We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but leaves much to be desired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Save Saved
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall into Cayman Deal
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location but leaves much to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The hotel is in a great location right on the beach. It is very accessible and very close. They do have a lot of lounge chairs available. So, if you really want to be right on the beach, this is a good choice. However, the service is not great. While the staff is friendly, they are not always forthcoming with helpful information. The rooms are ok. They seem large at first, but there is a lot of wasted space. The bedroom is small and has small scale furniture. The den is large, which is nice. The little kitchenette was nice. They could do a lot more with the space in the bathroom and skip the useless entryway. The food at the hotel is good but a little pricey. The restaurant staff is really nice and much more attentive than the hotel staff. The pool is small. When it is busy, it is hard to move around. It has roped areas that are not very deep. The larger pool tended to have a lot of kids playing volleyball. It is works out fairly well with children, but I really think this hotel is more of a young honeymoon type hotel. It may have been better in the Hyatt days. If you get a great rate and want to be right on the beach, go for it. otherwise, I'd check different options.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    212
    62
    20
    12
See reviews for
270
275
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We got a ridiculously good price for a room at the Beach Suites from hotwire.com, and were extremely happy with our stay. The suite was large and comfortable. The cleaning staff was thorough and friendly (and turndown service was a nice perk). The beach/pool area was great (super-comfortable beach chairs!). We ate an over-priced but good lunch at the beach cafe and an excellent dinner at Bamboo. We enjoyed the in-hotel shop (nice jewelry and beachwear), and the hotel had many convenient amenities that we didn't get the chance to use (including kayaks, Sunfish, and snorkeling gear to rent). They also provided champagne or mimosas on our arrival and set out tea and cookies every day from 3-5 PM. This hotel does it right, and especially for the incredible value, it comes highly recommended.
Our second-story room overlooked the pool and restaurants, and it could get a little loud in the evenings (especially on weekends). This wasn't a problem at all for us, but those looking for a quieter room might want to request a higher floor or different view.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife and I went on a babymoon from 08/15/09 to 08/23/09. The basic room I booked through priceline was large and looked like a suite. It had a balcony and we could see the ocean from our bed. The front desk and operator were extremely helpful with any questions or concerns. I asked for a large glass to mix my drink and it arrived in less than 3 minutes. They helped me figure out my phone card and were always polite, friendly and very helpful. We felt safe and pampered. One time, we were on the beach and it was so hot. An employee came around with little towels covered in ice and ice water for the guests. The snorkeling was great right from the beach. They have these reef balls about 50 yds from shore with all kind of fish. If you feed them, they surround you in seconds and are pretty cool.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I have been to Cayman many times on business staying almost exclusively at the Westin. Travelling with the family this time (wife, 16 & 18 yr old) would have required 2 rooms at the Westin so I decided to look around and was glad I did. The 1bdr suite was perfect with the separate king bedroom, living room with pullout queen and a rollaway bed. Add-in the "kitchen" arear with fridge sink microwave table with 2 chairs and it setup perfect for us. Service was excellent always with a smile and a hello. The pools are great and the beach while smaller than the Westin is fine. Dont hesitate to book here and I appreciate the other posters as thats what made me

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the fabulous Grand Cayman Beach Suites back in April, and having stayed in various hotels in Grand Cayman, I can tell you that the GCBS's are in a class of their own. The staff are friendly, pro-active, courteous, and genuinely care about making your stay as comfortable as possible. The manager clearly knows how a top class hotel should be run, and this is evident from the high standard of service, to the quality of the food and cleanliness of the resort.

The rooms are spacious and luxurious and the amenities are second to none. If you were thinking of packing a docking station for your i-pod -don't bother the room has one! Take a (very) short stroll to the sea and you will find yourself on one of the nicest beaches in the Caribbean. Soft white powder sand meets warm crystal clear turquoise ocean...bliss.

Swim up to the pool bar and have a couple of cold ones to cool down in the midday sun then later you can enjoy cocktails in Hemmingways and watch the sun go down before tucking into some world-class gourmet food.

The other great thing about this hotel is its location. You can walk barefoot down the beach in the evening to explore other restaurants further down, and just over the road you will find a lively, friendly bar called Deckers. Turn right when you walk out of the hotel and you will find yourself in the centre of town in no time for duty free precious stones and watches. Turn left and you will find a huge supermarket selling everything you could possibly need. Don't want to walk in the heat? Simple, flag down one of the numerous mini buses who travel non stop up and down this road all day and they will stop where ever you ask them to.

Anything you have researched and planned to do in Garnd Cayman can be organised by the hotel. If it's boat trips, snorkeling or diving you want, you'll find one of the most established firms on the island situated right on the hotel beach as part of the complex.

You will not regret booking a stay at the Grand Cayman Beach Suites- we can't wait to go back.

Mr.M. Sellar & Mrs.A.Sellar
London
England.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed 6 nights and really had a great time. The hotel was in the perfect location. The staff could not have been better, anything we needed they were there to help. We loved our rooms, we had a two bed two bath suite. It was comfortable and gave us plenty of room (there were 5 of us) It was nice to have the fridge so we went to the store and got breakfast and lunch stuff...We loved the beach chairs with the little cabanas on them. It was much needed in July...some times you just had to get out from under the sun. We had some really nice meals for the money,...two I would highly recommend...the sunshine grill...it is just down the road at the sunshine suites hotel...it is in the back so you have to drive around...the other was coconut joes.....the staff was great both places and the food was good. We ate lunch one day at the hotel...the food was really good there also...but it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel is a very small and simple one..I think it has about 60 units total. The rooms are fantastic, very good sized, big bathrooms with jacuzzi tub, plasma tv, kitchenette, and a balcony with ocean views. Nice master bed room with giant sized mattress. The lobby was pretty small with only 1-2 people working the front desk at a time. They also called themselves a concierge, however they were not very helpful in recommending places to visit or eat. The pool area is very nice, two pools (1 big 1 small) and a hottub. The swim-up bar was very nice as well. Our room was only steps to the beautiful beach which was un-crowded and had very nice covered lounge chairs. There is no snorkeling right off shore unfortunately, but the water is warm and crystal clear. Hemmingway's restaurant on site was very classy and great food. We were going to stay at the Ritz but decided to stay here because the rooms were bigger. Great decision!

Overall great hotel that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.