We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spring break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the GCBS during spring break. The hotel was very clean and the staff was overly helpful and friendly especially Anthony (Bellman). The suites are very spacious. The bathroom has two sinks and a extra large shower. The bedding was very comfortable. We dined at the restaurant on site named Hemingways.....best food on the island. The seven mile bar served tasty drinks and Neno was a great bartender. The beach was great and the kids really enjoyed the floating trampoline. It was nice to have Red Sail Sports on site for sail and jet ski rentals. This is a great location. The grocery store was about a five minute walk away. No vending machines on site so make sure you grab what you want at the store. Overall the grounds was clean and friendly people all around. One downfall is the the Caymans are very expensive. They charge a gratuity of like 20% on meal. The cocktails like rum punch is about $12. So be prepared to spend some funds. I would definitely stay at GCBS if we ever return to the Caymans.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the full balcony. It's nice to have breakfast on the balcony every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    224
    66
    21
    12
See reviews for
279
294
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely hotel on Seven Mile Beach. Nice pool area and access to the beach. We were impressed with the cleanliness and how easy it was to get to restaurants in the area. The hotel has everything you need for a beach vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not a five star but a solid three and a half, which is what we paid for. Rooms were well maintained and very clean. Decent sized kitchen and balcony. Staff were very friendly and provided super service. We loved the fact that the resort was not large like the Ritz or Marriott so we did not have to fight for space at the pool or beach. The hotel had a boutique feel to it in that regard. We walked by those other hotels and could not believe how packed they were on the beach. I think it was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice and it was quite an experience. First of all I have to compliment the location of the resort. It is on seven mile beach (seriously about 7 miles of beach lined with resorts, hotels, and rich condos) and it is on a road which stretches from, what I have seen, both ends of the island. The road is lined with diners and restaurants and there is a grocery store down the road. Don't worry it's all and easy walk, if you don't mind the cars speeding down the road several feet from hitting you. The resort has a hotub, for those interested, two pools (one deep with a swim up bar and one with two wade in ramps and a basketball hoop), and of course a beach with some of the warmest waters I have ever been in. It is crystal clear on days with no wind. Either I have been unlucky and gotten many windy days or it is just common there. There are shops with swimming gear, goggles, snorkles, shirts, sandals, postcards, magnets, and all that stuff. There is a water sports shop and a dive center in the resort called redsail which do refresher courses and tiny resort courses. You cannot get your dive licens there so luckily I got mine before I went. I went with a dive place called DNS Diving. Overall it's a fun resort and if you get bored the island has many attractions!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the GCBS and we had a terrific time. After walking the beach in both directions it became obvious that this is the best place to stay in 7 mile beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

If you are comparing hotels, here's why you want to choose the GCBS:

* Location - you can walk to many great restaurants, or just stay and eat an Hemingway's.
* Beach chairs - you will never have to fight for a chair at any time of day. This is quite different from what we have heard from others. We were told by a couple staying at the Ritz that they had to be out 7 a.m. to reserve a chair on the beach (this was an exaggeration as I jogged by that spot at 7 and it was deserted - but it was actively being claimed at 8 am!!)
* Beach quality - There is room to play football etc. on the beach, this was in contrast to what we saw at the Marriott - which had chairs placed very close to each other and close to the water's edge (I have read that the last hurricane claimed some significant beach front - not their fault, but an issue)
* Water sports - there is a Red Sail sports desk right on the property and they will book anything you are looking for. We booked para-sailing and the boat came right to our beach chairs at exactly the time we booked. The same can be said for jet skis, snorkeling etc. They do it all.
* Free gourmet coffee and tea (all day) - a small touch, but it was a great perk!

A few restaurants you want to walk to are Luca, Riggazi and Agua. The sunshine grill is also very good - but extremely popular. Be sure to get there before the crowds - it's #1 on TA, with less tables than they need with that reputation!

And finally - the not so good....

