We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Sublime Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Road | PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Newport Coast, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Another Sublime Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

My husband and two daughters, 8 and 5, stayed at the Ritz Carlton over spring break. We had a club room on the 5th floor (room 555) on the land side of the resort overlooking the pool. It was a great location and I don't understand all the lazy people complaining that there is a long walk to the beach side, it is not. Our daughters loved the movies that were shown every night outside the Periwinkle restaurant. They blew up a giant movie theater screen and set up chaise lounges and would serve you dinner and drinks while watching the movie.

The AOTE program is OUTSTANDING! The staff is incredible and activities diverse, educational and FUN. My girls loved it and it is well worth the money.

Club Concierge - The service at the hotel and especially the club concierge was incredible. I am a planner and had many requests and they executed each one almost instantaneously. Laura, Cecelia, Linden and Enrique at the club concierge really took care of us. There are five food presentations daily and all are great. I loved the late evening cocktail with chocolates and they served a traditional English tea in the afternoon with fresh baked scones and tea sandwiches.

Dining - We ate at Periwinkle most nights because of the movies but Seven is also great. We loved The Wharf restaurant the food was great and they feed the tarpon at 9PM. The kids loved that.

Spa - The spa is spectacular. They have a nice snack and drink presentation in the waiting lounge and offer you heated neck pillows and let you select music for your treatment. Lillian gave me the best massage.

Ocean and Ocean Pool - The ocean side is beautiful and the beach is sugar white sand with beautiful clear blue ocean water. It was so calm and easy for the girls to swim and snorkel. We reserved a full service cabana ($300 U.S.) for a day and were pampered with a cooler filled with drinks and snacks. The other days we hung by the pool and had great service. The ocean side pool offers free iced coffee and fruit smoothies daily and the food service is fast and efficient. One day our food was delivered so fast the girls had to rush out of the pool to eat.

Overall - This resort is made for families and love children. They will accommodate any request you have. Our room, 555, was on the top floor facing the inland pool and we only had one room on one side and a hallway on the other so it was very quiet.

If you are into nickle and diming your way through a hotel experience, don't go at a 5 star resort like the Ritz Carlton. If you enjoy a sublime experience and don't mind spending the money, than you found the right place.

We will be back!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    287
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
496
787
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

I stayed at the Ritz Grand Cayman March 14 - 19, 2007. Upon check-in, at which I was greeted by name, hit a slight snag, as had requested a room with two beds - but they had us (me and my best friend) in a room with one bed - unacceptable. After two minutes, they offered a jr suite with two beds in the "Reserve" section - hurrah! Our view was not as great as we booked, but you're on the beach or at the pool most of the time, so not a problem. Yes, everything was very expensive ($12 pina coladas, etc.) - but I think the whole island is that way. There is a big grocery store a five-10 minute walk away where we got soda and juices for the room (having brough our own tequila and rum!) so we could make island cocktails in the room. The beach was fantastic - truly 7 miles of beach walking whenever you wanted! The sun sets right in front of you, too - perfect at 6:30 with a rum punch in hand! The service was just outstanding at every level - from the complimentary frozen cappucino around 11 each morning, brough 'round by a server on the beach, followed by grilled pineapple skewers or banana smoothies - a delightful touch. We were disappointed that the weather was a bit off - winds prevented us from taking the boat trip to Stingray Sandbar and from parasailing, but we took a catamaran for a snorkeling trip ($50 a person, I think) - totally worth it -- amazing snorkeling off of Boggy Sand Reef. I would definitely go back. Seemed great for families and kids, too. Decent after-dinner action in the lobby lounge / bar areas, too. Overall - a perfect experience!

  • Liked — Luxurious, large rooms
  • Disliked — Ocean views start to deteriorate in breadth as you get to the edges of the buildings
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

The Ritz Carlton is friendly, full of conveniences and worth the price. I felt completely safe in letting my two teens roam the grounds and the resort has a feeling all it's own. You would never need to leave if you didn't want to.

We enjoyed the fitness area. We worked out everyday and it was never crowded, but has plenty of nice new cardio equip, weights, and lots of water,fruit and fresh towels.

The restaurants are good and we enjoyed the sushi and wine bar. Be prepared to pay 15.00 per glass of wine and 9.00 per beer. A Gatorade in the snack bar is 4.50. Breakfast buffet is good, but 22 pp. Lunch at the pool averages 25.00 pp.

Go to Cassanovas, Lobster Pot and Cocconut Joe's

We rented a jeep and took the top off /Driving on the left is weird!

Go to Rum Point and spend the day. PLenty of shade and lounge chairs, snorkle right off the beach.

THe hotel is on both sides of the road and both sides have pros and cons. It is a short walk to the beach from the other side and not far like people made me think in other reviews.

Be prepared to part with $$$$ if you stay at the Ritz, but the service and the hotel are worth it.

If you have bigger family there are condos right beside the Ritz, The Grand Coral Club and the Soverign, that looked beautiful. They are 800 or so but 3 bd room. They were new and beautiful. That is what we will do next time.

  • Liked — Clean and constant attentiveness by staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

I cant say enough about this resort...Myself and family had a wonderful time here. It just cant get much better to be honest. This resort is beautiful, new, clean, friendly staff, great food, awesome beach, relaxing and gorgeous spa, comfy beds, lots to do!!! My son is two and my husband and I have a pretty limited time to be able to enjoy eating out along with him,,,but with the gracious dining staff they made it much more possible for us to relax while they showed him tons of attention :) Thanks Russel and Nela you guys are awesome! And I had to go all the way to the Caymans to find an awesome massage therapist thanks Renee... We hope to see you over the 2007 holidays.... We will be back..;)

  • Liked — clean and beautiful!
  • Disliked — hmmm cant really say anything bad....
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

I absoulutely loved my stay at the Ritz Carlton. It was fabulous. My husband and I stayed there during out 8th anniversary trip in August. The service was wonderful and Kudos to the concierge. They were really on point. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. They greeted the guest warmly. Our room was fantastic. The turn down service each night was great! Our view of the ocean was breathtaking and waking every morning to this magnificent view was absolutely wondeful. The beach service was great with towels, cabanas, and loungers available. The pool was a bit warm, but otherwise ok. We got great suggestions on where to eat and shop. Went to the local grocery store for breakfast foods to keep in the fridge for some days and other days we dined at the breakfast buffet. I suggest going to the supermarket to get snacks. Ordered room service one night and the food was pretty tasty and warm upon arrival. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were modern and very clean.....a must with myself. Watersports were available at another resort a short walk down the beach. My husband and I went jet skiing and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We rented a car and you do have to pay to park in the garage on a daily basis a bit pricey, but worth the sights we took in as a result of driving around the island. It gets a bit crowded when the boats dock, but you can avoid that. Other than that we enjoyed ourselves!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The cost of parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

Brand new resort in great condition, with beautiful rooms and common spaces. Pool is large and deep. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful.

But, the Garden rooms really don't provide a nice view of anything (ours faced a parking lot and a construction site). Either get an oceanfront room at the Ritz, or get a much nicer garden room at the Westin.

The Sunday brunch is a very fun experience - crowded, but delicious food that's beyond the usual. Even if you don't stay here, worth coming over to enjoy the brunch.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

All in all, my wife and 2 young daughters (4 and 6 yrs) had a great visit to the Ritz. The island is not the most beautiful in the world, but the beaches and people are very nice. There is a lot of construction on the island, recovering from Hurricane Evan. Whilst you aren't exactly going to the Ritz to look for bargains (especially on Grand Cayman where the cost of living seems as high as New York), here's some things that were charged that weren't necessary or much too expensive:

$6 photo copy of NY daily news
$10+ to quickly check email in the business center
$200 for a standard massage (20% mandatory tip included) - very nice spa however.
$15 pool side drinks plus tip (good, but come on)
$25 to rent a mask and snorkel for my 2 daughters for 24 hours. No beach toys (kayaks, etc) were free of charge. They actually sold buckets and pails. Most beach resorts I’ve been to as nice or nicer than the Ritz provide standard beach gear for free.
$20 plus 15% mandatory tip for a dinner buffet for a 4 year old - most places would comp for 3 bites of pizza given you're dropping $500+ per day on meals alone.

Now, on to some really nice things:
Everyone at hotel and concierge (thank you Maria – a complete pro – she even gave our daughters a present when we checked out) was over the top friendly and accommodating. Pool side service was great and I never waited for anything. They always came by asking if we needed anything, delivering free (yes free) virgin smoothies or fruit, etc, and the wait for lunch was short.
AOTE (kids program) staff were exceptional. College educated and very motivated. Not your run of the mill staff you usually get at these places.
Gym (actually free) and top quality facility
Beach - very nice, clean etc.
2 very nice pools but they should have a shallow end for kids that isn't only 4 ft deep.
All restaurants were very good. Periwinkle's movies for the kids every night was a great touch.
Take Captain Marvin's stingray city tour - amazing 3 hour experience
Do visit the turtle farm and buy the full pass so you swim in the lagoon and see the predator tank.
Breakfast at EATS (5 minute walk) was refreshing, great food, and cheap.
Dinner at calypso grill (15 min cab ride) is a must. Dinner at the wharf was OK but too many cruise ships send everyone there.
The resort is well maintained and never felt crowded.
I’d stay on the beach side of the resort as it was nice to be able to go back to the room quickly if you forgot something. However, the pool on the lagoon side was nicer and quieter.
A direct flight from New York was a plus but leaving the Grand Cayman airport is a disaster – they really need a bigger airport.

Personally, I prefer smaller, quieter islands, but I don’t think you will be disappointed here.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — The hotel charged for every little thing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road | PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.