We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh How Boring ??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Silver Sands Condominiums
Save Saved
You added Silver Sands Condominiums to your Saves list
2131 West Bay Road | PO Box 752WB, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh How Boring ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Here we have a senior-citizen couple who enjoys traveling and visiting a variety of locations within the Caribbean during their winter months. They've sampled destinations along the eastern string of islands, the Venezuelan coast, and several of the Cayman Islands. So where have they spent 80% of their Caribbean stays? On Grand Cayman and even more specific, Silver Sands. They've vacationed along Seven Mile Beach and Rum Point - even rented a fine home one year. But this spring marked their 19th visit to Silver Sands.

Grand Cayman is a very contemporary country - they have good roadways and a multitude of beaches and snorkeling areas. In addition, there is a wide selection of fine restaurants, and food stores for those hungry moments during your day. But the greatest asset to this fine country is their people. They are always considerate of their visitors and positive in their approach to life. They typically want you to enjoy your visit and are pleased to make suggestions on restaurants, food courts, snorkeling and scuba areas. And there are a multitude of tour guides and boat captains who can deliver you to these exotic coves and technicolor surrounds.

But why Silver Sands? About 15 years ago we did a first hand inventory of all the condos between Yacht Drive and Cemetery Beach. We walked their beaches, visited representative condos, secured their rates and viewed their general properties. Silver Sands won this contest, hands down !! Their units are spacious and well designed. And over the past 10 years, Silver Sands has instituted major renovations to their units, walkways and lovely gardens and beach area. The only drawback is making sure you've provided sufficient lead time for that next vacation.

Silver Sands location is convenient and rather quiet, with several very good restaurants only 10 minutes away. Plus, nearby is another selection of smaller restaurants that feature Caribbean menus. Add to this a good variety of full-line grocery stores. We recommend stocking your refrigerator to the hilt, organizing your day around Silver Sands gardens, pool and beach, and enjoying lunches and dinners from your lovely patio overlooking the spectacular views afforded by their gardens.

They are to be sure, "The best kept secret on 7-Mile Beach". And among these secrets is the great snorkeling found right off their beach!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We travel with all 20 of our immediate family members. That can be a bit overwhelming but Silver Sands rose to the occasion. My dad had an all ground floor unit and the other families had two or three bedroom units. All units were very clean and well stocked with the kitchen items one would expect. Best part are the 10 steps from the patio to the beach! The cabanas on the beach were great to be in the action but out of the sun. The hammock was never empty for long! Grills by the pool were clean and available for anyone to use. Landscaping was meticulous. Great family place, not overly fancy but very happy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Gwenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've made 5 trips to Grand Cayman and always stayed at Silver Sands, in particular unit #23 which is on the lower level...great, right? The grounds surronding the patio & beyond are imaculate, flowering and just plain beautiful. What a great way to wake up in the morning. The pool is a hop, skip & a jump from the patio and anothe skip to the white sand beach and the Sea. There are hammocks that are covered which turned into my best friend for a nice afternoon nap or book read. The unit is very roomey and nicely decorated. The kitchen has everything a cook could want, even a cut out wall so you can serve from the kitchen to the dining room. The bedrooms are spacious as well. With a lot of closet space and dresser drawers. I wish I had one of those beds at home,so comfortable. Silver Sands is located in a place where you can get to everything, downtown and many resturants. I've enjoyed horseback riding in the sea, parisailing, snokeling to mention a few (good snokeling off the beach at Silver Sand). All are close to this great home you can call for a week or more. The people in the complex are fabulos also. Reach out to anyone for directions or assitance. You'll be pleased.

Room Tip: Unit 23 is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Barb, thanks for your comments. It is always nice to have you and your family.

Gwenda and Oleta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from staying in #23 at Silver Sands, wonderful trip, great condo on ground floor.
Since stairs were a problem this was perfect, very close to the pool and beach.Great kitchen, lovely furnishings,wonderful people. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Keiren, thanks for your comments, as always it is so nice to you both.Hope your next visit is not too long.

Gwenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have stayed at Silver Sands twice, both times in unit #23. Our last stay was for our anniversary and as it was the previous time a most enjoyable experience. The 2 bedroom 2 bath condo was very tastefully comfortable and well maintained. A short walk to the pool or the beach, you can snorkle on a small reef almost in front of the property. Close enough to either casual dining or if you like not much farther to more upscale places. We found the staff very friendly an met several very nice guests and ownwers. If you prefer privacy, you have it. My wife and I have been to many places over the years but have not found a more enjoyable atmosphere, needless to say we will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have rented a condo at Silver Sands, #23, on Seven Mile Beach twice now, in 2010 and 2012, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cayman after discovering this unknown paradise. This condo is so close to the pool and beach you are just steps away literally. The management is very accommodating of your needs and if you want to do a particular activity they will make sure they hook you up and with locals - not high priced "cruise boat prices! I had the luck of renting Unit #23 both times and it was so comfy, with ample kitchen, great room and 2 beds/2 baths - whole unit updated and an awesome patio poolside/ocean side to just sit on and watch the ocean in your own little private haven!!! The whole resident/renter/community are so friendly, unlike the "touristy accommodations" all over the island. Silver Sands is ideally located in that you are close to most activities on the island. I loved the private beach, the pool, the family activities that they offer without having to pay high end hotel/or other high end condo prices. I felt like I owned the place here! I will definitely be back as its my little paradise

Room Tip: Silver Sands is a small community (smile) but unit #23 was smack dab in front of pool, direct view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A lovely, delightful complex. My son and I shared a two bedroom duplex and reveled in the view of the ocean. Total privacy, an almost private beach, hardly ever saw another guest. What a great hideaway. A tremendous find that is a mere four minute drive from the Westin and Ritz Carlton where we indulged in amazing scuba diving and other sports. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: If you have no problem with a short flight of stairs the views of the ocean on the second floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Matthew, we are very happy that you enjoyed your first visit with us and look forward to seeing you both in the very near future.COME BACK AGAIN!!!!!!!

Gwenda & Oleta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Condominiums

Address: 2131 West Bay Road | PO Box 752WB, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Specialty lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is a very quiet exclusive complex with 42 units. Unlike most other complexes where most or all of the units are available for short term rentals, at Silver Sands only 17 are available for short term renting giving you fewer people to share the pool, beach, tennis court or Bocce Ball Court. It gives you a serene and peaceful stay.WE ARE THE BEST KEPT SECRET ON GRAND CAYMAN ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Silver Sands Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;