We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with lots of options on Little Cayman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Iguana Restaurant

Hungry Iguana Restaurant
Little Cayman, Little Cayman
345.948.0007
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with lots of options on Little Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant is under new management since we were there last year, and we were delighted with the expanded menu. They serve a different curry each day (chicken, vegetable, beef, etc.) and it is delicious, served with Caribbean rice and beans done just right. They have daily specials with fresh fish and a variety of other entrees. Their lunch menu includes lots of sandwiches and salads, and lionfish tacos--yum! In addition to all of that, they offer an appetizer menu and a children's menu at both lunch and dinner times, so there are always some lighter choices available. Their portabello mushroom and spinach quesadilla was very tasty. In short, there is something for everyone and it is all fresh, delicious, and nicely presented. The service is very friendly but you need to keep in mind that no one is in a hurry in this part of the world. The prices are reasonable for a small island where everything needs to be flown or shipped in. This is the only full-service restaurant with menu choices on Little Cayman as far as I know, so it is a great amenity for those of us who do not opt for an all-inclusive resort.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very helpful with Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Of two couples there are 2 of us that require gluten free. We ate here twice and were pleased both times. We brought our own GF pasta and the chef prepared it with veggies, pork and a curry cream sauce. The second time we had jerk chicken with sweet potato fries.....AMAZING. Portions are large and the 2 gluten eaters loved their meals and the bread pudding. The GF coconut ice cream was superb. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Caesar salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This has a lively bar scene. Casual outdoor eating. The Caesar was done with baby spinach which was delicious. I ate two meals here and enjoyed both.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food on such a small island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really like this place. Food is pretty good and the view is beautiful. Kids love the lion fish and the brownies! Try the portobello mushroom salad. It's excellent. For a small place they do a great job!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice to see Lionfish on the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped in for a short visit and ended up staying for a while. Service was good, and the view was great as it overlooks the Caribbean on the south side of Little Cayman. It was nice to see Lionfish on both the lunch and dinner menus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Iguana Restaurant also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands

Been to Hungry Iguana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Iguana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.