We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, a tad pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, a tad pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ritz for one week as part of a birthday trip to Grand Cayman. The primary purpose of my trip was to relax on the beach (check!) and go diving (double check!). As a whole, we enjoyed the service, property and amenities at this hotel, with the only downside being, as you might expect, the price.

Pre-arrival and check-in: Before our stay, the concierge emailed us and helped us make reservations for all of our eating options. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted promptly. We had a resort room view, which meant that we entered the lobby across the street from the ocean side part of the hotel. After being given a brief tour we were escorted to our room by one of the desk agents.

Room location: Our room was on the highest floor (floor 5) of the resort side, facing the quiet pool/Periwinkle restaurant. This location worked out quite well for us for a few reasons: 1) the resort room views are cheaper; 2) the adult pool was almost silent all day long; 3) the hotel must have been at partial capacity because we were never once disturbed by anyone in a neighboring room...and I'm a very light sleeper; 4) the rental car office was on this floor. Some folks on here have mentioned that it is a pain to walk from the resort side to the beach side of the hotel, but we didn't have a problem--I found it to be a refreshing walk in an enclosed, air-conditioned hallway adorned with lovely artwork, and never took us more than 5 minutes to cross.

Room: The room itself was nice, albeit quite a bit smaller than some similar-class hotels (Four Seasons and Hyatt) we've stayed at. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was nice and large with watercloset, standing shower, bathtub and his/her sinks, and toiletries including bathrobes, toothbrushes & combs. There was an outside patio that was very clean, but we didn't go out there much since the view was fairly plain. Generic bottled water was free and replenished daily and the housekeeping services were prompt and tidy. Don't eat out of the minibar however, outrageous prices! The same goes for the room service menu...

Beach/Pools: We enjoyed both the beach and the quiet pool during our stay. The beach is immaculate. Again, the hotel must have been under capacity because I never had a problem finding an oceanfront beach chair, whether I went to the beach at 8AM or 12PM. We stuck to the chaise lounges; the cabanas cost $200+ a day (disappointing compared to the free cabanas at the Four Seasons!). I also used some of the free snorkeling equipment to explore a reef off the beach, and saw a few stingrays in the deeper water. The quiet pool was never crowded and the temperature was nice and warm. All of the pool/beach staff were greatly attentive, especially Dennis. The only downside is the beachside food service, which had so-so food at extremely high prices.

Fitness center/Spa: The fitness center had a lot of new equipment and didn't seem to be crowded. The spa was incredibly expensive (I went for a pedicure) but man, it seems to be worth it--they have tons of free snacks in the waiting area, neck warmers, and that was probably the best pedicure I've ever had.

Food: Which brings me to my last part, the food options at the Ritz. With the exception of Eric Ripert's Blue (an amazing experience, but just know that it will cost you), we found all the other food options at the Ritz to be overpriced and bland. Instead, see if you can munch on some of the freebies: in the morning they have free coffee/tea until 10AM and apples in the main lobby; in the afternoon they have homemade cookies and orange juice/rum drinks, with a bowl of candy. And instead eat at any of the nearby restaurants. For example, we had breakfast at Eats cafe (5 min walk up the road) every day for less than $25 USD for 2 people.

Other costs: Just be aware that you can easily tack on an additional $150 per night due to the resort fee and taxes.

That all said, we really did enjoy our time at this hotel--the beach was spectacular--and even came in under budget thanks to some advance planning.

Room Tip: Choose a resort view; you won't spend much time in the room and you'll save $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    257
    89
    32
    13
See reviews for
442
694
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable discovery should be no surprise to those who have discovered Ritz Carlton. From check in, housekeeping, amenities and restaurants this is the only place to stay if you truly appreciate great hotels and resorts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a Ritz that looks, feels and behaves like a Ritz. We returned for our anniversary this week having loved it three years ago when we last visited. Other Ritz Carltons should take note...act like a Ritz and differentiate yourselves from a JW or regular Marriott. The staff at this property understand service and make you feel special. Thank you Ladies and Gentlemen of Grand Cayman!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay additional for "resort view" over "garden view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a local, I decided to take on being a 'tourist' for a long weekend a while back. The hotel was beyond what I was expecting. The staff were friendly and were good with remembering names. The welcome reception was very homely and the location on Seven Mile Beach is obviously just a huge compliment to the resort. It had a mixed tropical and elegant ambiance.

On Saturday, I went on the Outrage Eco-Tour with a couple of friends out to Stingray City, Rum Point, Starfish Point and Kaibo. I must say it was great to kick back and relax - going out on the water is the best way to forget about the fast life for a little while. Tubing, snorkelling, fishing and two six-packs of Caybrew. Captain JM Stafford is a local sailor (who also operates a larger boat for private tours) and provides decent rates for a true boating experience, and the best part is he lets you choose where you want to go and he takes you around at your request. I would recommend his charter boat tours to anyone who visits, or is even a local. I can't remember this phone number but his e-mail I made a reservation through is jmvbs@candw.ky

Hope this review is useful to all visitors and locals alike!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had no expectations about the Ritz Carlton. We travelled from Sydney Australia via LA, Miami and then finally Grand Cayman. We received a lovely and honest welcome reception including a refreshing tropical punch drink. From this our hostess was lovely showing us to our room and on the way telling us where everything was and what we could do. The beach was clean and gorgeous. The guest staff were helpful and unobtrusive. The cocktail at the beach bar was one of the best I have ever had and believe me my husband and I rate hotels on their ability to make a decent mohito and piña colada. We will definitely be back if we can ever rustle up the dollars - for this trip I was there also for my company's best performers award event. I rate the Ritz Carlton as The Best! The only issue I would state was that my husband and I had a standard twin room and the beds were not quite big enough for us to sleep together comfortably but everything else including the fantastic authentic Cayman music bands, DJs, restaurants and bars were truly outstanding. I would also highly recommend the Couple massage at the Silver Rain Spa. my husband and I rated it the best one we have had together yet. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I thought Ritz-Carlton is suppose to be a high-end hotel but to my surprise it turned out to be worst than Comfort Inn & Holiday Inn! In the room, there was no Refrigerator or microwave -basic needs which you do find at Comfort Inn. The shower area was so small that the shower was about a feet away from my head and water fell on my hair rather than on my body. My hands kept hitting the wall as there was no room to go in front or side! oh wait no EXhaust fan in the shower room so soon the shower room became a sauna bath with steam all over and I had to keep door open or else felt suffocated! The room service personnel replenished some stuff too much and yet some none at all! The glasses (drinking water) were not crystal clear from inside after our use-not sure if they cleaned it with soap &n water or just wiped it with towel (ewww)! the room service personnel came twice (in morning + evening) which bugged us alot and sometimes our rooms were undone until 3:30 PM (for the morning part)! The PeriWinkle Restaurant sucked equally! The pasta were way undercooked and we did not like them at all. we left almost 80-85% of it as is in the plate and yet we were charged ridiculously high price $70 for dinner of two! The Bar jack is ncie and the breakfast buffet at Seven restaurant were good. The breakfast buffet for 2 at Seven cost us $80 ! I literally bought milk, juice, yogurt, chips, bread and butter, foam plates, butter knives, fork & spoons from a grocery store and managed it to store in their mini bar refrigerator as there was no other refrigerator provided in the room. The Spa is overpriced as well with starting price from $175 and for most services $200-$300 and higher up $500-700. MAke sure if you plan to be there, get the COMPLIMENTARY COFFEE/TEA they offer in the morning & I guess in afternoon near Silver Palm restaurant near the lobby area. At the pool side, they do offer water, ice-cream bars adn towels for free, at the beach side they have fruit-water jar for free. The Pinacolada of Bar Jack restaurant is the best. At the check out we had asked them to hold our luggage and most likely some employee might have ruined our bags and clothes by spraying suncreen spray all over! I think they might have done this as I had left bad reviews about their hotel! Hell NO, I will NOT Recommend this Hotel to anyone! We ate outside the hotel at Southern Spice (Indian Restaurant), one Italian restaurant, one Thai Restaurant and one Mexican Restaurant. Except for the mexican one, rest all were great.

Room Tip: We were given a room by the garden side all the way at the end so when I opened my balcony door, I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Was lucky enough to stay at the Ritz Carlton as part of a business celebration with a friend. It's a big hotel - but there were always staff on hand to direct - if you lost your bearings. Our room was big - with two very comfortable double beds - a sizeable bathroom had two sinks, and the balcony overlooking the pool was perfect. And the location on the beach couldn't be any better. The staff who cover the sunbeds with towels and look after you there, and at the pool, are chatty and friendly and really all we had to do was sit back and enjoy it all. The food was consistently good - mainly buffet - but not sure how representative this is for regular guests as ours was a big corporate event. For businesses - the hotel has many different areas where you can host drinks parties, the facility for marquees in the grounds. And they did a huge evening gala dinner - all on the beach complete with tables and chairs and lanterns in the sea - with apparent ease. It was all cleared away by the morning after. Very impressive staff, very well run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Address: PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.