* You will read that there is construction going on next door on a new condo development. It's true and they work hard for the majority of the day. The worst day was one where they were bringing up some dirt and that was a back and forth with a front loader for at least an hour (beep, beep, beep - on every backup). I have to say it didn't bother me much, but my wife had moments where it mattered to her. This is up to you.

* The pool side food is average at best. If you can, plan your lunches away. A 8 minute walk to chicken chicken will be so much better for your palate.

As stated at the beginning, this is the best place for an overall experience. We hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have an ocean view. If you can swing it, get a full balcony vs. a partial. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved this place!

First about Grand Cayman: My wife and I have vacationed on or visited many of the Caribbean islands over the last 20 years. We had avoided Grand Cayman for some reason. Our mistake. Grand Cayman is now our favorite. By far.

The natives are fantastic. Very educated, enjoy a higher standard of living than other natives in the Caribbean, and rarely do you find them doing any of the tourist service jobs. Instead they find employment with the government, or one of the many financial service jobs on the island (more financial service companies exist in GC than in Manhattan). Instead, most restaurant and other tourist service jobs are filled by people from other countries (a lot of Canadians, eh) who are happy to spend a few years in paradise. Thus you avoid the surly, manana attitudes you find among native service workers on other islands. You don't drive through shanty towns to get to the resorts.

Seven Mile Beach is the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean. Full stop. Beautiful sand, even as you walk into the water (not at all rocky).

The restaurants on the island rival the best restaurants in Manhattan (where we live). By contrast, most restaurants on other Caribbean islands are uninspired and adequate at best, usually very blah and overcooked. The fish on Grand Cayman comes right off the boat and prepared perfectly by terrific chefs. Kept going back to “Deckers” for their Red Snapper. May take a flight down there this weekend for more! Calypso Grill and Blue Cilantro were also excellent. Don’t miss the Sunshine Café for the best burgers in the world. I’m not kidding.

Snorkeling and scuba are fantastic. I scuba dove off the Great Barrier reef in Australia and this definitely rivaled that experience. If you want a great novice scuba experience (1/2 day training), go to Ambassador’s Divers by the Comfort Inn Resort. Really nice people, great experience, and a lot less expensive than the resort scuba packages.

A visit to Stingray City (a shallow pool by a sand bar and reef) is a bucket list absolute MUST. Stingrays come up to snuggle and kiss, friendly and gentle. No way to really describe this unique experience.

Taxi drivers from/to airport were very honest. Were never taken for a ride.

The only downside is that it is expensive on Grand Cayman. So save up and live a little!

OK, so back to the Beach Suites… when were first got there we walked in the lobby and wondered whether we came to the right hotel. The lobby looks like something you might find at a Motel 6. That’s because the hotel (Hyatt) got clobbered in a hurricane a couple of years ago and they turned a service area into the main lobby. We were not impressed. The front desk staff were nice but more reserved (shy) than you normally find in resorts. They were very un-intrusive, which my wife and I loved. In fact, we got “stuck” on the island for an extra 5 days because of a winter storm in NYC, and the manager went way out of her way to give us a discounted rate to stay longer, when they could have really hammered us.

Once we left the lobby and toured the rest of resort which is just beautiful. Our room was great, clean and well appointed with great views. There is construction next door facing the south side of the resort, so you want to avoid those rooms. The best views are on the 5th floor facing the ocean. Just above the palm trees. Nice private patio off the suite. Smoked Cohiba cigars from the cuban cigar show across the street, watched the gorgeous sunsets. Couldn’t ask for more.

The road in front of the hotel is very busy but the noise level not bad at all within the rooms. Bus services will take you up and down the Seven Mile stretch for around $2.

Bentley’s, the resort restaurant, is very good, but not as good as other restaurants close by. The bartenders were fabulous, very friendly. The music at Bentleys was a bit lame, but there are plenty of other places nearby.

