We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay Road | PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Shelf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Ritz Carlton, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman, is amazing. The staff was wonderful. From the first greeting upon arrival (rum punch in hand) to check out, everything was excellent. The hotel itself is very beautiful and expertly maintained. The view from our room looked like a postcard photo. The most important thing about any hotel is its employees. The Ritz does not disappoint. The personal touches were great. When we walked into the golf shop late one afternoon, the golf manager asked my 11 year old son if he had seen the iguana's? When my son replied he did not, the golf manager loaded us all into a extended golf cart and took us out onto the golf course so that my son could see some iguana's. We ate dinner at the Periwinkle restaurant in the Ritz Carlton. Our waiter told us that we should come back one day at 5:30 PM to see the tarpon feeding on the dock. When we returned the next evening at 5:30, there did not appear to be any tarpon feeding going on. When the same waiter saw us on the dock, he took it upon himself to get the bucket of tarpon food (fish parts) along with some rubber gloves and came over to feed the tarpon with my son's help. The staff on the beach were equally as accommodating as those inside of the hotel. All in all it was a great visit at a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The view from the ocean side is worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman is a large resort catering to conferences, weddings, large groups etc. It is not the place to go if you're looking for a quiet, intimate beach vacation. Overall, we had a good stay however the impact the the large crowds had on service, left me feeling this hotel is not equipped to function at the Ritz level when nearing capacity. We did a lot of waiting around during our stay....wait in line at check-in....wait 20 min to be seated at breakfast....wait another 30 minutes in the the omelette line (they have 1 guy making omelettes for 100s of people at breakfast)...wait for treadmill at gym...wait for shower in the spa (they only have 3).

Beach: Beach is gorgeous, really beautiful, warm waters. However be prepared for the large crowds again. You have to get there early (before 10 am) to get a lounge chair in the front row . Otherwise your day at the beach is spent looking at the back of up to 5/6 rows of canopies and not the ocean. We spent 4+ hours on the beach every day and during that time typically once someone would stop by to ask about food/refreshments. Getting the attention of staff is quite difficult again as they are incredibly busy managing the large crowds.

Breakfast buffet: This was the biggest disappointment especially at >$40 per person. As I previously mentioned, there was never a good time to show up. We tried to vary our times during the breakfast window to see if we could avoid the long lines but no such luck. Selection is very mediocre. Service at breakfast needs serious improvement. If you want eggs, expect to wait at least 45 minutes before you sit down to eat. All this time waiting in lines, I noticed that dishes would take a very long time to replenish. I felt really sorry for the guy making the omelettes getting stressed as the lines kept getting longer. He was constantly running out of ingredients. At one point, he had to leave the station and go in the back to get refills. Why is no one helping this guy? Dishes would literally sit empty every day until a guest brought this to someone's attention. The last few days we ate breakfast at Periwinkle where the lines were at least shorter than Blue.

Bar Jack/Beach bar: Menu consistent of typical beach/pool side items (burgers, sandwiches, tacos, salad). Food was quite good - however again expect to wait a loooooooong time to get it.

Rooms: We had a garden view room. It was fine..large, clean...a little dated. Unless you have an ocean-side room, expect to walk about 10-15 minutes to get to the beach.

Internet: The $45 daily resort fee includes internet for multiple devices. It worked great even on the beach.

Gym: Gym is fully-equipped with a variety of equipment but quite busy every day. Couple of treadmills were out of service, others with touch-screens not calibrated properly, leaving again a wait for the functioning ones.

Service: Service was good and professional. Everyone was very polite. Beach side setup service was always prompt. Concierge was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us every day. Overall, I would say service is no where close to the levels I've experienced at Four Seasons and other luxury resorts. It's good but impersonal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Runningshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are here on our honeymoon at it is amazing. It is a that you would expect from the Ritz and more. Great service, amazing pools, backyard access to the 7 mile beach, great restaurants, and one of the most amazing (if not the best) spa I've been to. This was the absolute best place to spend our honeymoon! If I had to complain about something it would be the costs of things here. Obviously, resort living is expensive and given that its the Ritz you have to assume that nothing will be cheap, so I think it comes with the territory. All in all, I'd recommend this place, and we will be coming back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Genuinely worth it. Service never stops from arrival to departure. From the desk to the beach, the guest is treated respectfully, given every attention. The hotel has everything you need, great food, sundries, shops, fun, films and more. You may not even want to leave the property. Pristine beaches, and crystal waters. Arrive, relax, enjoy and refresh. Thats what its all about at The Ritz, a true "getaway from it all" destination.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed and quite comfortably located with a range of good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hungry_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went in April 2011 as part of a company reward and spent 7 days at the resort and loved every minute of the trip.

I highly recommend getting out and seeing the island and we rented a Jeep for just 1 days and saw all of the island. Points for some great beaches, shopping and photos are; The Caymen shoe tree (even has it's own Facebook page), Rum Point (the beach is amazing with a couple of small bars serving seafood), Cracked Conch Restaurant (amazing food and views) and George Town (to see the cruise ships if nothing else).

We travelled from the UK and the only pain is that we stopped over in Miami and got stuck due to flight cancellations. So be aware that there are only a couple of flights a day to Grand Caymen with AA and Caymen Airways.

We spent a week driving the Florida Keys after this trip and loved every minute of that as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulO4442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for a conference and really learned alot about what makes this hotel so great. Everyone that served us couldn't have been more helpful. The saying or mission statement was "It was my pleasure to serve you". It didn't feel like this was something that the staff was forced to say...more like it WAS their pleasure to serve us. I was extremely satisfied with the facilities for the conference. The pool service and pool butlers couldn't have been more helpful. When I got home to my pool, I wanted someone to come and make up my chair and make me a pillow just like at the Ritz!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drwicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman gave attention to every detail and then some. The welcome Rum punch set the tone for a relaxing stay. Fab beach with attendants sprinting to and from the bar with the best of service. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyaCiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Reso...
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Address: West Bay Road | PO Box 32348, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury resort where sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing