We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Apartments and Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour View Apartments and Studios
Save
You added Harbour View Apartments and Studios to your Saves list
P.O. Box 176 GT, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of a kind trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

First time to grand cayman, 18th time to the carribean.

Not sure what took so long!

Beach:there isnt one but the dock is great and the chilling areas are nice.
Keep in mind you are near everything..great restaurants. .smb..edens rock..smith cove. Etc


Snorkeling was good aboutt 50 yards out, most days clarity was a poor due to bad weather last week. But by the end of the week it was great!
Dont be afraid of the tarpon. But some are pushing 100 lbs.

Rooms: small but have everythijg u need. Charcoal bbq available.
Shower was old and bad pressure. Bed was comfy!

Staff: very nice people. .made me feel at home.

The place needs some better security as I noticed random locals snooping around at all times ot the day and night.
Say hi to bam bam.

Location: on a very busy stretch of road but didnt bother us.

Def recoomend a car rental to tour the island. So much to offer.

Restaurants are generally very good busy and $$$$$. Most $$ place in the carribean! !


Overall I would go back to the island and maybe even harbour view but I also loved the condos for rent on smb..wow

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Polk, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Harbour View Apartments March 18th-25th, in a one bedroom unit. This complex is smaller - 12 units of various size to fit your specific needs on vacation. For us the following reasons made Harbour View the perfect choice. On the water with a small dock/ladder into the ocean. Lots of marine life, coral in front of the complex. Great view of the cruise ships coming into port. The one bedroom unit had everything we needed to be comfortable - large balcony, air con'd, TV, King size bed and an adequately equipped kitchen. On the busline, short walk to town, great grocery store very close by, Kirks to stock your food needs, daily housekeeping except Sunday. The owners, Dudley and Rose live on the premises - are extremely nice, helpful and attentive to your needs. In all, a wonderful vacation, affordable and we are planning on returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

So glad I found Harbour View! Hope there are rooms available there if I return to Grand Cayman. The hotel also attracts a great group of guests, many returning year after year. And, Bunny Wailer! Just for a night, unfortunately.

I was there for 9 nights - could have easily spent a month.

The rooms are exactly as pictured - comfortable and well equipped. I never needed the AC - there was enough of a breeze and the ceiling fan worked well. I never really cooked other than making coffee and cutting a mango - and the kitchen was stocked for my purposes.

One of the best snorkeling spots I found on the island is about 20 feet from the dock. Plus, I spotted some great marine-life next to the dock, for those who don't want to swim out toward the buoys and reef. 5 cuttlefish, a sea turtle, the huge chub under the dock that Dudley, the owner, feeds. You can walk to a wreck to snorkel - and Cheeseburger Reef is a quick walk (or a longish swim, but there is some boat traffic - and fishing near the iron shore).

No need for a car. I could walk into town in about 10 minutes. Rackhams and the new restaurant - Da Fish Shack - were even closer. The great Captain's Bakery for Jamaican food is almost next door (great curried goat and carrot juice!) on the other side of the Wharf (never made it there). Kirks huge grocery store across the street - and another local Jerk Center (sorry forgot the name!) on the street that runs behind Kirks. If you shop wisely at Kirks, you can economize - plus the salad bar, bbq and Jamaican patties are decent. The bus up 7 Mile Beach can be hailed from under the tree in front of Harbour View.

Unlike the scene I witnessed on 7 Mile Beach, there was plenty of space between beach chairs where one could read a book in peace and quiet. You wouldn't have to get up early and reserve a chair. A little more shade would be great, but we managed to find it next to the roofed seated area.

Millicent and Christine, the housekeepers, were wonderful and helpful. The owners, Dudley and Rose do everything they can to please their guests. Dudley even brought me to the airport - and to the Soto Cruises dock for a trip to Stingray City.

I highly recommend Harbour View highly to anyone who doesn't need a fancy resort.

