We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Grand Cayman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taikun

Taikun
West Bay Road | The Ritz-Carlton, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
(345) 943 9000
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Taikun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cayman Islands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I just love the freshness of the seafood here and the wasabi! It is just another element that brings the flavor to your mouth. A must try spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Incredible Service, Awesome Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While at the beach we always seek out sushi because we know we will havet he freshest of fresh fish. The prices are reasonable comparred to anyplace upscale in the Caymans and they had a great selection! Anyone from the Novice eater to the expert will be sure to find delights!

Great wine selection and there is a bar across the room too. The waitstaff were super attentive and right away asked about food allergies. YUMMY

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in the mood for sushi and ended up at Taikun and are glad we did. The service was amazing!!! I know that has a lot to do with it being on the Ritz property, but it was exceptional, from the minute you walk in the door. The sushi couldn't have been better and the recommendations were great. Great romantic environment as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be serving guests at all right now.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There was a serious plumbing issue in the Ritz and it was noticeable. Entire lobby area smelled like a faulty raw sewage trap and their efforts to cover and conceal those aromas with thick aerosols. There was no escape, Taikun area was closed for renos, and guests were crammed into the opposite lobby bar area. Fussy and awkward service made no apology for the unpalatable circumstances. We called ahead and they never mentioned the plumbing crisis, and we had specifically requested not to be put at the table they seated us at. Off to a a terrible start, the Omakase was unusually experimental and disappointing, and pace of delivery excruciatingly slow (dinner took 2.5hours!). We were voiced our dissatisfaction with servers and maitre d. It seems even loyal fans expressing heartfelt disappointment do not earn any concession on the final bill. Pity they don't value their best customers more. Regular customers spending over $400 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Perfect sushi place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great tasting food, good wine selection, and great service. Tasting menu is a bargain with all the food they bring.

Restaurant is a bit on the small side.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taikun also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Taikun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taikun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.