We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying at the grand cayman beach suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cayman Beach Suites to your Saves list
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“staying at the grand cayman beach suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

my family of four just came back from staying at the grand cayman beach suites yesterday am. i have to say that the hotel itself was wonderful. it has one large room with a king bed and the other room had a pull out sofa with a kitchenette. we stayed in room 8506 ocean front walk out balcony. i agree with the other reviews if you are staying at this hotel try to get a room on the upper floors four or higher so you can get a good view of the ocean! you will not need to rush out in the am and get beach chairs there are plenty to go around! it was a very relaxing stay two pools my kids loved swimming in them with a swim up bar. the beach was beautiful and well maintained! people that we met there stayed in room 8408 and complained of getting woken up in the am because of the construction we didn't have that problem at all! by the way when you are there go to fosters it's the grocery store 10 minute walk and buy yourself fruit milk etc it saves on the cost of food! the island is very expensive!! usually you are spending at least $12 one way for a taxi ride to a restaurant. make sure you bring enough cash!! so the things we did there. don't waste your time going to the caymana bay area it's a very high end shopping center way to expensive go into georgetown around 2pm after the cruise ships leave and enjoy walking down there a lot of souvenir shopping. we also went waterskiing and wakeboarding and rented a jet ski thru the red sail sporting company which is located right next to the hotel! that was fun. we went to discovery dolphin to swim with the dolphins it was ok honestly not a huge deal i don't think we would do that again! however across the street is the turtle farm that was fun. my kids ages 8 and 11 loved it! we also went to stingray city with two snorkeling stops using captain marvins group! it was wonderful i highly recommend going with them. they kept us safe and we had a lot of fun!! my husband went scuba diving and used the company run by jim soda called seasportsdiving.com my husband hasn't scuba dived for 12 years and he said jim was amazing!! it was just him and two other people it was a three hour scuba dive. my husband had a great time and again jim soda kept him safe!!! as for restaurants most restaurants you go to adds on 15% gratuity you must go to calypso grill however it is expensive for my family of four with one glass of wine it cost us $255.00 doesn't include the $60 round trip taxi to and from calypso grill. we also ate at edwardos walking distance from the hotel it was wonderful service was terrific good italian food!!! also we ate at al fresco it was ok not sure if it's worth going? and then we ate at lone star grill tex mex that was good old fashion american food also you can walk there from the hotel. fyi no wi fi at the hotel however at most coffee shops across the street or at lone star grill you can get it free! ok so one major negative HEMINGWAYS restaurant at the hotel was awful!!! we had two free adult coupons to use every am for breakfast. the service was terrible and very slow and the food wasn't cooked, we had to send our food back multiple times because it was either cold or not cooked! i complained multiple times to the supervisor who just apologized! other people who i met at the hotel agreed with us as well it took over 40 minutes after being seated to get water and coffee! i have sent an email to the hotel general manager bill powers i told him he needs to look into this immediately!! anyway that was the only negative truly it was an amazing stay!

Room Tip: get a higher floor 4 or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent experience at The Beach Suites. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay, your room and the great beach nonetheless, I do apologise that your breakfast experience was not up to your expectations, we value our guests’ comments very highly and will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. I do hope you would return in your next Cayman visit and we can create a better experience.
Regards
Bill Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    247
    70
    21
    13
See reviews for
303
321
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Grand Cayman Beach Suites are a small property set on a beautiful stretch of beach. There is a nice 1+ mile walk in each direction - definitely heavenly location.

Our suite was clean an spacious - king size bed, huge bathroom and LR with kitchenette and pull out coach. We easily could have had 2 more people (or kids) with us in that space. Nothing over the top but definitely clean and spacious. The bathroom amenities were very nice. Maid service was a little random - even though the hotel didn't feel full, most days the room wasn't cleaned until 4. Nightly turn down service was a nice touch though!

Pool is a pretty small but we went to the beach or on excursions so it wasn't an issue. I mention this though because it was mostly in the shade and small. If you plan to sit around the pool, this one isn't for you.

We stayed there for 4 nights in late January. It seemed to be off peak but the prices were not but I suppose the whole island is like this! But this was great because this meant we didn't have a problem getting a chair on the beach or getting a drink at the beach bar.

The only complaints I had was that the beach bar should stay open - I think it closed at 6 or 7. Also, our balcony didn't have a light on it so in order so sit out there after dinner we had to move all the lights in the room.

If you are looking for a nice quiet place to stay this is it. We like a place with a kitchenette because then you can have breakfast (and lunch if you want) at the hotel without spending a small fortune (which you will in GC -- everything is expensive). We went to the local food store the first day and stocked up on breakfast foods and snacks and enjoyed breakfast on the balcony each day.

