We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Insider's Grand Cayman- GC Beach Suites Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off January Rates
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Insider's Grand Cayman- GC Beach Suites Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon on Grand Cayman, staying at the Grand Cayman Beach Suites which sits directly on the famed Seven Mile Beach. The hotel is the former Hyatt which was destroyed by Hurricane Ivan in 2004. They rebuilt and re-branded the beachside suites as the Grand Cayman Beach Suites, with the rest of the Hyatt undergoing demolition and re-development across the street; this part is accessed via foot through the Brittania parking lot, adjacent to the hotel and next to the Brittania Golf Course.

The good:
1. Location of the Beach Suites is near everything, superb for first-timers in Grand Cayman: grocery store, bars, restaurants, rental car agencies, 10 minutes from the airport.
2. The rooms are spacious, updated and clean. We had a one bedroom suite on the 4th floor overlooking the pool bar with a nice view down Seven Mile Beach toward West Bay. There is a small kitchenette and, one of the best features, full floor to ceiling sliding glass doors that open across about 25 feet in the living room creating an awesome inside/outside feeling common in high-end tropical properties. Excellent full American breakfast menu was included in our room payment every day we were there, applicable at either Hemingway's right on Seven Mile or at Brittania Restaurant overlooking the Golf Course a mere five minute walk from the property.
3. Grand Cayman in general is a fantastic Caribbean destination. Not over the top Michelin Star presumptuousness, and not "ghetto" Caribbean like other islands where security is a factor and constant hawking being an annoyance.
4. Wildlife. The underwater life speaks for itself as Grand Cayman is one of the preeminent diving and snorkeling destinations in the world. On land, it is a treasure for birders and ornithologists with also an abundance of endangered iguanas and feral roosters everywhere you go.
5. Pirates Week. We serendipitously traveled on our honeymoon during the beginning of one of the biggest events of the year: Pirates Week. Think Mardi Gras with a pirate theme. Activities included: fireworks, parades, a mock pirate invasion of the capital of Georgetown (which incidentally is one of the coolest world capitals ever), thousands of locals, ex-pats and tourists dressed to the hilt in all things buccaneer, pub crawls and parties galore.
6. The people. The Caymanian people could not be more gracious and welcoming, most speaking with the unmistakable Jamaican accent. Despite common misconceptions, Grand Cayman is not overrrun by Manhattan hedge funders, I-bankers and insurance executives in khaki shorts, Teva Sandals and Reyn Spooner button-downs. Of course many businesses from a variety of sectors house some their operations in GC for financial reasons, the vibe is decidedly laid back Caribbean while providing all the creature comforts anyone could desire.

The not so good:
1. The tourist traps: Hell and Rum Point. The town of Hell on GC is truly the tourist trap from hell and Rum Point is beautiful but the main area where tourists arrive is a bit exaggerated and tiresome. Do yourself a favor, visit the Rum Point tourist section then keep driving or walking to the end of the road where there are some outstanding properties many which are for rent by the day or week.
2. Exchange rate for the US dollar. US dollar= 80 cents in Cayman dollars. The prices are already pretty steep at the resorts, with this exchange rate it is even worse. Expect to pay 20-25% more for everything in GC, that being said see below recommendations for true local experiences, which also will save you a bit of cash.
3. New Developments. The new developments like Camana Bay are an eyesore and not in synergy with the Caymanian landscape and background. Certain developers are trying to turn GC into Irvine, CA...for shame.
4. The construction noise from the new development right next door to the GC Beach Suites. They are building a large tower of high-end condos, starting at a mere $3 mil US, and the construction noise was at times a bit distracting.

Recommendations for a true GC experience:
1. Restaurants: Heritage Kitchen (West bay), Viviene's Kitchen (East End), Chicken! Chicken! (Seven Mile Beach), Sunshine Grill (Seven Mile Beach/West Bay border), Alfresco (West Bay)
2. Georgetown: what other world capital can you open an offshore account then snorkel right off the main road 30 seconds later? The capital is quaint, clean, vibrant and charming.
3. Choose a mode of transporatation and meander through the dirt roads among the mangroves out to Barker's and Palmetto Point. These are remote beaches and most of the time you will be the only one out there.
4. Rent a car and explore the East End, marveling at the open space and non-development.....for now.

