We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Snorkelling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Beach

Governor's Beach
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Snorkelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

One of the best reefs I found for snorkelling, not too far out and plenty of life. Whilst there we were visited by a lone stingray and its accompanying bar jack on both occasions. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    60
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is one of my favorite spot to see the sunset.... Is very nice.... And i can park my car close by.....

We loge to chill out and swimming there.... And in front is a nice ice cream pleace.... After all day on the salt water is good some sugar

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing last day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent the last day of our dive trip visiting several beaches. Governor's Beach was nice and clean. Good amount of shaded parking. White sandy beach with easywater entry, good place for easy snorkeling,and sunning. On Seven Mile, so lots of tourists and locals out and about

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Aweome snorkeling for FREE....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found this suggestion when I was trying to find something else....thrilled we did, as it was pouring all day, so why not check out a snorkeling site.

Very easy to figure out where you're going...it's next to the Westin in front of the "govenor's house" you'll see a tall white buoy swim toward that and you'll see a huge amount of fish...they're not kidding that the silver fish, I guess parrot fish are all up in your grill, freaked me out at first...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Attack of the parrot fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There is a relatively small piece of coral (size of a house) that is located about 200 yards from the beach in front of the governors house. Since there are virtually no waves in the middle of seven-mile beach, it was an easy swim to get to without flippers. The water is only 10-15' deep all the way to the coral. We saw many different fish, including a barracuda. The parrot fish are aggressive as they've come to associate humans with food. So don't be surprised when they rush to great you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Beach also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Governor's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.