We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Club at Little Cayman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Cayman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Club at Little Cayman
PO Box 51, Little Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great Diving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I will be completely honest in my evaluation and we had a great time!

I will explain all the aspects of this trip so you can know what to expect when you go. You will read a few negative observations, but small details you can overlook because of the great diving, we will be back.



July 7-14



When your plane touches down a van is waiting to pick up the arrivals, we had a full plane so we had to wait a bit for a ride. Not all the bags arrived on the first flight but came later that evening. They do have a 55 pound rule for the small plane but was not checked on the way over, but they made up for it on the way back. Was charged for an additional 50 bag that was not ours, so watch the guy who writes down your bag weights on a scrape piece of paper. .50 for each additional pound after 55. This includes all your bags, and personal stuff, purse, carry on, etc.. TOTAL cost us $32.00



After they pick you up at the airport, 3 minutes later you are at the condo, unload and make your way to the condo. 3 couples stayed at condo 5 for a great week of diving. It was ground floor and ocean front. 2 of our party arrived earlier and checked in at the resort and got the keys to the condo. We won the drawing for the master bedroom, and it was big with a great view of the ocean, the other rooms did not have a view. 1 room was very small and had some air condition issues, both rooms had a queen size bed. The living room and kitchen was huge and we made coffee each morning, brought the coffee from home. Went to the only store on the island and wow, expensive. Plan on using the full meal plan.

Beach out front is not swim able, to shallow, rocky and green.



Now you must head to the dive shop, 6 min walk from the condo, to fill out paper work before 5 pm. Plan on it taking awhile if you came in on a full plane, 1 person on duty. Pick up a bag to place your dive stuff in to be placed outside your door for PU the next AM to go to the dive boat.


FOOD: Buffet except an omelet table made to order, highly recommended. All types of food, some great, some not, but you can find something to please your taste buds. Grab some fruit to take with you on the dive boats, they serve little bags of chips and apples, sometimes.

CAMERA ROOM: none had to carry the big unit back and forth to the condo, 6 min walk on a rough beach.

OK TIME TO DIVE: Boats generally load at 8:15, and 1:50, they have you set up and in place, don't worry if you are not by your buddy, they carry your BCD to the back of the boat and put it on you. Kinda weird at first but worked out ok. The camera table is small and you always have people putting their clothes, masks etc on it, and one day a lady decided to use a spray suntan lotion by the table. Everything was covered, put a towel over mine after that.

Dive Guides: We had two really great guys, Clive and Nick, attention to detail and always available to help you back on the boat. 50 min max on first dive and 60 on 2 and 3 dive, enforced!!!!! Nitrox $10 a tank, many times had 1500 when I got on the boat. Looking back, I should have just used it for the next dive, oh well. You can go with the guides or with your buddy, just no solo diving. Very easy diving.

DIVE Operation: You go in the dive shop to sign up for night dives(2 per week $65 each 50 min dive max), dusk dive(1 per week $65 50 min max), wreck dive(1 per week $30 plus 1 already paid dive 50 min dive max) As people were signing up in the small shop, the clerk might have gotten a bit over whelmed and when the front door did not shut all the way she went over to it and kicked it shut hard, and told everyone, easier for me to kick it then for you to shut it, huh? This was the only rude person we seen at the resort, everyone else was very nice. You have to check your nitox and the boat crew will tell you how many tanks to do each morning and afternoon on the boat. Easy to do and a great setup for the nitrox testing. Well thought out!



DIVING: It was almost all wall diving, very little current and great diving.Easy diving, for any level, all kinds of fish, turtles and a few sharks. Reef was in very good shape, saw only 3 lion fish, amazing. Water temp was 84 and we wore skins.



TIME TO GO HOME : You take your stuff off the boat and they have rinse tanks set up and a room you can put your stuff in to dry. We took all ours to the condo and used a hose next to the condo to rinse everything, and used the washer to wash all our dirty clothes. Great to go home with clean clothes. They ask if you can place some of your luggage out at 3 pm on Friday so all bags make it to Grand Cayman on Sat. for your flight home. It was not an issue for us, and our bags were waiting for us at the airport in Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: The ocean view was great, TC5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a week in Condo # 5, a ground level, beach front condo. It was exactly like the pictures. Everything was beautiful and clean! This condo had 3 bedrooms and 3 baths, with TV and DVD in each room and in living room. The kitchen was fully equipped and the washer and dryer were put to lots of use. This condo even had DVD's and CD's to borrow. Books in the cupboard and fish ID books for after diving. We felt like we were staying in a friend's home. It was awesome. With only 8 condos we often had the pool and patio to ourselves. Free Wi-Fi was spotty, but always available in the kitchen.