The concierges were all very nice and made dinner reservations and called cabs for us whenever we needed.

Definitely eat at the sushi restaurant in the hotel -- it was one of the best meals we had. (Also go to a place named Abacus - a real gem!).

If we went back for any longer, we'd probably try to rent a condo at one of the other places on 7 mile beach (I find condos to be better deals overall) but for a few days, this place was a great find.

Room Tip: There are only 5 floors so pick a top floor. Also, splurge for for the balcony not just the french...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We flew in to join our family as a surprise to our grandchildren. The resort staff are so friendly and helpful, they helped our daughter coordinate the surprise in their suite. It's a refreshing change from the huge resorts we've been to. There are plenty of lounges by the pool and out on the beach. The food is great. No pushing of timeshares here (like Mexico!)
Yes, there is construction next door, but, I didn't come here to spend the day in bed!
Our daughters suite is at the end of the building with a huge deck overlooking both the beach and pool area, sunsets are wonderful from there!
I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west have nice decks with seating or 2 bedroom suites on the ends with Huge decks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure I read your review about our resort. I will make sure to share this lovely review with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Bill Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

After reading all the reviews, I was a little nervous about our stay - especially after I found out that our suite was on the side of the construction. However, once we checked in, I knew I made the right decision. This is a lovely property with fabulous rooms. It was perfect for my family of four. The staff was very nice, warm and helpful. The beach is awesome, with great snorkeling. Our 16 month old and 6 year old had the times of their lives. We barely left the resort. The construction was a non-issue. I really don't understand all the negative reviews. We could barely hear anything, and our suite was literally right next door to the work. If you have small kids who get up early (7:00 or so), you won't even know that construction is going on. Our little one had no problem, falling and staying asleep in the room for his naps. I would definitely go back to the Beach Suites, construction or not.

Room Tip: The full ocean view balcony rooms are away from the construction but adjacent to the main road on 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this, I am glad the hotel and staff has lived up to your expectations, and we all look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!

Kindest Regards,
Bill Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My family and I recently spent 9 nights at the Cayman Beach Suites. This was our 4th stay in the past 5 years, obviously we like the place.If you have never been to Grand Cayman before expect an island that has much to offer, friendly people, fantastic restaurants and lovely beaches. The hotel is idealy located on 7 Mile Beach. The suites are large, well appointed and very clean. Pay the extra few dollars and get a room facing the ocean, the sunsets are spectacular. The staff are personable and helpful, they are quick to be of assistance and offer lots of friendly and free advice. The facilities at the hotel are very good and you never get the feeling of being over crowded. Grand Cayman offers a strong sense of being in a SAFE place and you will NEVER be bothered by people trying to sell you something on the beach. The hotel restaurants are second to none, especially Hemmingways where you can enjoy the best of romance and food . Lots of activities to keep you busy including golf and water sports. The hotel is much more personal compared to bigger places and it is a lot more reasonably priced . You wont be disappointed. Rent a car for the day and visit the east end of the island or the wonderful restaurants in West Bay. Grand Cayman is not an inexpensive place , however, it is well worth the money for the comfort of mind in knowing that you are in a safe place that is surrounded by crystal clear water.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your latest experience and that our team have contributed in making it fantastic. We all look forward to greeting you and your family the next time you are here.

Very Best
Bill Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

At a first glance GCBS doesn't wow you, very plain. However it has an excellent location on 7 mile beach. Rooms are comfortable, recommend a room with full patio facing the ocean, and 4th floor or higher. Service was variable depending on the staff encountered. We had two rooms given the size of our party, and one room was cleaned/service great, the other not so much. Enjoyed the breakfast and lunch, good quality and reasonable. Great beach seating, watersports company on site. Was good but not great and for the price paid we will look at other options our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I do apologize that the experience was not up to your expectations, we value our guests’ comments very highly and will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. I do hope you would return in your next Cayman visit and create a better experience.

Kind regards,
Bill Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed 13 days at this beautiful beach front property. It's the beach is white soft sand and the water is crystal clear and perfect temp. There is plenty of open space to relax and enjoy umbrellas are the with
Palm trees if your needed some shade. There is also a amazing Beach front bar where Will and another great guy will make sure your drinks are ready and even can be deliverd right to u on the beach. The pool is just awesome 1 for kids and another with swim up bar for the adults! The restaurant on property is ocean front and amazing!! The front desk staff all were just awesome!! The island has amazing food! There is a Italian place a little down the street and it's just perfect for pizza or pasta a must!! Take some $$$ cause it's pricey here but worth every penny! Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachSuitesGM, General Manager at Grand Cayman Beach Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a delightful review! Thank you for taking the time to post this, I am glad the team has lived up to your expectations, and we all look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!

Kindest Regards,
Bill Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TravelClick, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cayman Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.