We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwiches - relief from the Ritz....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paperman's Coffeehouse

Paperman's Coffeehouse
The Strand, West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
345-946-7185
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Greenport, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches - relief from the Ritz....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a high end hotel frequenter (Four Season/St. Regis), and a food snob, I feel qualified to offer the following:

While staying at the Ritz and growing increasingly sick of the overpriced mediocre fare, Paperman's quickly became our morning ritual (it is a 5-7 minute walk). Coffee and sandwiches (which are all fantastic - I was home for a week before I kicked the craving). Baked goods are also very good, and everything is 20+% less expensive, and more importantly, 100% better, than the Ritz.

Note: I wouldn't say its not kid friendly (certainly there were kids in and out - mine included) there were no high chairs - difficult to have your kid on your lap with a hot mug of coffee within arms reach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    126
    35
    16
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's not a restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

...it's a coffee shop that does very good, overpriced coffee with perfectly reasonable pre-prepared mini-salads, and been-sat-here-all-morning baguettes, albeit with fresh-tasting veg. Oh, and they also do soup.
Chairs are horribly uncomfortable small, wooden things except the two easy chairs and a sofa at the front of the shop.
I go there...when I have to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee on Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We found Paperman's to be the best place for coffee on Grand Cayman. If you are a coffee enthusiast this is the place to indulge. We also enjoyed their sandwiches. Despite the name, Paperman's serves their beverages in real mugs vs. Starbucks paper cups. We felt a very comfortable atmosphere inside the coffeehouse and the owner was particularly friendly. We were tourists but we liked the fact that it seemed to be popular with the locals too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The sandwiches are great and the atmosphere. The coffee is not to my tasting but other people seem to enjoy it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Intelligentsia coffee is served here. Expect great sandwiches, scones, muffins and coffee. Tucked away in the corner of a strip mall at The Strand, I wish I'd discovered it sooner during out 8-night stay at the Cayman Islands.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paperman's Coffeehouse also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Paperman's Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paperman's Coffeehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.