We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sushi, great saki & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taikun

Taikun
West Bay Road | The Ritz-Carlton, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
(345) 943 9000
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Taikun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
tyler
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good sushi, great saki & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very good sushi, but great service & great saki. Kind of incorporated into bar. Will definitely return

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Much improved over 3 years ago, but still has a ways to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We thought we would give Taikun another try as the reviews have been getting better. Yes, the fish is sublime. The rice is finally acceptable and there is much more creativity in the menu. We had the omakase dinner and were very pleased. However, even with the huge assortment of sakes available only one server was well versed in sake. The same went for the whole menu. There is one very long table in the center of the room and unfortunately there was a very boisterous group sitting at it which definitely detracted from our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“I'm confused!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love this Ritz-Carlton, I adore Blue, and the amazing assortment of terrific restaurants is the reason we keep going back to Grand Cayman - but the praise for Taikun mystifies me. It's not that it's bad, but in comparison to what's readily available nearby, I don't recommend wasting the evening. The room is pretty and the fish is fresh, and I suppose if you ordinarily go to places where they don't grate fresh wasabi, that aspect can be a treat (remember, never mix fresh wasabi in your soy, place a little directly on the fish, then dip - soaking real grated wasabi in soy completely ruins the fresh flavor). But there's nothing very interesting about the menu, the execution of the sushi isn't great (o.k., but not great), the servers are very pleasant, but not very well trained (they know surprisingly little about what they're serving) and if you DO have access to a great sushi restaurant at home (or elsewhere), Taikun is going to be a disappointment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quality Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The quality of the sushi was on par with that of a high end sushi restaurant in a major city. The extensive sake menu was fun. Service was outstanding. I am blown away by the hand grated wasabi. Not sure I will ever be able to go back to green wasabi :) Visited three times with our one year old and each time we were sat with a buffer from others, we were very thankful for this :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Japanese Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Ambiance of the restaurant was fantastic, the decor stunning, service professional.
And then came the food! An absolute taste bud sensation. From our experience, this is on a par, at least, with Nobu San Diego, the 2 best Japanese Restaurants we have experienced to date in all our travels.
The presentation was amazing, the quality unbelievable and the taste - my mouth is still watering.
Added to this was fresh wasabi which just added that something extra special to the taste of the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taikun also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Taikun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taikun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.