We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Renaissance

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Renaissance
1883 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Luxury in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Every aspect of our 7 night stay was fantastic. Front desk would out the Ritz to shame. Excellent beach facilities and spotless rooms. What's not to like. We have been going to the Caymans since 1969 and the Renaissance is head and shoulders better than the alternatives.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance was just what we needed! We stayed in villa 11 and had a perfect view of the beach and pool through the tops of the palms from our screened porch, out the living room windows and even a view from the kitchen area.. We spent most evenings eating on the porch but rented a car and drove to Calypso Grill, Ristorante Pappagallo, Rum Point, and Cracked Conch. Everything was clean and nice there. Our kids especailly enjoyed the big tub in the master suite. We really love having a washer/dryer and a full kitchen. The beach is long and pretty although there is some coral that washes up in certain spots around Tiki Hut which is just a short walk from the condo. Kim and Wendy were so helpful and made our trip very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just booked are 3rd trip to Grand Cayman and to the Renaissance -we would only stay here
We have been to the Weston and Ritz - they do not compare
It is small- personable and right on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world
I am a rental manager in Destin , FL- I am picky - when I go some where they have alot to live up to- I live at the beach every day of my life - it takes a lot to impress me
Hands down this is the place - The staff is wonderful and take care of you completely
The Villas are wonderfully cleaned and the maid service daily is awsome
This is the Gem -you have been looking for !!!

Room Tip: They are all good - you will find your favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a private condo building. Our "villa" (really just a flat) had generous bedrooms, a great kitchen and large living room, along with a huge, screened-in balcony overlooking the beach. Even though we were there during Spring Break, we never saw anything like a crowd at this end of the beach. Frankly, it felt quite private and luxurious. The buliding is quite new and everything works well. Finally, the staff is outstanding. We felt extremely well taken-care of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Near new, immaculately clean property situated on the best section of 7 Mile Beach. Close enough to all services, shopping and sightseeing but separated enough to be free from the mass of cruise participants that overwhelm Georgetown. You are also separated from the crush of the convention visitors found at the main "hotel" properties closer to town. If calm and peaceful sound good to you, Renaissance provides a bounty of each. After 24 years of enjoying Cayman with family and friends groups, Wendy and Kim still make the island home feel fresh and new with up to date suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: We have stayed on all but the lowest level and the views are spectacular from each room. Under unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We simply had a wonderful vacation . . . one that not a single person in our party wanted to see come to an end! From the very beginning, Kimberley and Wendy's hospitality and overall attention were very impressive and continued throughout our week's stay. They even welcomed our little boy with beach toys to use and recommnended the must-see's and do's on the island! The property itself is immaculately maintained and staffed by the most courteous and welcoming people. Miss Vivian ensured our villa was in tip-top shape and shared her happy spirit dailly. Even the landscapers cracked open a cocunut for us to enjoy its milk on our way to the pool. The other guests and owners alike were extremely friendly and warm. The beach truly is private and is on the top of our list for cleanliness, scenic, and relaxing! Thanks again Renaissance family-we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Family trip to top them all. Unit was one of their upgraded three bedrooms that had everything one would expect in a high end property. Pool is delightful after a long day on the beach or boat. The beach is one of the best on the island very quiet no battle for chairs. Short walk to Tiki beach to rent all water sports. Wendy and Kimberly were very attentive and responsive to our needs. Also the gym was perfect for our needs, much better than day passes at world gym. We will be back no question.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renaissance

Address: 1883 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Specialty lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Also Known As:
The Renaissance Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Renaissance to your Saves list