We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Save Saved
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Great Spring Deal
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked our trip last minute for the Caymans, and were pleasantly surprised by our accommodations. The suite was large and so clean. The floor we were on had just been redone. We could not have asked for a better place. The staff were all very friendly and really helped us find our way around and booked some tours for us. The beach is awesome, and Brad a fellow Canadian who works the beach bar, gave us some great tips on where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    205
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
252
270
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful property, lovely staff and amazing Spa! It was so quiet and peaceful, the hotel I was told was full but it is in such a great location and such a delightful spot it really felt so calm, the girls at the spa were super friendly and very professional, they really treated my husband and I when we had a couples massage they let us soak in the tub with complimentary mimosas!

Great place to stay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel was exactly was I expected. A good accommodation for the price we paid. Having a suite instead of a regular hotel room is definitely a benefit. The kitchenette came in handy for breakfasts and lunch – we usually only ate out for dinners so that kept our costs down.

Positive comments: 1. Management honored both my room location preference and late check out requests. 2. Free fruits, coffee and water were readily available in the lobby. 3. The location was nice, beach clean. 4. Ample amounts of pool and beach chairs.


A few minor suggestions for improvements: 1. The room service was incredibly slow. I only ordered toast because I wasn’t feeling good and it took over one hour. 2. The housekeeping was inconsistent, sometimes straightening up and sometime doing a bare minimum. 3. The thermostat felt like there was two extremes, hot/humid and freezing. 4. The TV channels were limited (but I guess one shouldn’t be watching tons of TV on vacation anyway) and the remote a disaster.

All in all, the Caymans were what I expected: beautiful, safe, clean, and expensive. There is not much to do other than beach/water –related activities. It’s not my typical type of vacation choice, but it served the purpose of this trip, which was to lie around and do nothing.

Room Tip: I preferred the top floor for view and larger patios off the back end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon on Grand Cayman, staying at the Grand Cayman Beach Suites which sits directly on the famed Seven Mile Beach. The hotel is the former Hyatt which was destroyed by Hurricane Ivan in 2004. They rebuilt and re-branded the beachside suites as the Grand Cayman Beach Suites, with the rest of the Hyatt undergoing demolition and re-development across the street; this part is accessed via foot through the Brittania parking lot, adjacent to the hotel and next to the Brittania Golf Course.

The good:
1. Location of the Beach Suites is near everything, superb for first-timers in Grand Cayman: grocery store, bars, restaurants, rental car agencies, 10 minutes from the airport.
2. The rooms are spacious, updated and clean. We had a one bedroom suite on the 4th floor overlooking the pool bar with a nice view down Seven Mile Beach toward West Bay. There is a small kitchenette and, one of the best features, full floor to ceiling sliding glass doors that open across about 25 feet in the living room creating an awesome inside/outside feeling common in high-end tropical properties. Excellent full American breakfast menu was included in our room payment every day we were there, applicable at either Hemingway's right on Seven Mile or at Brittania Restaurant overlooking the Golf Course a mere five minute walk from the property.
3. Grand Cayman in general is a fantastic Caribbean destination. Not over the top Michelin Star presumptuousness, and not "ghetto" Caribbean like other islands where security is a factor and constant hawking being an annoyance.
4. Wildlife. The underwater life speaks for itself as Grand Cayman is one of the preeminent diving and snorkeling destinations in the world. On land, it is a treasure for birders and ornithologists with also an abundance of endangered iguanas and feral roosters everywhere you go.
5. Pirates Week. We serendipitously traveled on our honeymoon during the beginning of one of the biggest events of the year: Pirates Week. Think Mardi Gras with a pirate theme. Activities included: fireworks, parades, a mock pirate invasion of the capital of Georgetown (which incidentally is one of the coolest world capitals ever), thousands of locals, ex-pats and tourists dressed to the hilt in all things buccaneer, pub crawls and parties galore.
6. The people. The Caymanian people could not be more gracious and welcoming, most speaking with the unmistakable Jamaican accent. Despite common misconceptions, Grand Cayman is not overrrun by Manhattan hedge funders, I-bankers and insurance executives in khaki shorts, Teva Sandals and Reyn Spooner button-downs. Of course many businesses from a variety of sectors house some their operations in GC for financial reasons, the vibe is decidedly laid back Caribbean while providing all the creature comforts anyone could desire.

The not so good:
1. The tourist traps: Hell and Rum Point. The town of Hell on GC is truly the tourist trap from hell and Rum Point is beautiful but the main area where tourists arrive is a bit exaggerated and tiresome. Do yourself a favor, visit the Rum Point tourist section then keep driving or walking to the end of the road where there are some outstanding properties many which are for rent by the day or week.
2. Exchange rate for the US dollar. US dollar= 80 cents in Cayman dollars. The prices are already pretty steep at the resorts, with this exchange rate it is even worse. Expect to pay 20-25% more for everything in GC, that being said see below recommendations for true local experiences, which also will save you a bit of cash.
3. New Developments. The new developments like Camana Bay are an eyesore and not in synergy with the Caymanian landscape and background. Certain developers are trying to turn GC into Irvine, CA...for shame.
4. The construction noise from the new development right next door to the GC Beach Suites. They are building a large tower of high-end condos, starting at a mere $3 mil US, and the construction noise was at times a bit distracting.

Recommendations for a true GC experience:
1. Restaurants: Heritage Kitchen (West bay), Viviene's Kitchen (East End), Chicken! Chicken! (Seven Mile Beach), Sunshine Grill (Seven Mile Beach/West Bay border), Alfresco (West Bay)
2. Georgetown: what other world capital can you open an offshore account then snorkel right off the main road 30 seconds later? The capital is quaint, clean, vibrant and charming.
3. Choose a mode of transporatation and meander through the dirt roads among the mangroves out to Barker's and Palmetto Point. These are remote beaches and most of the time you will be the only one out there.
4. Rent a car and explore the East End, marveling at the open space and non-development.....for now.

Room Tip: Closest to the beach and the higher the better. The balconies might be smaller but the views are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The rooms were big and nice all though the sofa needs relacing and it's bed was unusable. The main bed was comfortable but the bedrooms face either the construction or noisy street and bar so it is not a good place for sleeping. The grounds and pools were very nice but small, ok for the number of guests I guess though. The parking lot is very small so you can't always find a parking spot. Staff was very nice ecpecially the desk clerk, Sandeed I think.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel was very nice and plush. We rented a one bedroom with king and a large suite with a queen couch. The bathroom was large with separate room for tolet and second sink. We only paid $150 ($183 with taxes)US which to us was a very good value compared to what others were charging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel was great! My husband and I had a very small simple wedding ceremony (just the 2 of us) here on the beach and it was so perfect. At the hotel, Noelle and Marina made everything so easy as far as planning and the ceremony. I was very happy with the way everything turned out and we will be back next year for our anniversary.... We had a ocean view room that was very nice and clean. Housekeeping was excellent. The bed was more comfortable than mine at home and it made me not want to ever leave. The air conditioner worked really well and kept the room very cool like we prefer. The balcony was only large enough for 2 people to stand, but that didn't really bother us. The ocean was absolutely the most beautiful color of turquoise. My only complaint (which is nobody's fault) was that it rained almost the whole time we were there because of a nearby tropical storm, so we will definetly be back so that we can better enjoy the beautiful beach and water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands
Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.