We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, family friendly suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Save Saved
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall into Cayman Deal
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simple, family friendly suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

It is not often that a hotel ticks all the right boxes without having to break the bank to stay there. The Grand Cayman Beach Suites did just that for our stay in Grand Cayman.
The front desk staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, as is the friendly bellman, forever there to open the door and help with bags.
Our one bedroom suite was not overly flashy, but was spacious and had everything we needed.
The pools are amazing and perfect for our trip with our 9 month old son. There are shallow sides to sit on and deeper sections to float around in. Due to the relatively small nature of the suites and proximity to the beach, the pool never felt crowded. They were always clean and tidy.
As I mentioned above, the suites are close to the beach... Walking past the pools and straight onto a beach that looks like it came straight out of a holiday magazine. The water is shallow with gentle waves, perfect for the little guy to splash in his floatie.
Another plus is the quality of food at the suites. We ate at Hemingway's the first night and both enjoyed our fish. The service was good, an all in all, a good experience. As with most restaurants on the island, it is a little pricy, but with fresh seafood and then fact we enjoyed it so much, we were happy to pay. The food we most recommend from the suites is the lunchtime grill. For $13 CI you can choose 2 meats and all the salads, more than enough to fill you up for lunch. The catch of the day was fresh and delicious and the shrimp and chicken were well seasoned and cooked to perfection. Don't miss it when you stay here!
We absolutely loved our stay at the Beach Suites. We'll definitely be back to Grand Cayman and when we do, we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    219
    65
    20
    12
See reviews for
277
279
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took our 2 boys 8 and 9 for a week and had a great trip. Love Cayman!! We needed some extra space so we picked the suite. It did give us more room. Make sure you get on the 5th floor with extra balcany space. Our view was obstructed with the palm trees. The food was good at the pool. Loved the fish and chips. Kylee and Brad were the best parts of the staff at the bar.......The front desk staff along with Hemingways staff was just ok. There are not many amenties at all except for the pool, workout and towels. The chairs are nice and paded. It is not the Ritz or the Westin if that is what you are looking for. If you are just looking for a good family vacation we were fine.

Room Tip: 8506 is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I had done a tremendous amount of research about the island and where to stay before we went down in April (I've been meaning to write this for many months). I felt confident in our decision to go to Grand Cayman Beach Suites but was quickly dissatisfied. When we arrived the front desk said they oversold the rooms so they needed to place us in the Westin for the night. We had delays on our way down so it was difficult news to hear under the circumstances. However, we tried to make the best of it. They were genuinely kind and regretful but we really got a taste of paradise after staying at the Westin. It made us realize how mismanaged and loud our remaining nights at Grand Cayman Beach Suites was compared to the Westin. The construction was overbearingly loud and to the rooms are pretty outdated. I don't believe I saw one member of upper management our entire stay and there's no concierge to help with local attractions. As a guest, you must depend on the front desk staff to help with this sort of information but they're often inundated and unable to provide adequate information as they are helping other guests manage logistics of their rooms/stay. I feel a concierge is standard fare when you're staying at such a costly hotel. Also, the hotel tacks on an additional $150 (Grand Cayman) for "service tip" at the end of the stay. This fee came as a surprise to us after we spent over $300/night for the room- there were only two of us. Also, it appears as though they haven't invested in the property in years. The beach chairs are covered in blue mats, which are grease stained from previous uses of tanning oil and lotion. They're out dirty. And the beach area is minuscule compared to other properties-You're shoulder-to-shoulder with other guests. The beach is why you're in GC! The wifi is an additional $10/day per device, which is just silly as it's typically free. Will never return; spend your money elsewhere. I completely disagree with the reviews that glorify this hotel. Grand cayman is beautiful but we go to the Caribbean on an annual basis and have gotten much better stays and memories in other hotels. In fact, our memories from the one night in the Westin far exceed the remaining nights at Beach Suites.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide this important feedback. I watch this forum carefully for comments and I take seriously all comments made in order that we can use them to better our services and provide a better stay for all of our guests. Please be assured that I am taking into consideration all of the points you identified and please let me take the opportunity to comment on some of your issues mentioned.

There is construction ongoing at the property next door and certainly wish that this were not the case but the nature of construction means that there are times when the work undertaken can be noisy and other times it is not. It is most unfortunate that your visit occurred during the former. I can assure you that there is no one looking forward to the completion of that building more than I.

It is regrettable that you felt our rooms were outdated as we've spent considerable resources, in October 2012 we replaced all carpets, living room furniture, premium mattresses, patio chairs, painted the rooms and installed premier HDcable on our flat screens. We appreciate everyone's opinion but do know that décor tastes differ but our primary goal was to make the room comfortable and relaxing with our room footprint of 700 sq feet we offer lots of space for couples and families to spread out.