Entertainment is limited on this small island, I would recommend renting a car for the day and going to The Point of Sands beach for snorkeling/picnic. We rode scooters, it was a long, hot ride that I wouldn't do again. We also took a free Iguana Tour and visited the Research Center. One night we walked to the viewing pad a the National Trust Building to watch the birds come in to roost in the evening (take mosquito repellant!)

During the week we took our meals at Little Cayman Beach Resort, the food was good and there was always a nice choice. Service here is excellent. The desserts were made fresh daily and were fabulous. Don't plan to lose weight on this trip. We dove with Reef Divers for the week and had a pleasant, relaxing week of diving. We are serious divers, and found it a bit annoying that the dives were limited to 50 minutes for the first dive and 60 for the next two dives, but we survived. The diving is easy here and a good place for new divers.

This is a great, relaxing place for serious divers, or families who want to dive/snorkel and just relax in the sun.

Room Tip: Any of the 8 condos would be lovely, but the ocean front views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent a week at the Club @ Little Cayman and dove with Reef Divers @ Little Cayman Beach Resort (a 2 minute walk away). First impressions are important and ours was of Emma at the Reception Desk. After a warm welcome and general instructions, we were escorted to our condo in the neighboring property. The fully equipped condo, including washer & dryer was beautifully appointed down to the washer and dryer. Our condo was beachfront on the second floor with a deck overlooking the beach; a perfect location for breakfast or our pre-dinner cocktails. And the resort staff was knowledgeable and professionally cordial.

The restaurant at Little Cayman Beach Resort deserves a mention; the buffet each evening offered variety and great flavor. Kudos to the chefs and and the wait staff.

Reef Divers Dive staff spoiled us; setting up our tanks and BCs, providing expert briefing before each dive and most importantly, seeing to our safety before and after each dive. During surface intervals, Dottie, Sharon & Roxanne kept us entertained with stories and jokes. If you are going to go diving on Little Cayman, this is the company to dive with.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside the US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The condo was beautiful and very spacious. All you need are groceries! The property is very quiet and is perfect for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

The Club was almost completely consistent with the advertisements, claims of travel agents,etc. Very nice as a 600 a night place should be, quite clean, very comfortable, and very, very quiet - as about a non-tourist spot (which we were looking for) as you could find. And the staff and all the rest of the people were very nice. Our only complaint is this. The first night we were there in Unit # 5 we discovered a major infestation of ants on the walls in the kitchen. There were warnings to not leave crumbs, etc around which we strictly complied with, but no one would've anticipated this kind of infestation.The bugs were clearly nocturnal as they would not come out when the lights were left on but blackened parts of the walls when they were not. We have travelled enough to recognize that these kind of problems occur and the local maintenance staff did what they could to eleminate the problem. But it remained the whole time we were there and we had to leave that lights on in the kitchen all night every night to keep them at bay. The disappontment was in the lack of any compensating response - no offer to move to another unit that was clearly open, no reduction or even offer to reduce the rate, etc. We probably should have been more demanding in that regard, but did not believe that should have been required. Other than that the stay and place were great - just check it out the first night and be more demanding about what needs to be done if there is a problem. If you are looking for a very nice and quiet spot you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: An ocean front unit is definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The Club at Little Cayman is a wonderful condo in an excellent location. We had a 2 bedroom with all the amenities. This allowed us to dine at all of the resorts and eat in for breakfast. Great flexibilty.

We enjoyed all of the resorts for dinner at least once, but liked the hungry Iguana best because we could order what we wanted.

The diving with reef divers on bloddy bay wall was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The Club was a great surprise. The quality of accomodation was superb and the position was just too good to be true.
But it was the peace and tranquility that was such a welcome change. This along with access to an excellent restaurant made for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Club at Little Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club at Little Cayman

Address: PO Box 51, Little Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Little Cayman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Little Cayman
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Cayman's exclusive sanctuary in the sun and the Caribbean's most prestigiuos vacation destination! The Club is a rare collection of villas offering uncompromising comforts and unparalleled luxury. Our three bedroom retreats feature an elegant tapestry of colors that captures the true essence of the island's Caribbean heritage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Club At Little Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Club at Little Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Club at Little Cayman to your Saves list