We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could live on this beach, I would!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Beach

Governor's Beach
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If I could live on this beach, I would!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This beach is now permanently etched into my brain as my idea of 'heaven'. The water is crystal clear, the sand brilliantly white and the sun literally always shines here (even when you can see it is raining elsewhere on the island).

Take advantage of the jet-skiing and banana boat rides from Red Sail sports based on the beach...they are loads of fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    44
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Swim straight out in front of the governor's house past the swim bouys, and you'll find a nice reef for snorkeling.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mill pond surface, warm, clear water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just dropped in for a dunk - the beach lovely, safe, quiet at the water's edge and enjoyable. Plenty of activity on the water, boats, jet skis, etc...
Definitely a spot to take the kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice wide flat beach with shade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This beach was easy to access. There were a lot of people but it did not feel crowded. There was some good snorkeling in the area too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst Snorkeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just North of the Westin, the beach was fine, but this was the worst snorkeling spot we went to. Of all the off-the-beach snorkeling spots on or near 7 mile here are the best in order:
#1) Eden Rock
#2) Cheesburger
#3) Cemetary

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Beach also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Governor's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Governor's Beach to your Saves list