We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Visit at ABC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bay Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aqua Bay Club to your Saves list
Aqua Bay Club
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Visit at ABC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We just returned from our second visit to Aqua Bay Club and really enjoyed everything! Obviously, our first visit went well too or we would not have returned.

Our condo (unit 7) was very clean and well furnished. Unit 7 is a ground floor walk out with easy access to the pool and beach. Units 8 through 22 (there is no # 13) offer better views of the ocean but require a 1 minute walk around the building to reach the water. Previously we stayed in unit 21 and honestly we're not sure what we liked better, the improved view from the third floor or the easy access of the ground floor.

The 2 bedroom units offer plenty of space for four adults or a family of 4. Some units have king beds and some offer twin beds. Ask Deena in the office what's available and she can direct you to the best unit for you.

The pool is big enough for everyone to enjoy and the beach area is clean. There are a lot of rocks at the water line so getting into or out of the ocean can be a bit tricky but the rest of the beach is soft sand (great for morning walks) and the rocks clear-up after you swim out a little bit.

Cemetery Reef is a short walk (5 minutes) to the north for excellent snorkeling. Take some fish food along and you have a lot of fish swim along with you. We also saw a sea turtle here. Two years ago we saw a ray. In June / July, the ocean is very warm and you can snorkel as long as you want without getting cold.

If you go into town, there is great snorkeling at Eden Rock (right in downtown) next to Paradise By the Sea restaurant. Be sure to get a drink and a meal after you swim!

ABC is far enough north on Seven Mile Beach to keep things quiet, even when there are 4 cruise ships in port. There is a Foster's grocery store just up the road for easy access to food. Also, there is a service on the island (BKM Limited) that will stock your condo with food prior to your arrival. The service is a little expensive but could be worth it if you are arriving late in the day or just hate the idea of going to the store first thing. ABC can help you contact the service or Google for info.

ABC is casual and quiet. There is very little noise after dark. During both our visits (both in June or July) ABC was about half full with mostly families. On both visits we found all the other guests to be friendly. Usually everyone hangs out at the pool and shares ideas about places to eat or things to do. Really neat atmosphere.

Finally, the staff at ABC is really great. We booked direct with them and had no issues. Deena will gladly work with you should you have any special requests.

Have fun!

  • Liked — Large clean condos at reasonable prices. Location.
  • Disliked — Rocks, loose coral at ocean shore.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

A friend and I were in over the long weekend and found that Aqua Bay exceeded our expectations! The staff was wonderful and patient with all questions--Deena helped me with my questions via email and usually did so within the same day. She even emailed us pictures of our condo for our approval!
We were greeted by fresh flowers and a fruit basket in our room. It was raining when we arrived, and Deena loaned us her own personal umbrella to venture into town with (for customer service, something small like that was impressive).
The condos are very roomy overlooking well-kept grounds and a beautiful beach--we had requested 3rd floor for the view and we were not disappointed! Prices were very reasonable and this allowed extra money for food and excursions (we found food to be quite expensive, but this was expected)
We were granted a late check out as no one else was due in, which gave us somewhere to wait prior to our taxi to the airport.
Highly recommend going to the store and stocking up as you really have to get transportation into town. It makes it easier for those evenings that you just want to relax without going out.
For two weary moms on a "girls getaway", this was just what the doctor ordered!! We hope to return one day soon (maybe next time I will bring a weary dad, too!)

  • Liked — The up to date rooms, comfort, beach/grounds, staff
  • Disliked — Required to obtain transportation to get to grocery, restaurants--not a major concern for us though
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

Absolutely beautiful! My husband and I just returned from our trip to Cayman - wish we could move there! Aqua Bay was really great. We stayed in Condo #12 which was nicely decorated - very comfortable bed. They let us use some snorkel equipment on hand and they had floats to use. The beach was perfect and the water so clear. No crowds of people - perfect if you want the beach to yourself. We walked down the beach a little to Cemetary Reef - good snorkeling. And good just right in front of the condo. Deena, the manager, was fabulous. It was my birthday - so I had arranged a bottle of champagne in our condo upon our arrival. She did that - but also added a bouquet of flowers - picked from around the grounds and a fruit basket! So sweet! The place looks just like it does on the website - really more beautiful. I researched a long time before choosing Aqua Bay. If you want a nice oceanfront condo with no crowds, then this is the place for you. You are also close to George town and lots of resturants. We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

This was our second trip and Aqua Bay continued to exceed our expectations - nice fruit basket upon arrival, efficient cleaning, pleasant staff, good restaurant recommendations (Off The Wall, for example was a hidden gem on the way back from Rum Point), and no issues from me - really a great experience.

We were in unit 3, on the ground floor, right in front of the pool. Not more than 30 feet from the beach, about 20 feet from the pool, full kitchen, nice porch; what more could you ask for? Even played a little tennis across the street. Our two children (10 and 13) snorkeled out front, my buddy and I did 6 dives (all excellent), and the island overcame the hurrican damage - even the old Turtle Farm, now known as Boatswain's Beach, was in great shape.

Nine days at Aqua Bay does a body good, let me assure you :)

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything - well, I suppose they could reduce the price ;)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wish it was the beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Aqua Bay Club
This was our second trip to Grand Cayman.
Last year we stayed at a hotel. This year we stayed at the Aqua Bay Club. Unit # 9. It was one million times better than last year.
Our unit was so clean, new, fresh and comfy. The Warm pool and ocean are steps away from the door. It’s quiet and relaxing, there are plenty of chairs shaded or not. They have hammocks! BBQ! The view of the ocean is great from the screened in porch. We sat there to eat almost everyday! We didn’t snorkel but other guest’s said there is a lot to see, turtles, fish, stingrays. We love it there and we will go back.

  • Liked — Very relaxing
  • Disliked — Everything was great!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bay Club

Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bay Club - Grand Cayman, is one of the most desirable short term rental luxury condominiums along World Famous Seven Mile Beach. It provides a perfect vacation gateway and assures tranquility as well as unspoiled beauty of the land and ocean. All of our 21 apartments are privately owned and are kept in impeccable condition. Guests will enjoy freshwater pool, Jacuzzi and plenty of sun or the shade of the Aqua Bay's tropical palms and thatched huts located in the court yard and at the waters edge. Now offering FREE high speed internet access in every unit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aqua Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bay Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Aqua Bay Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Bay Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.