The beach area just in front of the Beach Suites is cramped with lounge chairs. Picture the gate seating at La Guardia airport with lots of sand. But the other resorts are no better with not a lot of privacy. But you have the rest of Seven Mile Beach to spread out and relax.

Health club was well equipped and clean. I only wish I had visited it more often!

Compared to the Ritz, Marriott, and Westin, the Beach Suites resort feels like a “boutique” resort and not Grand Central Station. Smaller, more private, which my wife and I really liked. If you want the action of the other resorts, just walk down the beach a few minutes to the other places and enjoy.

My wife and I felt like this was a 2nd honeymoon (after 30 years of marriage!).

In summary, if you are looking for a great vacation spot in the Caribbean with great food and lots to do, don’t miss the Grand Cayman and the Beach Suites.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Here is my review - with one caveat: There is construction of a huge condo building next door. In 2014 this shouldn't be much of an issue, but right now construction starts by 8am and goes until 5pm, at least 6 days a week. While the construction noise wasn't as noticeable from the main living area of the suites, it is noticeable from the bedroom areas. We were generally up by the time the construction started, but if you are a light sleeper who likes to sleep late, you may want to consider alternatives in 2013. By sometime in 2014 the noise should subside and there will be some spectacular $3 million + condos to view.

Okay, for the real review. We liked Grand Cayman for the reasons most people like GC. It's safe to walk, it's safe to drink the water, it's beautiful, it's English speaking, people are friendly, it has shopping and medical facilities, and the American dollar is easily accepted everywhere. I visited GC in 2000 and a lot of things have changed, but these things have not. Will I go back? Perhaps, but I'll get back to that later...

GC Beach Suites is right in the middle of Seven Mile Beach, about halfway between the Westin/Ritz area and the Marriott area. GCBS has a great beach location, and enjoys a mellow group of tourists who don't seem to have a need to "claim" their chair every morning at sunrise---they simply go get a chair when they want and then leave it for the next person. What a welcome relief to some of the resorts we've stayed at. We stayed at GCBS for several nights in February.

GCBS suites are lovely, and appear to be recently updated. We had a spectacular view of the ocean and beach from the 5th floor. The ocean view rooms have huge patio doors and in fact, the ocean view rooms with the step out balcony seem to have bigger patio doors than the rooms that have the full balconies. I would not recommend the extra money for a balcony here---I seldom saw anyone use them anyway! The rooms have a nice living area with pull-out sofa, table and chairs, microwave, and refrigerator. The bathroom has a huge tub/shower combo and a double vanity. The rooms were very clean and the evening turn down service was much appreciated. Staff were always friendly and always helpful when asked. The Keurig coffeemaker in the lobby was nice for the times we didn't want to bother making it ourselves in our room.

The grounds at GCBS are what had us puzzled. While the rooms were great, the grounds are in need of work. The beach chairs are in various states of disrepair. The plants and trees need some loving attention, and the common areas need some cleaning and general pick up. The beach area in front of the hotel could also use a little grooming. The pool is nice, but the staff needs to take charge of the hot tub area. It was often overrun with children who seemed to think it was their personal bathtub and found it fun (albeit dangerous) to jump from the hot tub to the pool below. Of course, there were seemingly no parents around. Not surprising, there were few adults who used the hot tub after the kids spent the day there.

We ate at Hemingways for breakfast almost every day, which, for the most part, was unremarkable. We ate at Hemingways one evening and it was great. Also enjoyed Deckers right across the street, and dinner at the Caribbean Club was spectacular.

So, would I go back to Grand Cayman? Perhaps. My last visit was in 2000---before Ivan. I remember bluer skies and much better snorkeling. GC has gotten much busier and is suffering growing pains. The things that I love about GC are also the things that will stretch this little country to its limits. There is a growing number of expats who may be forced to leave GC, and a country who is struggling with needing workers but not wanting them to stay indefinitely. There are too many places to go and too little time! Happy travels!

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor for better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.