Room Tip: Closest to the beach and the higher the better. The balconies might be smaller but the views are bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    227
    67
    21
    12
See reviews for
282
298
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel was very nice and plush. We rented a one bedroom with king and a large suite with a queen couch. The bathroom was large with separate room for tolet and second sink. We only paid $150 ($183 with taxes)US which to us was a very good value compared to what others were charging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel was great! My husband and I had a very small simple wedding ceremony (just the 2 of us) here on the beach and it was so perfect. At the hotel, Noelle and Marina made everything so easy as far as planning and the ceremony. I was very happy with the way everything turned out and we will be back next year for our anniversary.... We had a ocean view room that was very nice and clean. Housekeeping was excellent. The bed was more comfortable than mine at home and it made me not want to ever leave. The air conditioner worked really well and kept the room very cool like we prefer. The balcony was only large enough for 2 people to stand, but that didn't really bother us. The ocean was absolutely the most beautiful color of turquoise. My only complaint (which is nobody's fault) was that it rained almost the whole time we were there because of a nearby tropical storm, so we will definetly be back so that we can better enjoy the beautiful beach and water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What beautiful rooms. Bright, cheery, adds to the carribean touch. Clean, quiet beautiful beach area too. If you like smaller hotels, this place is for you. The food was good too. The only complaint I have is there jacuzzi doenst work well at all. The staff was friendly. The food is expensive in the Caymans so we packed the mini frdge with lunch meats etc.

I still dream of my week in the Caymans, its been a year. I would defintely go back and would prefer to stay here instead of the Ritz Carlton. I have been to many islands in the carribean and so far, this was my favorite.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is the 5th property I have stayed/reviewed in Grand Cayman. I ended up there on a Travelocity "mystery hotel" deal because I was tired of the East End (again...). I will tell you this was an awesome deal. The suites are huge, and the service is wonderful. The proximity to Georgetown is excellent, and if you don't want to drive or walk that far, there are lots of shops in the hotel and nearby. The only thing that is stopping this place from being a 5 star hotel is the age of the property (a former Hyatt). The age makes it so some amenities lacking...there are virtually non-existent balconies, and then there are some strange anomalies that are awesome...like a microwave with convection and marble counters in the kitchen. The bedrooms are great with totally cozy beds. I had always wondered in previous trips who sponsored the walkway over the 7 mile beach road, and now I know. This is a great pick for not super luxury but enjoyment of the island. After staying at the Ritz Carlton and the Westin, I would still return to the Suites

Room Tip: Be Careful where you pick because the newest condo complex is being built next door. Ask to not be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand cayman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I couldn't afford to leave the island (yes, residents do need time away from "the rock" too, as hard as that may sound to non-residents) for a holiday, and a friend suggested a night at Beach Suites. I went reluctantly, thinking, 'What a ridiculous idea...big waste of money, what are you thinking?!" I was wrong. I was won over by a little champagne welcome in the room, a swim in the sea (mostly emerald colour that evening), lying on a lounger at the beach, a dip in the jacuzzi next to the pool, sunset from the hotel room balcony, and lovely dinner at nearby restaurant across the road. I left reluctantly the next morning, soundly reminded why I had chosen to come and live on this island in the first place, namely, the ever-changing sea (turquoise that morning), the welcoming beach, the friendly people, the exquisite sunsets, and so on. The room was large and clean, the room service and desk staff were polite, friendly, and very warm and friendly. I enjoyed the free coffee in the lobby. The lifts moved efficiently, and didn't creak and groan (a personal dislike), the airconditioning worked well, the bed linen was clean, the beds very comfy. I went back to work feeling like I had had a "proper break" and appreciating the island again. Only two tiny drawbacks: a few exuberant, unsupervised guest children in the jacuzzi outside (maybe an adults' only time could be drawn up for future?) but this is very much a family hotel and that is one of the charms in other respects so I shouldn't whinge too much. Also, water volume wasn't enough to fill bath tub quickly enough for impatient me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a blast at this hotel. The rooms are large, very clean, and all appear to have a great view. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and truly want you to have a great time.

While I was there, I met many people who were repeat customers, and that says something for the place.

The food is top notch, and they have a great bar that you can swim up to, or sit in the shade.

The staff outside, which I spent the most time with (seemed like a waste of such a nice room, but it was too beautiful to stay inside, were amazing. Brad, Stacy, and Lucci really all made my trip more memorable.

Whoever does the hiring also deserves kudos.

I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Rum Punch at sunset from the tiki bar....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.