We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty fish and chips, gorgeous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Iguana Restaurant

Hungry Iguana Restaurant
Little Cayman, Little Cayman
345.948.0007
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty fish and chips, gorgeous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We came to Little Cayman just for the day, by boat from the Brac. I thought the Hungry Iguana was a lovely spot - painted bright white, with a lovely shady and breezy patio with a view of the ocean. Food was served quickly, service was good, and the fish and chips with lemon and tartar sauce was really tasty!! Considering how tiny this island is, I was really impressed :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NDGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Guildford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beware of food shortages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Little Cayman gets weekly delivery by barge/tug boat of food and so when weather rough in winter the island runs out of things. While we were there the restaurant ran out of chips (French fries). However the food was lovely especially the lion fish fingers, we ate here every day mostly for lunch as cheaper than dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chornayakoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Cayman
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hungry Iguana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My favourite place to eat on the island. Simple food, good friendly service - love having a snack lunch on the verandah...Mosquitos drive me in at night,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C-Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location really just a 2-minute walk from the tiny airport! There are two different buildings: one is closer to the road and the other is across the parking lot and closer to the sea, with a porch seating area with incredible views. The service was friendly, attentive, unobtrusive, and quick. The overall atmosphere was okay, but did not have quite the hip, Caribbean character I was expecting, but rather felt somewhat generic. An exception to this was what seems to be resident iguanas frequenting the porch, who did seem hungry and anxious for hand-outs; it was amazing to see them up close. The restroom doors were similarly painted with hip iguanas. Other than that, though, it was pretty generic. Parties at tables on each side of us on the porch were smoking, and that was unpleasant.

The food was good. We had lionfish fingers as recommended by others here. They were deep fried and a bit dry, but the spicy jerk mayonnaise sauce they were served with made up for that, so they were pleasant. We also had a jerk chicken quesadilla, served with pico, sour cream, and guacamole. It was large and along with the appetizer easily satisfied two of us. The jerk spices were very hot, but was a pleasant rather burn that lingered on the lips. Prices were typical for casual Cayman Islands eateries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamitxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No reason to go anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I spent nine days at Paradise Villas and ate our dinners at HI. We intended to try some of the restaurants at the other resorts but enjoyed the food and neighborly atmosphere at HI so much we said why bother. The menu is varied with curry to Caribbean fresh catches. The service was great. Our only complaint was they didn't serve breakfast. Like most other things on the Island the prices are a bit high but the portions are large. We are not "big eaters" so my wife and I shared a dinner each night, along with a homemade desert and found it to be plenty filling.
We live in the Washington D.C. area and I only wish we had neighbor restaurants as good as the HI.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 869G_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Iguana Restaurant also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Hungry Iguana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing