We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Save Saved
You added Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is not the usual type of hotel we select to stay at in the Caribbean. We tend to stay at small luxury hotels/resorts that are intimate and quiet, but on Grand Cayman this is the place to stay. There is a reason this hotel is 5-stars. Everything about it is top notch! The location is perfect...right on one of the best sections of Seven Mile Beach. The restaurants are excellent, and the food and drink selection is varied. Service is without a doubt the very best! The rooms are comfortable and clean. We stayed in the beach tower in room 627 and we had an excellent view of the pool area and the beach. There is something for everyone here, but be aware that staying here does not come cheap. Be willing to pay a small fortune for food and drinks. But remember, you are at the Ritz!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,105
    249
    88
    30
    12
See reviews for
419
674
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is definitely top 5 best places i have ever stayed. The hotel grounds are spectacular and the very short walk to the beach is an added bonus. The beach is probably the best I have ever been to. I love how they had the lawn chairs right on the sand and the service was excellent on the beach. The water was so clear and warm plus they had a big section of it roped off with water chairs and toys which I thought was very clever. I highly recommend this place and would go back in a heart beat.

The spa was also very clean and the staff was extremely friendly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited over Memorial Day to escape the crazy Miami crowds. We have frequented this property before and actually have used this property to judge all other Ritz Carltons by (and of course, they have never lived up to it :)). But this trip - was a bit off. I am going to hope that this was an off week for the resort, but after our experience this past week, we may be looking elsewhere.

Property
The RCGC is wonderfully located along a stunning piece of our most favorite place on the planet - Seven Mile Beach. The water is stunning, the temps are perfect and the view is to die for. I have always said, if God had a vacation home, it would be on Seven Mile Beach.

The Hotel is large - rather sprawling would be a more descriptive term - it is not very high - as it encompasses both sides of a well traveled road. We have stayed on both sides of the property (Resort and Beach) and there are positives and negatives for both. Our time on the beach side was noisy (noise from events, Seven, pool) and the time on the resort side was dissapointing (lots of noise from Periwinkle, extremely echoey from the surrounding buildings). Regardless of what side you pick, you will have to walk somewhere at sometime - if you never plan to leave the beach, then stay on the beach side, if you never plan to be coming and going a lot, stay on the resort side. For the view, hands down its the beach side. Also, better breeze/fresh air on the beach side. There is a lot of walking back and forth for different things (Seven is on the beach side, Periwinkle is on the resort side, the spa is on the resort side, but Barjack is on the beach side, both sundry shops are on the beach side by the pool...). We spent more time walking back and forth - and woe to the person who forgets something in their room - lol - rather than walk all the way back to the room, i just went into Waves and bought more suntan lotion.

The grounds are kept wonderfully and overall the property has a nice feel to it - british island feel. Many items up close will show that they are dated, and honestly after 10pm there really is nothing to do and very little choice of what they are offering (you can watch a game AND listen to horrific dance music AND an electric guitarist all in the Silver Palm lounge - all at the same time. I had a headache after 30 minutes of this - and no food is served. So much for a late arrival ;)

The property will offer to send the RC Car for you - this is $90 each way. A taxi is less than $30. its one long road... if it was $50 i would say yes, $90 is far too much (this isnt the bronx, taxis are clean, personable and quick)

As this was not our first time, overall i give the property a B-; they need to start refreshing some items or they are going to continue sliding down the ratings scale.

Checkin/Lobby
The lobby is nice and friendly. This is only the second RC we have stayed at where we were not met by someone who asked us our information (or like Cancun KNEW it already) - we were left to wait by the front desk. Once the young lady was off the phone (not complaining, she was working and was all alone while her coworker was nowhere to be found) she realized we were club level and rewards Elite members and called the club to have someone come down and check us in. We were offered one rum punch (im sorry, did you not see there were two of us?) and the woman never came back with another drink. The lobby is clean and fairly well organized (ATM dispenses Cayman and USD but it is hidden behind an alcove at the front desk). Concierge never even made eye contact with us. Our bags were scooped up and we saw them about 10 minutes after we got to our room (not sure why they were not IN our room considering we were taken on a not-needed tour of the hotel prior to arriving in our room).

BE WARNED. You will be charged a hotel tax, a $41 service charge (tips for bellman, housekeeping, etc) AND a $50 resort fee (wifi, watersports, spa ammenities, free "condensed" copied newspaper int he AM) - so if you are in club level you will be charged for club level ammenities (outside of what the resort fee covers its the food/booze offered - that is it). Our room was $449 per night, and we paid over $150 in fees per night.

Checkin - B

Club Level & Club Level Rooms
We always stay at club level, and as a whole over the past few years, we have noticed a significant drop in club level service/offerings at most properties...such as why am i paying for club level AND being charged a resort fee that include the same things? That said, we were overwhelmingly underwhelmed with the club level. The person who finally checked us in asked if we were returning guests (this is a no-no; you already know we are) and asked if we wanted a tour. We kindly said no, just the room - we were taken on a tour anyway. We were shown the club (similar to most club level lounges, but tucked in a corner on the 3rd floor near the elevators - awkward access for most people). The club prior to our arrival had arranged for all of our itinerary items we asked for (Thank you) but we were not provided with any confirmation or notes (as we normally are and have been at this property even when NOT staying at club level).

The club was, well, disappointing on all levels. Most of the times we went in, there was not even a rep on hand; the food we tried (friday evening, saturday morning and sunday afternoon) was OK - nothing i would have been happy about paying for in a restaurant and the offerings were sparse. Considering we pay an upcharge for club level AND the resort fee AND the service fee - i expected, no demanded, more.

Club Level rooms are disappointing - first floor, view of trees and periwinkle restaurant peeps staring right into our room at all times. We even had peeps at the pool waving to us on our balcony. The rooms are the same exact rooms that are NOT club level. Club level is supposed to be superior rooms to standard, not less than standard.

The bed was lumpy, the pillows threadbare and the overall feel of the room was just meh.

Based on our last few experiences overall with club level - we will NOT be utilizing that feature anymore as we would have had a much better room without it.

Club Level Rooms & Amenities - C

Wifi
I know, odd category right? BUT considering the exorbitant amount you are paying for the resort fee (and lets face it, most of us pay that for the wifi) you expect it to work, and work well. This wifi works well int he middle of the night or very early in the morning. I am assuming this is because they allow all guests to stream, etc so as soon as a few peeps are up, bang - no interwebz - i was so frustrated - i felt like I was on a cruise ship - one email an hour if that. Spotty coverage and unreliable. When i asked numerous employees about this, they said its always that way.

Wifi - D

Cabanas
We rented a luxury daybed on Saturday as the oasis ones were fully booked (and thank goodness we didnt get it = all of the oasis ones were filled with large families with children). After 1.5 hours and two trips to barjack for food and drinks, I asked another server if we would be able to actually have a server come to the $300 per day cabana so i would have to stop going back and forth to Barjack on my own - they sent someone who was nice, but the service was very slow and I assume this was Barjack, not the server.

The Luxury Daybed "roof" really does NOT provide any shade as it is not an opaque covering - it also does not cover the whole bed for the day so everyone who stayed in one walked away with burt feet and ankles or spent the better part of the day with their legs covered in towels - they need to change the covering. Also, our cover was broken as well. No cooling towels, no refreshments just a jug of water that was never refreshed the entire time we were there (6 hours) and some melted candy (left out in the sun - duh) and overly warm bags of semi-stale chips. Fruitplate was a nice treat.

NOTE - if it is windy - DO NOT rent the daybed - you will spend all day rebuying drinks that fall over, chasing hats and towels, and worst of all eating sand.

Not happy with the overall service BUT the location is excellent right on the waters edge (no chairs in front of you except your own). The beach and the pool were very crowded but that is expected.

The beach pool was always too packed to get a seat; the resort side pool is always empty - and SUPER quiet compared to the beach one. the service is NON existent so plan on finding your own food and drinks at the resort pool.

There are a few manual floats, but most people get there early and tuck them under their chairs like they are their own personal floaties - not cool. The water sports area is a bit down the beach, but its part of your $50 so use the paddle boards, hobie cats (sailing lessons are NOT included and they are mandatory unless you know what you are doing, and they are $50 per half hour); the jet skis, etc are part of a company in Waves boutique - the jet skis are $70 per half hour.

Pool/Beach service B

Overall Rating - B-
I found this trip to be disappointing compared with last stays, however, most of our stays at RCs over the past year have felt that way - service being a little less attentive, places more run down, less bang for your buck - there is a lot of competition out there now in the way of luxury boutiques and hotels. When I am dropping at least $1000 a day on property for food, drink, room and other items, i expect that level of service. I would of course visit again, but if the next time is anything like this one - it will be our last.

