We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Burger, Great Fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burger Shack

The Burger Shack
Marquee Plaza | Lawrence Boulevard, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
+1 345 949 2867
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Fast Food, Ice Cream, Grill, Hot Dogs
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent Burger, Great Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Overall, a pretty decent burger with some really great fries. Each month they have a contest to see who comes up with the best recipe, and that burger gets sold for the month. So you can try something "truly unique" that you would never find at a typical chain restaurant.

It's not cheap, there's no indoor seating so it can be pretty hot, and it's a bit of a walk from most of the hotels. I wouldn't seek the place out, but if you were in the area and wanted a good filling lunch this would hit the spot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    16
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever and the fries!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Loved the burger. Juicy and tasty. But the fries were perfection..., seasoned just right.
The milk shake was too milky. But hands down I would return for a burger and fries!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sometimes you just need a burger...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I would recommend this place as a much better alternative to the typical fast-food burger. I'm partial to burgers and this place has fresh, hand-patted burgers like you'd find find in a good mid-western bar and grill minus the dark interior and shady characters hanging around. It's basically a walk-up kiosk but the service is quick, the staff was very happy and friendly, and the burger...well, it hit the spot. Truth is, my eyes were bigger than my stomach and after the premium milkshake I ordered with the burger, I was too full...so I had it for breakfast the next day. It was really good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Cayman Islands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey, good, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wanting a quick burger, I decided to try The Burger Shack. It was 5PM and a quick stop and run. Right? No.
The two (2) employees were sitting around and the place was "dead". After ordering, I was informed of the price - $15CI ($19+/- USD). Double cheese, fries and a couple Diet Cokes. Ouch.
I was then informed it would be 10 minutes as "we cook from scratch", etc. So, I asked (several times), "what if I phone ahead, will you have it ready". The employee (of Asian decent) could not understand my questions, so finally, she turned away and said, "OK".
I explained, "no, this is not and 'OK' answer. . . it is a "yes or no" answer. I still never got a reply.
Like the US chain, Five Guys, they "dumped" fries in the bag and I was on my way.
The burger was nothing "special", but the bun sure was. "Special" in the fact that it was huge and took away from the burger. Too much bun.
Also, the burger itself was $9.50CI ($8.50CI for a double) and an another $1 for the slice of cheese. Really.
Cayman is expensive enough. To nickel and dime your customer is not good.
I will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“🍔🍔🍟🍟🍟Best burgers🍔🍔🍟🍟”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If u r looking for a great burger, go to burger shack, it is amazing!!!! We visited for vacation at grand cayman n on our last full day at grand cayman, my kids said " let's got to burger shack, because it is our last day there, so we will not be able to go there any other time. N it is soooooo good that we have to go there for our last lunch" They absolutely love it!!! I think it is great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Shack also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Burger Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burger Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.