We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort, Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Road | PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort, Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Spent 4 days at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman Islands before the holidays in December. Everything good and bad has been said in prior reviews. Yes, everything from a diet coke to a steak is expensive and yes its even 20% higher than the U.S. Ritz properties but this is due to the cayman currency. That's the choice you make by picking the Cayman Islands as your vacation destination. One small complaint we had was that the hot items at the breakfast buffet weren't actually hot, but lukewarm, all 3 mornings. Turn up those burners! I've seen complaints that the resort side rooms are too far from the beach. They have an art gallery to distract you from noticing how long of a walk it is but I'd say this was not an inconvenience at at all. Free parking was also a nice perk. Aside from breakfast and 2 lunches on the beach, we ate all of our meals outside the resort which I recommend. Copper Falls Steakhouse was excellent. I was originally troubled by the fact that the ritz adds 30-35% to your booked room rate in resort fees (& taxes) but by the end of the trip I was satisfied considering the included amenities such as in-room WiFi, daily newspaper, kayaks, snorkels, morning coffee, etc. Service all around, from the beach to the front desk to the rooms, was excellent. One particular instance was at the resort side pool the last day. My wife and I were laying out and enjoying total quietness when a group of filmmakers who appeared to be from a travel agency set up shop and started filming. Sounded like being at a lot in universal studios the way they were talking and carrying on. They didn't get us in the shot which I would flipped out about, but they were very loud. After a few minutes, a woman in a suit walked briskly to the film director, asked him for his authorization to film on the property, told him and everyone with him to quiet down, then asked them to leave. On her way back inside she stopped by our loungers and apologies for the disruption. Another small personal gripe of mine was that the resort was LOADED with kids. This is to be expected at a self described "family resort" but some couples looked for peace and quiet might find this to be a detriment to their stay. The last point I'd make is that we had to decide between the Ritz and the Westin for our Cayman vacation and I can clearly say we made the right choice. Walking thru the nearby Westin, we could sense a drop in service and amenities compared to the Ritz. The wired beach chairs were the same as you'd find at a Holiday Inn in Tampa, FL with crappy blue towels draped over them. All in all, the Ritz is a great pick and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    287
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
496
787
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman. Stayed over the Christmas holiday. Our extended family met there for a week together. Mixture of adults and kids ages 2-15. We were looking for upscale hotel with beach, pool, diving/snorkeling available, good food, kids club and golf.
The pros:
The staff is truly outstanding in their desire to please. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the pool waiters, concierge, cabana guys, etc. is trying their best to provide good service and to please you. They are definitely very well trained in guest service. The breakfasts at Periwinkle were very good and the pool/beach food was hot, fresh and brought quickly by friendly servers. The beach is smallish but very well maintained and the chairs are comfortable and they rush to help you when you arrive to get situated.
The cons:
The bottom line is the value for these prices is just not there. We probably had the least expensive rooms ($1000/night before taxes and fees) but the rooms were small, dated and not terribly comfortable. Not much dresser/storage space. Housekeeping service often didn't arrive till 3 PM or after most days. Bathrooms were the usual Ritz marble and fine. The prices for food and drink are astronomical even by resort standards. ($12 for a bottle of Fiji water). The alcohol is very, very pricey and the food prices are quite high. $110 for lunch for 4 at the beach, $100+ per person for dinner. "7" steak restaurant was fair in terms of food and the service was disjointed and confusing. Your waiter in that restaurant changes by the minute and you don't know who is going to be serving you the next course. Once we tried to eat lunch there and were in a rush. We literally had 4 different waiters, none of whom ever brought the drinks and when I mentioned we were in a rush to catch a snorkeling boat, that seemed to slow down even more. I asked for the manager... unavailable at the time and never contacted me afterwards. I'd stay clear of that restaurant and spend my money elsewhere. Went off property a number of nights for dinner. Grand Old House was great as were several others but all very pricey though not quite like the Ritz. The cab fares however are really astronomical. Ask the price before you get in. There are no meters. We literally went like 0.2 mile down the road and it was $20. Find a cab driver you trust, get his card and call him when you want to go somewhere. I think they give discounts to the people who use them over again. If you want a beach chair during busy time you better get out there by 7:30 AM to reserve one. They have cabanas for rent ($350) but didn't seem worth it. The Pool is clean but unheated and in December very few people went in. For $1000+ a night they should heat the pool in the winter!
Golf course was a highlight. Very uncrowded in afternoon. Staff was excellent and had clubs/shoes/carts ready to go each day. Lots of Iguanas on the course and lots of water with tight fairways. Twilight rates are $125 for a 9 hole course but kids are free with a paying adult so that helped. Club rental $50/day.
Getting to and from hotel was easy. Car we reserved was waiting, immigration/customs was fast. When we left the hotel to go home, a Ritz crew met us at the terminal to speed our way through and had a porter waiting for our vast luggage (many golf bags, etc.) Like I said, service is really outstanding and the high point of the experience.
Health club is well maintained but limited equipment and much too small when the hotel is crowded. I gave up trying to get a treadmill in the morning and went out on the road for a run instead. The island appears very safe.
The bottom line with this hotel is that though though they really try to pamper you with service, the facility itself (especially the rooms) are not worth the price and we have been to much better accommodations/amenities and nearly similar service for significantly less money (including Four Seasons). They really nickel and dime you with everything, the cost of even the smallest amenity (candy bars, etc.) is really outrageous and everything is listed in Cayman dollars but charged in USD (25% more) to help confuse you even more. Everything should be in USD since that is what the bill comes in.
I really tried to like this place more. We've been to many of the top Caribbean resorts but even with the outstanding service, the value is not there for us to return again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We tried, really tried but this is a tough place to relax at. The hotel misses as much as it meets expectations. Tough to find value in that. Housekeeping is poor (that is being polite). Rooms are outdated. Hotel has a musty odor from 10 feet inside the front door that stays with you. Half the staff is indifferent and the hotel needs to be renovated and hosed down. Food on property is a bust. Best place to eat is the pool bar. Unfortunately, the pool is chilly enough that no one can use it which is lots of fun for the kids. If you've made it down this far, there are few bright spots. There is a club level concierge group that is very accommodating and caring. Without them, we would have certainly cut our trip short. Josue, Dinah and Enrique along with the rest of that group are exceptional. They get it and will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. Additionay, most of the pool staff is very helpful. While the GM is extremely responsive, unfortunately, the other departments are not so aptly prepared.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

