We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CocoPlum Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CocoPlum Apartments
P.O. Box 1802 | Georgetown, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in #6 for five nights in March. Great location and the check in service was extemely fast. Go to the supermarket and stock up on breakfast and lunch. We did dinners out and it was grand!

The interior looked a little tired and could have used a face lift. We spoke to people in #3 and had seen through real estate magazines that their unit was completely renovated. So if you can catch a deal at this location, they are very good, the balcony is huge and we ate breakfast and lunch outside. Very quite, the pool was wonderful as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

My scuba diving buddy and I stayed here for a week in Feb. 2008, and I had stayed here with family 15 years ago for almost 3 weeks. Both times I was delighted with the place. This may be the best kept secret on the Island. This is like having your own cottage. All the amenities meant that breakfast and lunch were up to us to handle (restaurants are too good at night not to eat out), and there are a number of regular grocery stores around the Island that sell fresh food, lots of booze stores. We usually started out the day with some fresh grind Blue Mountain coffee, out on the patio, watching the cruise ships come in and listening to the soft swish of the waves off the iron shore 60 feet from where we were sitting, that provides some great snorkeling.

There is a wreck a few feet off shore in about 15 feet of water, maximum, and home to what has to be about a 500 lb. grouper, and a number of other schools of fish.

The rooms were spotless, lots of TV channels, and above all, the place was QUIET. This is the way to enjoy the Caribbean. Laid back, no hassle, pool to oneself, and other guests, if you ran into them, are quiet folks too. This is 300 feet maybe down the shore from Seven Mile Beach.

Cayman is not cheap, which keeps the less desirables away. With beaches and everywhere else closely patrolled, not once did I see anyone approach me or anyone else to sell drugs, their sister, watches or anything else. The whole place seems more like a safe suburb of a well-ordered, prosperous city. Low crime rates and the cleanliness and litter-free atmosphere adds to the place.

The 98 degree heat and 95% humidity make it imperative that you travel around the island with your water bottle at hand.

Also the bottom units - perfect for washing out and drying your scuba gear, are right next to the air conditioners for the upstairs tenants, and even though I like the windows open for whatever breezes blow through, if you have some insular sealed up patron upstairs, the noise from the A/C will bug you at first. I got used to it, but took a few days.

Lots of stores close by.

DIVING: Being an experienced diver, I want a small fast boat operation with 2 or 3 other divers maximum, so I can get to different dive sites quickly, diving with people who won't be dropping weights on my head. I want to hit the water and be into the dive NOW. So I dove with Ollen Miller's Sun Divers. Ollen does not dive anymore, but the guys he hires are great guys to hang out with, and they are fast, efficient, and know the area. Wouldn't dive with anyone else.

The other big secret about Cayman - you can do excellent dives from shore. Try by Ollen Miller's dive shack beyond the Turtle Farm, where there is a bsr right where you dive from. Great looking girls at the bar, water is terrific, and there is a very safe 55 foot wall for a check-out first dive, without renting a boat, and Ollen's got tanks right there.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, the small scale felt like one's own cottage
  • Disliked — noise from the air conditioners outside the bedroom windows
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

Cocoplum Condo #9 is the ideal "get away from it all" place to stay on Grand Cayman. It offers peace and tranquility that you won't find at most of the larger resort hotels. It offers two bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchen so you can prepare your own meals when you want. Condo #9 is just steps away from the pool and beach and an easy walk to downtown Georgetown where you will find many places to shop and dine.

There is much to do in the area or you can just sit and relax and enjoy the warm breezes and beautiful sunsets in the evening. Take a stroll on Seven Mile Beach and enjoy lunch at one of the hotels along the way. Snorkle around the wreck of the Gamma which is just off the beach and see lots of sealife. Take a short boat trip to Stingray Park and swim amongst those amazing creatures.

Cocoplum #9 and Grand Cayman offer a great location to do as much or as little as you desire. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Situated at the end of Seven Mile Beach, the Cocoplum Condominiums provide a great location, beach walks, snorkeling sites, close proximity to town and a quiet relaxed atmosphere for enjoying the most of your Cayman vacation. We have appreciated the relaxed casual atmosphere of the property together with its relatively small size thereby eliminating constant traffic of people using the facilities. We have returned to the Cocoplum 8 times in recent years as both a married couple and also together with extended family members. We have stayed in Cocoplum #3, #5, #7 and #10 and have found them all clean and comfortable. The grounds are well maintained on a regular basis. On each occasion we have enjoyed the accommodations, weather, scenery and laid back feel of this property. We plan to return again in the near future.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

We have stayed at the Cocoplum for each of the past 7 years. This part of the 7 Mile Beach is close to many amenities and has easy access to Georgetown. Mostly we enjoy the tranquility and privacy of the place with a dramatic Caribbean view. Peggy Scott is a very competent overseer of the property. The grounds and gardens are always kept in immaculate shape. The price is also modest in comparison with many of the more lavish locations on the 7 Mile Beach. We look forward to many more trips to the Cocoplum

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

I have stayed at the Grapetree CocoPlum many times over the last 30 years. Several times when it was first built and again the last three years. Our place has always been clean, everyone is very helpful, the grounds well groomed and the location is relaxed and private. There is a shipwreck just off the beach to snorkel with more fish than many other parts of the island. The apartments are well equiped and if anything is is needed, you only have to ask. I have traveled in Thailand, Burma, Maylasia, Russia, Europe, Honduras, India and all over the US and will deffinately go back to the Cayman Islands - CocoPlum for our next trip. It isn't a full service hotel type of experience - it is as if you actually live there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No in room laundry
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

This was my third visit to the Cocoplum properties and once again it was a great place for our family to be. The property was clean, friendly and relaxed. The condo setting was a great solution for us as a family to enjoy time together as well as to enjoy the beach and the pool. The sunsets were great. It is on the Georgetown end of Seven Mile Beach which made it easy to get into town. We can't wait to be back again.

  • Liked — Location was great.
  • Disliked — Internet was not available at that time.
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CocoPlum Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoPlum Apartments

Address: P.O. Box 1802 | Georgetown, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Specialty lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Apartments Hotel Seven Mile Beach
CocoPlum Apartments Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CocoPlum Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added CocoPlum Apartments to your Saves list