We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at PP will be the highlight of your night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Point Dining Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pirate's Point Dining Room
993, Little Cayman
948-1010
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Dinner at PP will be the highlight of your night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was one of the most fun dinners I have ever had, anywhere.

It began with a cocktail party in the owner's living room. There were about 25 of us. Handmade sushi, cheeses, and island delicacies were on silver trays scattered throughout the room. rum cocktails were served and after about 20 minutes, everyone in the room had become best friends.

We were then ushered into the dining room where there was a different hat, festive hats! at each place setting. The rule was, you will wear the hat during dinner. Not a problem after all of the rum which continued throughout the dinner.

There were a few courses served, fresh fish entree and a gorgeous dessert selection to top off the meal. but the evening was so much fun and so festive that we could have eaten hot dogs and still had a wonderful time. It was a dinner party with the emphasis on PARTY.

Note: this meal is only served once a week and reservations are a must. So call ahead. They will take guests from other hotels as I was not staying at PP, although I should have. It is a beautiful resort. Charming with a few secluded beaches, just for 2.

Wonderful experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armstrong, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a great meal here. Lovely atmosphere although not a lot of room. They seat you with other people at a table and it is interesting to meet some of the other people there. Quite pricey.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Marc, at Paradise Villas helped us make reservations. Martha picked us up and drove us to Pirates Point. It was a unique experience for us. You make your drinks at the bar and pay when leaving on the honor system. The room was filled with an eclectic collection of "beach art" and had a home-like feeling.
We sat with Catherine and Frederick, a very interesting and entertaining couple. The meal was excellent. We had steaks....cooked to perfection, Yukon potatoes, vegetables, and wine which was included with the meal. Dessert was some sort of fudge with a cream topping. After dinner you may retire to the bar area and socialize if you like. I was not expecting to be comfortable with this type of dining but had a wonderful evening....great food and great company!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not only excellent but helpful with Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In addition to all the raving the other reviewers provide, I will add that Jeff is also helpful with gluten free. He made gluten free gravy for chicken and mashed potato night. For sushi night he made us special potatoes and broccoli as we could not eat the noodles. The sushi, especially the lion fish, was superb. The place is a hoot. If you are not staying there you need reservations and they will pick you up where ever you are staying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Upscale dining in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

All the meals were buffet meals but as good as you can find in any upscale restaurant and plenty of food and choices for all. We liked the lunches the best but breakfast and dinner had great food and surprises too.

A couple of the dinners were oddly comfort food (i.e. grilled Chicken and mashed potatoes) which wasnt expected for the more formal dinners.

Dress is pretty casual at the restaurant. If you visit expect a happy hour before with a dip or snack plate to pick at, then a bell, then you'll be seated probably at the table with the hostess. Then you'll be told when its your turn for the buffet (always plenty of food and always fresh) and then dinner will end with another bell and you'll retire to the lounge for coffee/more drinks and perhaps cards and such.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Point Dining Room also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Been to Pirate's Point Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Point Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.