First rate. Plenty of beach chairs and never felt crowded. There is a NY people element but not oppressive. Great food, good dining options and service was attentive all over. Nice gym, can use spa steam and showers every day if you want to. Great location. Works best if you goout for a few meals here and there; three meals a day there will add up quickly. Tennis and golf facilities very nice. Kids program is exceptional and actually educational. Expect a big bill going in and bdget accordingly; if you are watching the cost best to stay elsewhere. Major complaint is that pool is not heated--might be ok in August but not acceptable in December.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luka_luka_luka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Pros: location is great, breakfast setting overlooks the ocean, rooms are comfortable enough
Cons: the hotel has an impersonal corporate feel, lacks any charm or character, the beach runs out of canopied chairs by 9am; there are only three tennis courts, they are $50 an hour and open to the general public which means you can't play when you want, it is booked a week in advance, several times i had problems and was told that i will be called back and no one ever called me, on the whole service is sketchy. definetely not worth the money; also there are no activities for kids, not even a simple playground. with all that said, it still appears to be the best hotel on the island

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed here recently with my boyfriend and it was easily one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. Not only that, but the service is outstanding. My only gripes were with the slow internet connection and the prices the beach/pool bar and restaurant, which are sky high.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My wife and I took a 5 night trip to Grand Cayman in October for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We were worried about hurricanes but the weather was excellent for 4.5 out of the 5 days. We chose the Ritz due to a "buy 4 nights get 5th night free" special they were running. The hotel was beautiful and we were immediately upgraded to a suite for our anniversary (thankful they did it for us but the hotel was also at about 30% occupancy as we barely saw anyone at the pools the whole time). The suite was spacious and well appointed. The food, of course, was insanely expensive and while excellent not worth the money (but you expect that going to a Ritz so no big deal). The USD is pegged at .80 Caymanian Dollars. On top of that exchange rate, food is expensive anyway. We rented a car at the hotel to get offsite and not have to pay the exorbitant prices. The Muesli for breakfast was phenomenal. There was a beach and pool on the "Residences" side of the hotel (a covered, indoor, skywalk over the street) and a pool on the hotel side. The beach and water were breathtaking and pool chairs were very comfortable.

Overall, a 5 star experience for certain

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road | PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.