We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with lots of options on Little Cayman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Iguana Restaurant

Hungry Iguana Restaurant
P.O. Box 48, Little Cayman
345.948.0007
Website
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
Restaurant details
Superior, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food with lots of options on Little Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant is under new management since we were there last year, and we were delighted with the expanded menu. They serve a different curry each day (chicken, vegetable, beef, etc.) and it is delicious, served with Caribbean rice and beans done just right. They have daily specials with fresh fish and a variety of other entrees. Their lunch menu includes lots of sandwiches and salads, and lionfish tacos--yum! In addition to all of that, they offer an appetizer menu and a children's menu at both lunch and dinner times, so there are always some lighter choices available. Their portabello mushroom and spinach quesadilla was very tasty. In short, there is something for everyone and it is all fresh, delicious, and nicely presented. The service is very friendly but you need to keep in mind that no one is in a hurry in this part of the world. The prices are reasonable for a small island where everything needs to be flown or shipped in. This is the only full-service restaurant with menu choices on Little Cayman as far as I know, so it is a great amenity for those of us who do not opt for an all-inclusive resort.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    23
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very helpful with Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Of two couples there are 2 of us that require gluten free. We ate here twice and were pleased both times. We brought our own GF pasta and the chef prepared it with veggies, pork and a curry cream sauce. The second time we had jerk chicken with sweet potato fries.....AMAZING. Portions are large and the 2 gluten eaters loved their meals and the bread pudding. The GF coconut ice cream was superb. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Caesar salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This has a lively bar scene. Casual outdoor eating. The Caesar was done with baby spinach which was delicious. I ate two meals here and enjoyed both.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food on such a small island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really like this place. Food is pretty good and the view is beautiful. Kids love the lion fish and the brownies! Try the portobello mushroom salad. It's excellent. For a small place they do a great job!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice to see Lionfish on the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped in for a short visit and ended up staying for a while. Service was good, and the view was great as it overlooks the Caribbean on the south side of Little Cayman. It was nice to see Lionfish on both the lunch and dinner menus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Iguana Restaurant also viewed

Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Little Cayman, Cayman Islands
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Hungry Iguana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Iguana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.