Room Tip: Room 10 if you're traveling alone - or a happy couple. Great view and private deck (no shade tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been going to Grand Cayman for over 18 years now. I hesitate to share all of this information because I’d like to keep it a secret so that I don’t have trouble booking in the future. But after much thought, something this good needs to be shared! We just returned from our 24th stay at Harbour View. It is the best kept secret on the island! To begin with the owners Rose & Dudley are very accommodating and treat all of their guests like family. They are an incredible couple who possess that old world Caymanian charm that you just won’t find anywhere else on the island! They are both very personable and welcoming to all who visit their little piece of heaven on earth. Rose is a very talented business woman with many gifts. She is a creative floral designer and people come from all over the island as she helps them to celebrate all of life’s occasions. Dudley was a sailor for many years and has traveled all over the world. He is a delightful and very interesting man to listen to. He can engage in a conversation with just about anyone who comes to visit from nearby and faraway places. Because most of the time he has been there! They offer something different that money can’t buy. They take the time to share the kind of hospitality and old world Caymanian charm that doesn’t exist in our fast pace world. All of this including the fact that Harbour View offers the cleanest, lowest price, private sandy beach, incredible sunsets, amenities such as free Wi-Fi, all the TV channels you could possibly want with a location that’s close to everything! Why would you consider staying anywhere else?

Room Tip: All studio's & apartment's are exceptional and are on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent 11 days at Harbour View and all was perfect. We stayed in a full apartment($165 per night)
and it was wonderful. Dudley and Rose were accommodating as usual and the other visitors were a joy to converse with.
Our apartment #4 was on the second floor with a full kitchen, living room and bedroom with a king size mattress.(the mattress in #4 is a little soft for my liking but we survived.
Weber grills are available and with fresh fish at the nearby dock, Kirk's Supermarket across the street we grilled almost every night.
No pool though and mostly iron shore near the water. A nice pier extends into the water for those that like to snorkel.
Although not fancy, the rooms are clean, the water is hot for showers and you can walk to downtown and to many restaurants.
We've already booked 12 nights for next year.

Room Tip: We liked 4. #10 is the nicest of the "rooms" because it has it's own deck. Good for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Last minute trip planning. Booked flight then looked at accommodations and was a bit disheartened to see resort after resort after resort. This place was a gem! Clean, relaxing, friendly people and small enough that you can have a nice rapport with the other guests. The kitchen had what I needed, grocery store close by, and easy to catch the mini buses which greatly cuts down on costs. Always good to end the day with a nice little snorkel and sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved it! We spent a week in an Ocean View Apartment with a private balcony. It was SO spacious with full kitchen (microwave, blender, coffee maker), and there's a barbeque on the beach. With Kirk's across the street, having the kitchen really cut down on food costs.

The King Bed was more comfortable than my bed back home! The bathroom is off of the bedroom, so if you wanted to have a third-fourth guest on the fold-out couch, you should be aware that they would have to walk through the bedroom to go the bathroom.

There is a sandy beach with beach chairs/picnic tables (no umbrellas) that leads to a rocky shore. There is a dock with a ladder to get into the water. Snorkeling behind the property is good. We even saw an Octopus snorkeling at night with a dive light!

The cruise ships park right outside of the hotel. We really enjoyed watching them come and go each day. And the property faces west, so everyone would gather every night to watch the sunset (waiting for the green flash!).

Bus is easy to catch (right in front), and downtown is an easy walk. Route 1 or 2 takes you up SMB and then goes all the way up to Turtle Farm and/or Hell. It's $2.50 American per ride.

Our favorite restaurant nearby was Myrtle's (turn left and walk 1/2 mile) which has local food, American food, and a bar. There's also Papa John's, Thai, and an Irish Pub near Myrtle's. Across the street is an Indian Restaurant and KFC.

Only thing that might bother some people is that the property is next to a cemetery. Rose and Dudley (who live on site) said only once did a guest had an issue with the cemetery, and that most of their guests are calm, quiet people. There was no partying when we stayed, except for a couple nights of fireworks off of the beach.

Also, you should bring your own beach towels.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have an ocean view with a door that opens to the beach, but the "Ocean Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartments and Studios

Address: P.O. Box 176 GT, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartments And Studios Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Harbour View Apartments And Studios Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Apartments and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.