We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Save Saved
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Great Spring Deal
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Charlotte
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Couples Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My fiance and I vacationed in Grand Cayman the first week of Sept. It was my second time and his first. We had many options in hotels to choose from, we looked at the Ritz, Westin and the Marriott, but I had stayed at the Beach Suites before and wanted to return. The hotel is kept very clean, the beach is immaculate (crystal clear water), and the staff was very helpful with reservations for dinner. Is this place luxurious, no, but it is an excellent property anyways. The rooms are spacious, equipped with fridge, microwave and toaster, and have seperate living and bedroom areas (loved sleeping in a king sized bed). We did not mind the families with children present, there were few children, and we certaintly had a romantic time. There is construction next door and it is an eyesore but wasnt very load, I still managed to sleep in every morning. The hotel is in walking distance to many resturants and Camana Bay. We ate at Hemingways, Sunshine Grill, Orantique (at Camana Bay), the Champion House, Sinhgs Roti Shop, Deckers, Karro (Camana Bay). Will I certaintly be returning to the Beach Suites the next time I decide to vacation in the Cayman Islands.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    211
    62
    19
    11
See reviews for
266
273
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Clean, spacious, friendly, good location (walking distance to restaurants, stores, market), service oriented (some better than others). Don't look for luxury but better than economy class. high price for what you get but for Cayman pretty average. Great gym. Staff is accommodating and there are not a lot of silly restrictions. Morning traffic and construction noise somewhat intrusive.

Beach is not as well raked as other resorts on 7 mile but not really an issue. Lots of beach chairs and service.

Watch out for local usage of hotel amenities. Could be an issue during busy season.

Room Tip: get a full size balcony. It's worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Cayman beach suites in Sept to celebrate our ten year wedding anniversary. I would not say the rooms are luxurious or high end as some other posters stated, but they are clean and spacious-althought the living room furniture is very uncomfortable. We were given a top floor room with a full balcony (paid for this). The hotel is in a L shape so the full balconys are at the far part from the beach. So while we could see the beach, I'm not sure I would consider this 'ocean front'. The two bedroom suites are really the only oceanfront rooms in this hotel.
We arrived on a Friday mid-day and I was content with the room-although I thought when I was booking it that it would've been a little more 'fancy' or 'plush' -that is my own fault. It looks just like the photos on their website. It's just a basic room.
We went down to the beach-and oh my! There is nothing as gorgeous as that white sand and turquoise clear water. It was breathtaking. The stretch of beach with the hotel is wide enough and there are plenty of chairs. Some people do play the 'towel game' and come down and reserve the whole front row only to never come back and use the chairs. But is was okay because there was plenty of room-the hotel was not crowded.
Had I known before I booked the amount of children that were at this hotel, there is no way I would've chosen it for our wedding anniversary. Wow!! The prior poster about the resort selling 'memberships' to the local families is correct. From Fri to Sunday night the place was inundated with screaming children-if the kids weren't screaming to each other, then the parents were screaming at the kids about something. That was mostly at the pool area. However, the resort also has this giant water trampoline about 50 yards out into the ocean so the kids also swim out there and non-stop scream. And the parents stand at the edge of the beach and scream for the kids to come in from the trampoline. It was crazy. I had seriously thought we made a huge mistake and was ready to pack it up and move. The reason we chose this hotel was because it was small and we thought it would be more intimate.
Monday rolled around and it became very peaceful and serene. There were only a few kids left and there was no screaming. I understand kids scream-as do parents-and they have every right to. But had I known this I would've booked elsewhere.I cannot recommend this hotel to just couples but it is great for families.
Anyhow, for food, we went to Fosters and stocked up on things for breakfast and lunch. Remember, even though it is a 10-15 min walk, it seems much longer when you are lugging groceries. We made a few trips instead of one big one. I guess you can also get a cab and have them wait for you and do it all at once. The selection is not the greatest but its a nice clean store. And right near Fosters there were two liquor stores to get beer, wine, liquor etc.
We ate out dinners every night except the first when we ordered delivery pizza from Ginos which was decent. We also ate at Ragazzi, Eduardos, Hemmingways,Yoshi, Sunshine Suites and Luca.Be prepared for some high prices!! All meals were delicious but we agreed that Hemmingways was the best.
We didn't have many dealings with the staff-we only asked one person to make us a reservation and she was pleasant.
The last night we were there they had a conference who had a party on the rooftop-which was the ceiling of our room. The party might as well have been in our room it was so loud. They had a band, then a DJ. It was rude to the guests staying there. It went on until after 11:30-and the earplugs didn't help one bit. I am all for a party but maybe they should've considered the other guests and shut it down a bit earlier?
They have a Keurig machine in the lobby which is nice. And also mid-day they put out a pitcher of water with limes and cucumbers which was very refreshing.
Again, I would highly recommend this if you are bringing your children. But if you want a nice romantic getaway, this is not the place in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is our second straight August family vacation at this property in the heart of Seven Mile Beach. We book 9 months in advance to get a better price, and absolutely love the 2 bedroom oceanfront suites! To open your eyes and see that gorgeous greenish blue water and hear the waves is one we never want to forget! One of our reservations at first was that we would have to cook our own breakfast, but that is quickly erased because the kitchen is equipped with a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, sink, and refrigerator/freezer. We brought our own bacon browning pan from home, and within walking distance was Foster's Food Fair, where we could buy anything we could ever want (remember to bring your own bags because they charge 5 cents per bag)! A great upgrade from last year is in the main lobby - a Keurig machine with a great selection of coffees/tea! Another great upgrade from last year was an increased presence on the beach of the Beach Bar staff, offering ice water and towels. Roseanna was our favorite person at the front desk, helping with everything from reservations for restaurants/dolphins/car rentals/transfers; anything we asked she was able to help with! We love the fact that everything else we could need is within walking distance; our favorite Italian restaurant, Ragazzi, is across the street. Our favorite steakhouse, Copper Falls, is down the street to the left. Yes, there is even a Pizza Hut and Burger King if you miss home that desperately. Camana Bay is also very close, with high end stores (Lilly Pulitzer, etc) and great restaurants (Ortanique). While the pool is a bit smaller in size than some of the other resorts (Westin, Ritz), the pool was great for our child, with the pool height either 3 feet or 7 feet in one tiny section. There is another pool that is 4 feet high for older kids or for those that wish to play volleyball. For other family friendly activities, we loved Rum Point (beach very very shallow with fish, snorkeling, also has bathrooms and showers, and food), the Turtle Farm, and the Dolphin Discovery programs (50% off coupon on the front of an envelope you can pick up upon landing at tourism desk while waiting for bags). Georgetown now has a Del Sol store where they sell things that change color in the sun, great for souvenirs and to use on the island for kids/adults.
Thank you to all of the staff, including housekeeping/towel staff/beach bar staff/front desk/management for helping make our family vacation another memorable one!

Room Tip: If you can spring for one of the four 2 bedroom oceanfront rooms, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from our third stay at the GCBS and we will be back again next year. They constantly go above and beyond our expectation. This year the thrill was for our five year old who slept in the hide-a-bed in the couch. Each night when we returned from dinner, turn down service had been provided and they opened the couch for us, turned her bed down and of course, left candy which she was thrilled about. It became one of the best parts of the night for her. We received a complimentary wine/cheese gift as return visitors which was so unexpected and so classy. We have never been disappointed with the beach suites and while we had two negative experiences while on vacation, one at Deckers and one at Periwinkles, each time we came back to our hotel and to Heminway’s and wondered why we would go anywhere else. Even the Ritz can’t compare – it’s bigger and fussier (especially if you have children with you) but the service and attention at the beach suites is so much better, hands down. The service staff are top notch (especially Stacy at Heminway’s), the concierge services were excellent and helped us with everything, the place is immaculate and well kept up and the location can not be beat.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean, can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The room was wonderful. One bedroom suite with kitchenette an fantastic view of beach. The pool was wonderful with a beach/swim up bar. Lots of locals on Sundays and a lot of fun. Would recommend it to anyone. The beach and pool chairs had there own adjustable shades and the bar guys would occ come to beach to deliver water, cold washcloths and take orders.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first visit to the island. Our objective was to find comfortable accomodations for a family with two teenage boys. The Grand Cayman Beach Suites provided spacious clean rooms that easily accomodated our family. Even with an additional rollaway bed, there was plenty of room for us to unwind and enjoy.

The highlight was the great service from Brad at the poolside bar. He provided great advice on local dining options, activities and education on the various rums of the region. Brad welcomed guests by name when they stopped by to enjoy a drink. His personalized approach was fantastic.

The front desk staff could take a lesson from Brad. The only downside to our stay was the somewhat indifferent attitude from the front desk. While not rude, they were just unengaged when you stopped by to ask a question or seek a reservation. A touch too laid back. The House Cleaning staff were great.

For those who seek electronic communication, the internet service policy is pricey for those who wish to hook up multiple computers. In a world where most hotels provide free access, charging $60 for the first computer, and then $30 for each addtional computer is a little out of touch with the appropriate value equation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.