In Cayman Islands all hotel accommodations are subject to mandated government fees, all daily rates are exclusive of 13% hotel tax and a 10% service charge which goes directly to all employees. This is not a hotel initiative but law and it is closely audited by the Department of Tourism if you feel this charge is unwarranted I urge you to contact the government body and voice your displeasure.

As a small 53 room hotel all of our staff do many job functions day to day, the front desk is no exception and our front office agents act as our concierge, they are all proud Caymanians who know the island restaurants and activities extensively and yes at times they are busy but always willing to help in any request you may have. As noted in a recent comment we have replaced all loungers and are enjoyed by all. With 250ft of beach front we have more than enough room for our suites. We are a boutique property and as we are not as large as the other hotels on the island but we only accommodate 100 people at full capacity not 700 people as the other hotels do.

As you have seen from previous good reviews we always strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests. We appreciate the review and although you didn't enjoy our small boutique resort we hope you will one day return to vacation in the Cayman Islands

Bill Powers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Town
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Hotel is smaller than many others, thus giving you the peace and low crowding. However, a 10 story hotel is being built right next to this one. I believe this may not be too much of a factor, simply because most people like to stay in front of their perseptive hotels on the beach. Enough space for limited crowding, but the Red Sail Shop will bring more visitors to cross the hotel lines.

Overall, as for now, this is one of my nice little get aways. Expensive, but remember, this is a British Area so the money is in Euro type values (KYD or CI). Oh, sorry for not mentioning the Hen.Restaurant (they cooked and nicely prepared our fish that was caught from our earlier days' sea fishing) and Ms. Miller (the office counter manager). Man she's very knowledgeable of the hotel and area..... Nice and enjoyable stay, thanks!

Room Tip: The hotel has side and straight forward rooms. The 3rd floor straight forward rooms is the best outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

For those who may resist a reservation due to construction next door, do not worry! The external construction is completed and we were not bothered by noise at all. This is a very nice resort~ the staff are wonderful (they could use more wait staff at lunch time!), our suite was great ~ with a wonderful view of the beach. The nicest aspect was that we did not feel like we were among crowds of people. We walked past the Marriott, the Ritz etc. and both agreed that this property beat them both!
Red Sail Diving operation is situated on this property as well. We dove with them several times and were quite satisfied. We were disappointed with the conditions of the reefs these days. They have definitely deteriorated since our last trip in '87.
Lastly, the resort is within walking distance of several good/great restaurants. Right across the street is Decker's. Two of our best meals were at their bar. The bartender is an expert and very friendly. I highly recommend sitting at the bar in this double - decker bus turned restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First, to echo what other reviewers have said, this hotel is not the Ritz and should not be compared to it. For example, a 2 bedroom suite at the Ritz starts at $2400 per night and at GCBS it's around $1000. The Watercolours is still under construction (inside and outside) and it is noisy at times despite what anyone says. Our 3 year old boy liked to watch the construction though so it might not be an issue and could even be a positive.
The service here is very good (in some cases excellent, ie Kylie the head bartender at the pool). There is no specific concierge, but the front desk personel are more than capable of making restaurant or golf reservations or anything else that we wanted. I have to say that I was very frustrated upon our arrival because a member of our party that made it to the hotel before us was not allowed to check in and enter the room. My wife specifically emailed the hotel and asked that she be allowed to check in and also given access to the room so there was definitely a miscommunication. The pool area is very nice-pool was always clean, swim up bar with 4-5 seats, they keep the grounds clean and nicely manicured; the beach is of course amazing. It would be nice to have umbrellas on the beach that could be moved with the sun. The rooms are clean and comfortable but could use some touching/freshening up. Our microwave was broken upon arrival but maintenance quickly replaced it. There is no oven in the room just fyi, and the fridge is small with no freezer but can store leftovers, etc. The wireless internet was not the fastest I have ever used and was sometimes tedious to re-login but suffices. All-in-all, the GCBS is a very nice, boutique-feeling, smaller property but is not perfect (no hotel is though right). We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: stay on the side away from watercolours if you like to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms were spacious, albeit in need of some updating. The bathroom and shower/tub was huge. We had an oceanfront balcony which was much better than folks that had the much smaller french balcony. However, the view is partially blocked by the trees surrounding the pool area. Don't come for the pool, it is quite small. However, do come for the beach. There are plenty of chairs and lots of room to spread out. This is considerably better than the Ritz, Marriott, or Westin. There is no need to awaken at dawn to claim a great spot.
Housekeeping is terrific. Our room was freshened twice daily. We wished we had more plates/glassware in our kitchenette. Towel staff for the beach was great. I was slightly disappointed that the pool bar didn't have daily drink specials. For that, you had to go to the indoor bar for 2-for-1 specials. Well worth doing! The bar staff was very accomodating.
Lastly, the front desk staff deserve special recognition. They, along with the bellman, would go out of their way to help you with reservations and suggestions. Outstanding service!
Our complaint -- the noise from adjacent room was too much. There just isn't enough to keep the noise from coming through the door and walls.

Room Tip: High floor with the larger balcony is an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.