clean,quiet and comfortable night and day.
Cate,Chris and their entire team were outstandingly welcoming,friendly ,helpful and interesting.The food deserves a special mention,particularly because we always pay a lot of attention to eating very well (as well as healthily) at home and on our many travels.Quite simply,Southern Cross delivers the most consistently excellent food we have encountered-always changing,always attractively presented,great-tasting and full of fresh ingredients.And,in the evenings,often served on crisp linen under the palms under a star-filled sky - "barefoot elegance" indeed!
All in all,a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

This was our 2nd trip to The Southern Cross. This is a Resort w/ 12 rooms, 24 guests and 22 staff. Many people come to dive or to fish. We go to lay in the hammock and have an experience of total relaxation. The first time we went, we met a Minister who does crisis work. She flies all over the world wherever there are emergencies. She said this was her 13th visit to Southern Cross. That is when we understood we had found paradise on Earth.

We tried to go to Little Cayman in November. We book through there US office. Because of the Hurricane, Little Cayman never opened so we vacationed in Grand Cayman, hoping to get to Little Cayman. Our travel agent in California, Craig Buck, who only books for Southern Cross, was like a pit bull, fighting for us when our flight did not take off. He fought with the airlines for an hour. They could get us to Cayman, using 3 flights, but the middle leg was open only in first class and they would not do it. He looked up their regulation book, spoke to a supervisor, quoted their regulation to them and got us to Cayman.

Now we will go to Southern Cross yearly. The food is excellent. There is 0 traffic. The people are friendly. The staff is super attentive. Each day I can feel tension melt away and we are so happy when we are there.

Debra Chwast

  • Liked — For a getaway, this is as far away as you can get!
  • Disliked — Internet connection is "Island Style..."
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheboygan, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

We just spent 7 days diving at this resort. The diving was superb and the divemasters were outstanding. The food and service was incredible. Very nice staff and they treated us like royalty. We have been at many dive resorts before, but this one is the best. Once you've been here, you'll be spoiled. Nothing else compares to it.

  • Liked — the diving and the food
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My husband and I just returned from the Southern Cross Club with our three teenagers (ages 18, 16, and 13). It was absolutely fabulous! The staff is most welcoming, the food is delicious and the dive staff outstanding! Our youngest daughter had trouble equalizing on our first day, so Chris went out of his way to have Mike and Clive (dive masters) work with her individually until she succeeded. We were a bit concerned that the kids might not have enough to do, with the fact that there are no televisions, etc.. They thought the club was "awesome". We played backgammon, cards, read our books and took naps in the sun upon our return from diving. Kayaking, snorkeling and fishing are also available. My husband and son went fishing and caught several black fin tuna, which the chef prepared for hors d'oeuvres later in the day. It truly was a fabulous trip. On New Year's Eve, we dined outdoors under the stars with an amazing display of fireworks at midnight! The kids are already asking if we can go back next year.
Chris, Kate, Mike, Clive, Ryan and the rest of the SCC staff, thank you for an outstanding family vacation and we hope to see you all soon.

  • Liked — The setting, vies and ease of accessibility to diving
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Cross Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Club

Address: Guy Banks Rd, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort on Little Cayman built entirely ON a beautiful white sand beach. All oceanfront accommodations. Southern Cross Club celebrates 50 years of welcoming discerning world travelers looking for the best in hospitality, diving, dining, fishing, and world class relaxing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Club Hotel Little Cayman
Southern Cross Club Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.