We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt nickeled and dimed, too many young children,” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“felt nickeled and dimed, too many young children,”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

The Ritz Carlton is a huge hotel with a small beach area. Hundreds of beach chairs are lined up in rows on the beach so it felt like you were at a crowded sporting event rather than at an upscale hotel on a secluded island. Yes, you could easily find a chair, and a shaded cabana cover, but who wants to be packed like sardines into rows of chairs with no room in between. There was a hut right in the midst of the rows of beach chairs where they trying to sell apartments at the hotel. There were screaming children everywhere, in the rooms, hotel common areas, the beach, restaurants, etc. We were unable to sleep at night because of children making loud noises in adjoining rooms. This is definitely a resort that caters to families. It will definitely be a disappointment for couples looking for romantic time away. I felt nickled and dimed at this hotel. They charge an exhorbinent sum for drinks, food, etc., so we walked across the street to the supermarket and purchased some muffins, juice, snacks and beverages for the room. We also brought our own liquor so that we wouldn't have to pay $15+ every time we wanted a drink. The hotel charged us a $17 fee just to empty out the refrigerator with all the rip off items they stock it with so that we could use the space for our stuff! They also bill you for internet service. They charge for use of a tennis court and tennis lessons and spa services are pricey. The hotel restaurants are outrageously priced, so you are definitely better off going off grounds to eat. There are many restaurants that are within walking distance. The Reef, the Japanese restaurant across from the Westin and Copper Falls were especially good and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — location on beach, comfort of room
  • Disliked — too many young children everywhere, prices too high, felt ripped off
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    263
    101
    32
    13
See reviews for
459
724
28
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

My friends and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Grand Cayman on Seven Mile beach in September 2006 for one week. It was low season in the Caribbean so the rate we got was great and the hotel was EMPTY. The busiest it got was on the weekend when a few bridal parties arrived at the hotel, but once Sunday came around they all left and the hotel went quiet again.
Orlando Bloom was on Grand Cayman promoting his movie "Haven", which was filmed on the island. He happened to be staying at the hotel over the weekend as well so that did cause quite a stir among the guests.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My friend was celebrating her birthday and we had dinner Blue by Eric Ripert. I think everyone of the staff members stopped by our table to wish her a happy birthday.
La Prairie's Silver Rain spa in the hotel is fantastic. The facilities are superb and again the staff was very attentive. I would frequent the spa everyday before dinner and the staff got to know my habits. THey would have La Prairie creams and lotion samples waiting for me when I got out of the shower so that I could prepare for dinner. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon!

  • Liked — Location on Seven Mile Beach, the service, and fantastic views from the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

I just returned from a stay at the ritz in grand cayman and it was one of the best trips of my life. The staff is very friendly and they make you feel at home. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very modern. Upon check in we were presented with free drinks and cookies which is an excellent touch. The beach side of the hotel was kind of crowded but the staff never seemed too busy to help you. Although the resort side of the hotel requires you to walk through an overpass, you never feel like you are walking over a street because it was beautifully decorated with artwork. The resort side is better for those who would like to spend quiet days by the pool. The dining at the hotel is very expensive, but it is like that everywhere you go. Most prices are listed as CI$, so things are more expensive than they seem. There are so many things to do on the island, and the concierge are very helpful in booking snorkeling and diving excursions. Cayman has, in my opinion, the best diving and snorkeling in the world, so be sure to book a snorkeling or diving tour. I ventured into town once, but the stores close at 5 pm sharp, and if there isn't a cruise ship in port, the town is deserted, which wasn't bad because the store clerks payed a lot of attention to you. All in all my stay at the ritz was fantastic and i would definitely go back.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — food is very pricey
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Ritz July 1st through 6th with our daughter and her friend. Both girls are 16 years old and they absolutely loved it . The staff made them feel very special. Whether they were on the beach, in the spa, in a restaurant, or just wandering around they were treated like special guests! The staff at this particular Ritz should be a standard for customer service at all Ritz Carlton's. The concierge staff was excellent and they planned our daily activity requests perfectly. Every excursion we had was perfectly orchestrated with first class guides and drivers. Overall this was probably our best vacation experience with our daughter and friends! I will stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — People that work there
  • Disliked — didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