We ate at Barjack, Blue, Silver Palm on property and will review those separately.

Room Tip: Club level rooms are no different than standard rooms - use the extra $$ to stay beachfront. Lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND RAPIDS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We travel to the Caymans almost yearly and have stayed here a few times. The hotel is amazing. Rated one of the best in the world, I believe. Staff is out of this world. Hotel is impeccable, pools are to die for, food is amazing. You MUST try a pina colada poolside. They are ridiculously expensive but sooo worth it. We look forward to ordering one every time we visit and joke that it takes half a paycheck to pay for one, lol. Actually, they are about 20.00.....Best I have ever had. I could go on and on. Love this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. The walk is very long if they put you in the building across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman. The hotel is beautiful and we had a great time. Service was impeccable. Bar Jack on the beach is great for lunch and ordering drinks and snacks while on the beach or at the pool. I had delicious steak and some great bourbon at Seven. The resort has lots of amenities and is in a great location. Can't wait to visit the Ritz Carlton again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic time staying and hosting our wedding at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman. It was our first time staying at a Ritz Carlton property, however we have stayed at a number of high caliber properites in the past. This hotel is near or at the top of our list. We really enjoyed how much attention to detail and sincerity the staff displayed. Every request was met with a 'yes sir' or 'yes ma'am' and never questioned. The staff also did a great job dealing with the 'do you know who I am?' crowd as well.

As mentioned above, we also hosted our wedding on the beach on property. Elena, our wedding planner, did an excellent job by handling all of the details and pulling the wedding together. The ceremony was beautiful, as was the dinner in a beach cabana after.

As for the hotel itself, as others mentioned is quite large. We stayed on the ocean side and were upgraded to a junior suite with a partial ocean view. It was located on the first floor and only steps away from the pool and beach. The room was good size and well appointed, however a refresh of some of the furnishings may be necessary in the near future. However, everything was of high quality. I would reccomend visiting the spa, regardless if you get a treatment as there is a sauna, whirl pool, steam room, and a great work out facility.

The beach itself is very nice. However, I would agree with some of the other reviewers that there are quite a few floating tables, etc in the water, which is nice, but on a crowded day can be a bit much. Also, many of the lounge chairs have cabanas that provide shade. We did not have an issue requesting those chairs, but the resort was not fully booked when we were there (week of May 20th), so I could see that being a potential issue in the busier months.

Food at the resort was above average. We had the breakfast buffet that came included in our rate and my wife and I were both more than satisfied with the offering, both in quality and quanitity. Our cabana dinner for our wedding featured food from the 'Seven' restaurant. Everyone left satisfied and the prices were in line with other restaurants on the island.

Yes, the Ritz Carlton is very expensive, however we left happy and felt we had received the best possible service. Most of the staff remembered our name, the GM introduced himself as he knew we were getting married, and the staff went above and beyond by providing some suprises for us, as they knew we were getting married.

The only negative thing i have to say about the resort is that the restaurant at the Beach/Pool, Bar Jack, had rather slow and disorganized service. I'm not sure if they were short staffed, but it seemed like the staff had some trouble each time we ate there for lunch. This is opposed to an other aspect of the hotel where service appeared efforless and seamless.

As for Grand Cayman as a whole, it s a great place to visit for hanging out on the beach and relaxing. There aren't a whole lot of activities to do unless you are into scuba diving, etc. However, we knew that going into it and just wanted a relaxing vacation.

Restaurants to consider ouside of the resort:
The Brassarie
Blue Cilantro
The Wharf (mainly for the ambiance, not so much the food)
Michael's Genuine

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor on the ocean side, you will have direct beach access and a nice view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service is a level I have never seen and I am a Platinum member for Marriott! The service goes above and beyond indoors and outdoors, and the food is outstanding and great facilities. The rooms do need a little refresh but still nice. Yes things cost a little more but worth it for service and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Address: PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Caribbean resort located on exclusive Seven Mile Beach on Grand Cayman, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman is a short 70-minute flight from Miami. The resort will include 365 guestrooms and 69 of our Residences at The Ritz-Carlton. The resort will also include golf, tennis, La Prairie Spa and seven restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.