We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Beach

Governor's Beach
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is one of my favorite spot to see the sunset.... Is very nice.... And i can park my car close by.....

We loge to chill out and swimming there.... And in front is a nice ice cream pleace.... After all day on the salt water is good some sugar

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    67
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing last day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent the last day of our dive trip visiting several beaches. Governor's Beach was nice and clean. Good amount of shaded parking. White sandy beach with easywater entry, good place for easy snorkeling,and sunning. On Seven Mile, so lots of tourists and locals out and about

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Aweome snorkeling for FREE....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found this suggestion when I was trying to find something else....thrilled we did, as it was pouring all day, so why not check out a snorkeling site.

Very easy to figure out where you're going...it's next to the Westin in front of the "govenor's house" you'll see a tall white buoy swim toward that and you'll see a huge amount of fish...they're not kidding that the silver fish, I guess parrot fish are all up in your grill, freaked me out at first...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Attack of the parrot fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There is a relatively small piece of coral (size of a house) that is located about 200 yards from the beach in front of the governors house. Since there are virtually no waves in the middle of seven-mile beach, it was an easy swim to get to without flippers. The water is only 10-15' deep all the way to the coral. We saw many different fish, including a barracuda. The parrot fish are aggressive as they've come to associate humans with food. So don't be surprised when they rush to great you.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Just to the right of the Westin, this area has wonderful snorkeling! Calm clear waters, just 150 yards offshore. Lots of fish, saw rays, sea turtles, barracuda, don't miss it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Beach also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Governor's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.