It's been about a month now since we returned from our family vacation at the Ritz and still cannot stop talking about it! We travelled with 4 grandchildren ranging in age from 7 years to 18 months and the Ritz could not have been more child friendly. It was a family vacation celebrating my husband's 60th birthday, two wedding anniversaries (10 years with a vow renewal on the beach and 7 years). Every experience we had with the staff was amazing. They were extremely accomodating and always courteous. We all had ocean front rooms and I would highly recommend, as the veiws were breathtaking. One night we watched a fireworks show from our balcony which was great. We were very lucky all week as the weather was beautiful. We did hear that the week before it rained 3 days straight, but I am confident that we all could have found things to do at the hotel even if it did rain. The Ambassadors of the Environment is a great experience for children.

We ate at all the restaurants at the Ritz and found the food to be amazing. We enjoyed the pool everday and it was never crowded. The beach was beautiful and our oldest grandson loved the snorkeling and the availability of water sport amenities. The other boys loved the beach for building sand castles (with the sand toys given them upon our arrival). We all enjoyed several spa treatments at the amazing Rain spa. Golf at Blue Tip was a wonderful experience as well, particularly for our 7 year old grandson and his uncle.

The Ritz helped us book a private boat which took us (all 11 of us) to Stingray City, then to a snorkeling area and finally to find a starfish which we all got to hold. It was probably one of the highlights of the trip. I would highly recommend the private charter, rather than the large boats with over 100+ people on them. We also cruised the Caribbean on the Jolly Roger. We have four grandsons so I would highly recommend the pirate experience. Two of the boys "walked the plank" and jumped right into the water! We also ate at Coconut Joe's, Rigazzi and EATS, all wonderful dining experiences, outside of the Ritz

We are trying to come up with another Caribbean destination and we are having a difficult time. We will definitely go back to Grand Cayman and certainly to the Ritz - it really was our best vacation ever!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

This is the best hotel in Grand Cayman. It's beautiful, and the service is just incredible. We would like to commend management of this hotel how great a job you've done. Everyone in the hotel is SO friendly and so polite, makes you feel at home. For people who are thinking of booking this hotel, there are the things we suggest:

1. Book the garden view room. There is a bridge that takes you to the oceanfront and it's not far at all. The fitness center and spa is right below this wing so in a way I think it's more convenient.

2. I guess most people hang out at the beach and the pool beside the beach. There is a pool, equally pretty, just outside the spa. It's nice and quiet in case you want some privacy away from the crowds.

3. The spa is amazing..it's la prairie and again, service is amazing. If you think it's too expensive, trust me, after you tried it, you'll say it's worth your money. Try to go early in the morning, I might be wrong, but I think the massages are cheaper early in the morning. I also went to the spa at Westin but wasn't too impressed.

4. We spent one afternoon golfing. It's a 9-hole course and it's beautiful. If you are thinking of golfing, I suggest going late afternoon, first it's cheaper, and second it cools down then and makes it more enjoyable.

The Ritz is so popular that the beach there is all crowded, but when you walk along the Seven Mile beatch to the other hotels, there are almost all empty!!

If we ever visit Grand Cayman again, we will definitely go back to the Ritz!!!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

My husband and I just returned from an amazing week at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman. I must say the service at this hotel is impeccable. Every single Ritz employee we encountered during our stay
was pleasant and extremely accommodating. From the welcome desk, to the wait staff, to the bartenders, to the golf caddies, to the housekeepers, to the spa specialists and beyond, we simply cannot say enough wonderful things about the level of service you'll find at the Ritz. We had a beautiful room on the top floor with an incredible view of the main pool and the beach. The sand on the beach
was like baby powder and the water was crystal clear. Definitely go snorkeling while there, as the underwater sea life is some of the best I've ever seen. We absolutely plan on staying at Ritz Carltons at other destinations we visit in the future.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Address: PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.