We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant despite the location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Restaurant & Lounge

Agua Restaurant & Lounge
West Bay Road | Galleria Plaza, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1007, Grand Cayman
+13459492482
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Vegan, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great restaurant despite the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Agua restaurant is situated in a small square shopping mall North of Georgtown on Seven Mile Beach. Whilst not the greatest setting once inside (they do have outside seating) you are transported into a relaxing ambiance.
The menu is great, something for everyone. When it comes the food is to die for. Good wines, excellent service. All in all the best meal I have had in Cayman. I have had some great meals.
Price wise $180 for two including wine so about par for Cayman restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    151
    33
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Agua was recommended to us by our hotel (Marriott) because of its proximity to the hotel. And, while the food was very good, we found the atmosphere to be very dated. It feels like they built it in the 80's and never renovated. We were seated outside. The restaurant is located immediately on a busy street, so they have a tall wall built to block off the road. It helps, but the sounds from the road are still very present. Also, we ended up getting lots of bug bites from our dinner on that patio. Despite all of that, the pasta was deliciously homemade, and they are generous with the shrimp and lobster. It is quite expensive, but most things in the Caymans are.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oh My God!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Aqua was wonderful. Their pasta is homemade and the portions from appetizer to dessert were more than adequate. We could have shared. Lots of lobster with our ravioli. Had fresh buffalo mozzarella that was amazing. It is on the high average for Cayman. $200 including tip for 3 people, including 1 glass of wine.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ate here for lunch today while on vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wow! What can we say but we were very impressed. Beautiful restaurant. Excellent service. And the food was delicious! We'd eat here again and recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Ne
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but very rushed and hectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We enjoyed our meal at the restaurant, but felt the waiter was quite rushed and they could use more staff so the experience was a bit less frenetic. Our meal took a while to get to us, but that wasn't too bad as we were having a great time.
The food was all excellent once we got it. One of our party had the couscous encrusted wahoo, while another had the black cod special and one other had the wasabi tuna. Everyone left satisfied, but it would really help to just have a few more waiters. We felt that the waiter was dashing in and out to help us and didn't interact with us in a meaningful way. This detracted from the overall experience, which is unfortunate when the meal costs over $85 US a person.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agua Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Agua Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.