We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba Diving made easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirates Point Resort
Save
You added Pirates Point Resort to your Saves list
328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scuba Diving made easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wonderful resort - relaxed schedule- great dive masters - no one in a hurry - great food and interaction with other guests. When I first started diving my wife and I went to a new place each year then we found Pirates Point and have been back for six years and are signed up fopr next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    9
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
120
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I came to Pirates Point with my wife, family and friends, I was looking forward to a simple dive vacation but I got much more than that! Staying a Pirates Point was a great experience, the diving was very good and the food was out of this world! First for the diving, we did two dives a day and were back by lunch. We all felt very safe with the dive masters who were friendly, knowledgable and always looking for interesting things to point out under water. The 42ft diving boat, Yellow Rose III, was very clean and comfortable, it was custom built for Pirates Point. Now for the food, the best way to describe it is, it's like eating at a gourmet restaurant three times a day. The chefs are passionate about what they do and it shows in their food. Pirates Point has won several cooking competitions in the Cayman Islands. There were several times that people from other resorts on the island came to join us for lunch and dinner. All of the chefs are always happy to talk to you about the food and share tips on the cooking. A word of caution though, all of the food is very rich and delicious, so, you may want to jump on those free bikes and do some riding around the island. There are many more great things that can be said about Pirates Point, many of which already have been said, simply put, if you're looking for a great dive experience, good food and family feel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach, you won't be disappointed with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pirate's Point offers an all-inclusive experience, with a communal feel. Safety is a priority, and with deep depths surrounding the beautiful Little Cayman reef, that's a very good thing. The dive masters are happy people; if you've had an 'unhappy' dive master, you will know what a difference that makes. There is no arrogance, no disinterest. These are genuinely smart, experienced, and very likable divers. The diving is great; there are the 'big' things like sharks, turtles, rays, to see, and 'little' things, like nudibranchs and seahorses to find. Then there's the dining. The chefs at Pirate's Point love what they do, and it shows in their food. Artistically presented, it's as good as it looks. And even better, they love to share with guests their skills and secrets. After dinner, be sure to take advantage of Gladys's (the owner) invitation to play dominoes (Mexican train). It's a nightly tradition, and makes getting to know your fellow divers fun. When you're not diving, take advantage of the free bike rentals and bike the island, or walk the nature trail Gladys helped develop. Or, create a piece of art with found objects to enter into the Pirate's Point Art Contest. One thing you'll notice is that at least one couple, if not more, staying at the resort has been to Pirate's Point before. Many times. People love this place and return for a reason; plan your trip and find out why!!

Room Tip: Ocean-front rooms are available, but with hammocks and chairs by the beach and pool, it won't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time visiting Pirates Point in Little Cayman but it won't be our last. My wife and I are experienced divers but this was our son's first dive trip since being certified so we wanted to go someplace that not only offered great diving but that would also give him the extra attention a first time diver needs. I was nervous - having picked the resort only from internet reviews - but it was perfect. Little Cayman is quiet, relaxed, and feels worlds away (though only 100 miles) from the crowds and cruise ships on Grand Cayman. Pirates Point is small too - only 11 rooms. The staff - Gaye, Michelle, Bob, Mike, Martha, Jeff, Diane, and of course Gladys made us feel like part of the family. The dive operation was simple, efficient, and unhurried. We were able to get as much or as little supervision as we wanted. On most of the dives we were in groups of 3 or 4 per dive master at the most. And did we mention the food? It was excellent, healthy and plentiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was our first time at Pirates Point and we really enjoyed it. It is an abrupt change to get used to the pace and casualness of Little Cayman and the people on it even when compared to the other Cayman Islands. Expect a very slow relaxed pace.

All the meals were buffet meals but as good as you can find in any upscale restaurant and plenty of food and choices for all. We liked the lunches the best but breakfast and dinner had great food and surprises too.

