We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Condominiums
2131 West Bay Road | PO Box 752WB, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK NOW-AND SAVE!$240.00
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our group of 7 recently stayed for one week at the Silver Sands. For 4 of the group it was their first experience of Grand Cayman and they were amazed at the beaches, snorkeling, pool and tennis at the SS and of course the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. I have stayed at the SS a number of times over the years and rate them as my number one pick of any of the SMB offerings. The time there went all too quickly and we look forward to returning ASAP.

Room Tip: All units offer easy access to the pool, beach, barbeque grills,etc. Can;t go wrong with any select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Richard, as always it is wonderful to see you and your family and we are looking forward to seeing you all very soon again.

Gwenda & Oleta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I reserved a 3-bedroom condo on Februrary 18, only to have it cancelled on March 22. Though I wasn't advised at the time of booking, the property was apparently for sale and has now sold. By the time of their cancellation, no other 3-bedroom condos were available. The only accommodation offered was a 2-bedroom, which doesn't work for my group. No apology was even offered!

I'd sure like to know if the place is great, but with such horrible service, I certainly will never stay there to find out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands Condominiums, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Brett, we do sincerley apologize for any inconvenience this cancellation may have caused to you.Unfortunately this situation was beyond our control and we do try to go above and beyond to accomodate all of our guest.We do hope you would reconsider visiting us and we extend our apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Right on the beach, nice pool, plenty of lounge chairs/shade (cabanas and trees), never a wait for a hammock. Great BBQ facility on beach, with nice lit cabana for dining at night. Well-landscaped. 7 Mile Beach's powdery sands and easy-access snorkeling and diving are also fantastic. All of the units have ocean views. This is the quiet end of the beach. Dining on the beach (and more action in general) is just a 3 minute drive away.
I highly recommend:
Snorkeling from here and at Cemetery reef (5' walk to the north)
Seahorses (swim your horse out to sea)
La Brasserie
Both of the beach restaurants just to the south (a drive, not a walk)
The Botanical garden
Michael's Genuine Food
Books and Books (amazing!!!!)
Pencilman's cafe
Looking for the gigantic spiky orange male iguana that lives in the parking lot at Papagallo

Our unit, #24, was excellent except for the plastic covers on all of the mattresses. There's a very thin mattress pad, and then the mattress itself is completely enclosed in a heavy zipped up plastic thing. This sets up a vapor barrier that feels a little nasty, and also makes crinkly/rubbery sounds when you move. Some people don't mind these but I have a hard time sleeping on them. The staff told me this feature is unique to this unit. So if this is something you're looking for, this is the unit for you.

Room Tip: The units (like 24) in the middle of the complex are quite close to a busy highway, and the guest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent two weeks at Silver Sands, one week with my sisters and kids and the second week just with my kids and it was perfect. Beautiful condo - all the comforts you need on a beach vacation; lovely grounds and pool and the beach is the best part. It's the largest expanse of beach on the island and you feel like you have it all to yourself - especially compared to the other beach hotels and condos that have overcrowding on their small beaches. I have been to Cayman many times and would only recommend staying at Silver Sands.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in # 8 - it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The convenience of being on the ground floor and only walking a couple steps to unload baggage and groceries was a huge plus for us! The view that this unit has from its patio looking straight at the beautiful blue water in the very short distance with the most beautiful flowers all around us was unsurpassed! This unit is very spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and an open floor plan with big dining room table and plenty of sitting area for TV. We used the BBQ pit on the patio to cook a few evenings which was great for us!
This complex is so nice and quiet and away from the big hotels down the way. It has the widest beachfront for the fewest amount of rooms anywhere on Seven Mile Beach. You can snorkel right off the beach! Great thatched huts when you need to be out of the sun. The pool is huge and very clean. Actually the entire place is maintained unbelievably. There is a big pavilion just off pool area on beach that is great for happy hour and watching the sun set! I do not think anyone could ever get tired of this gorgeous place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just got home from a wonderful vacation in Cayman Island. We stayed in unit #24. The views from the condo are something to dream about!! This unit has all the comforts of home and is decorated in the beautiful Carribean colors that add to the relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed swimming in the gorgeous pool everyday and looking around at the incredible well manicured grounds of the complex. This condo complex is at the end of seven mile beach and is very quiet and peaceful. Snokeling right off the beach is some of the best in the world!! Water is aqua blue and abundant with fish! The restaurants in the area are great! This is the second time we have stayed in unit #24, and hope that it's not our last. Thanks again for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I visited Grand Cayman and stayed at the lovely Silver Sands Condominiums. Our "home" looked at the beach and the gardens and pool. it was perfect! Quiet and private and inches from snorkeling or sitting under the trees watching the sunset. We walked the long beach every morning, swam, snacked, swam more, lounged, and cooked wonderful meals in the newly renovated kitchen or our place (#8). There are tennis courts and many things to do but we motly stayed put, sinking into the sand and letting all else drift away.

I can't wait to go back to this exact spot!

Room Tip: Go for the Garden side. I loved apartment 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Sands Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Condominiums

Address: 2131 West Bay Road | PO Box 752WB, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Specialty lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is a very quiet exclusive complex with 42 units. Unlike most other complexes where most or all of the units are available for short term rentals, at Silver Sands only 17 are available for short term renting giving you fewer people to share the pool, beach, tennis court or Bocce Ball Court. It gives you a serene and peaceful stay.WE ARE THE BEST KEPT SECRET ON GRAND CAYMAN ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Silver Sands Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silver Sands Condominiums to your Saves list