The diving on Bloody Bay and Jackson's Bight were first class. Calm seas, a wall that starts at 18' and goes down forever and pristine corals.

Touring the island doesnt take long as its only 10 miles long by 1 mile wide, but on a bike that can be a trip. Not much to see but the occasional iguana and even less occasional car. We weren't into the birds but I understand they are special there.

The negatives?

I think someone else said this in the reviews but the place is run a bit like an adult day camp. With only 10 rooms at the resort we lowered the average age of the place by many years. All activities start when a bell is rung and then you better be ready. For instance the bell rings and breakfast is ready. They start clearing it up within 20 mins or so. Sitting at the dinner table after an excellent dinner and then waiting for the bell to ring so we could be excused (everyone seemed to wait for this) was also a bit odd.

The staff were very nice and helpful but also a bit like camp counselors. Some were much more subtle about it but others really should be watching a bunch of immature teens as their temperament was more suited to that. The rules are strict. Safety is a big concern which is great but there are polite ways to be safe and there are obnoxious ways and some of the staff crossed that line. Not what you expect at those prices and at the age you can afford them.

Would we go again? The diving, location and food are hard to resist. But some of the staff and the whole bell thing along with feeling like we're at the mercy of the host for dinner seating, timing, etc. makes us question if we'll return.

Room Tip: They're basically all by the sea. If you ask for unit 5 they're all #5 (5a, 5b, etc). We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I just returned from a week of diving at Bloody Ball Wall in Little Cayman and stayed with Gladys Howard and her incredible staff at Pirates Point. My husband and I have stayed there four times over the past 15 or so years, and this time we took our two teenagers and my sister. Everyone really enjoyed the diving, the food, the peace and tranquility of the island, and the warmly passionate staff that cater to your every need during the week!
Each time we visit, it gets harder to leave. The island is absolutely a step back in time, which is exactly what we like on vacation...no shopping, no McDonalds, and basically nothing much to do but enjoy nature...amen!!
The food is absolutely the best we've had on any vacation...gourmet meals at every sitting and a lot of it!! The food is beautiful, creative, fresh, and absolutely mouth-watering!!
Gladys and her staff do a wonderful job and are so kind, respectful, and go out of their way to make sure that the guests have what they need. Her divemasters are absolutely the best we've encountered at any dive facility, and we've visited most of the main dive destinations in the Carribean over the last 20 years. They always provide important tips for divers to improve their skills throughout the week, but in a kind way.
We would never consider staying anywhere else in Little Cayman. The other beauty of Pirate's Point is the chance to get to know other divers during the week. All meals are served family style and all guests eat together. There is plenty of time for solitude during the week as well. The grounds are large, and there are plenty of hammocks and chairs on the beach, a pool, and a bar area, so there are lots of places to go to find others to chat with or to be by yourself. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Air conditioning is available in the rooms, however, we did not need ours. We got a wonderful breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Vacation of sure bliss and tranquility like no other. If you are a scuba diver, bird watcher or just looking to get off the grid, then you want to stay at bPirates Point Resort. The staff and Chefs are unbelievable at treating you like royalty. You can rent cars, motor scooter and ride bikes if you don't want to be on the water ever day. The food is to die for! All three meals are unbelievable and with plenty to eat at each meal. The diving is world class, with the clarity you can see forever and the fish are amazing! Take it from me, it's a place that my family goes every year now, just because this is the only place to be when it comes to taking a vaction like no other and we will continue until we decide to no longer take a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirates Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Point Resort

Address: 328 Guy Banks Road, KY3-2501, Little Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Little Cayman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned resort on 7 acres with white sandy beach front on Preston Bay. 10 spacious rooms in cottages with private baths, gourmet dining, fresh-water pool and a unique guest-decorated bar. A well equipped dive operation with five dive instructors on staff for all diving needs. Small guided dive groups are the norm. Fishing guide available. Dive and relaxing packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pirates Point Hotel Little Cayman
Pirates Point Resort Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.