We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Staff, Sunshine Suites is the perfect place to stay in Grand Cayman.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location and Staff, Sunshine Suites is the perfect place to stay in Grand Cayman.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Sunshine Suites - where I stayed in Grand Cayman's beautiful Seven Mile Beach - is the perfect hotel for a trip the Caribbean. The standouts were the location, staff (especially Conrad from South Africa at the Sunshine Grill Restaurant) and the fact that you're in the most amazing country in the world.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    298
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
246
503
63
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, MN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Our daughter recommended we stay at the Sunshine Suites. The staff made our stay very welcoming. They made us feel like home. The rooms were clean, the air conditioning worked and we were close to the pool. The breakfast was delicious and the fish tacos at lunch were nummy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Set just 200 yards back from one of the best parts of Seven Mile Beach, this hotel had everything I could have wanted.

The staff were helpful, courteous and friendly.

Breakfast served by the pool and dinner in the little restaurant was fresh and consisted of Caribbean specialities.

Swimming in the sea at dawn was a memorable treat and though busier, evening swims were wonderful too. [I don't expose myself to bright sunshine, so I cannot comment on the beach at midday.]

Easy access to central George Town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

If you're looking for a pampered resort, this is not your place. If you, like us, just need a nice, clean place to shower/sleep, then you'll love Sunshine Suites. The grass is just like golf greens, the landscaping is perfect, and everything is clean and neat.

The staff could not have been nicer, the restaurant is great, and they're located close to several great attractions. With the money we saved on the hotel cost, we went on several excursions and did some "once in a lifetime" things. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I stayed at the Sunshins Suites hotel for two days in April 16-18. This hotel is so clean, neat, pleasant. I am usually a snob when it comes to hotels, but this was the only place in the Caymans, and it was good enough for me.

the only problem that I have with this hotel is that there is hot water in the shower is not hot enough. Other than that..this was a very pleasant clean hotel for the price and I felt very safe.

I hope my review helps....

Happy Travels!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We had to find an hotel in Grand Cayman for 2 days before moving into a condo. We wanted to avoid the high prices of beachfront properties and chose Sunshine suites which is across the 7 mile beach road.
It was a great choice....We had a little suite where we could have cooked had we wanted to but instead we ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurant which turned out to be a great choice (good basic food....very decent breakfasts are included in the price and we had really good fish tacos (reasonably priced) for lunch).
The restaurant is right beside the hotel pool which we didn't use but it did look inviting.
The hotel is just across the road from the Westin and the Ritz and beach access is pretty easy. The hotel supplies chairs but of course they are not the ones with shady covers but still....after all you are not paying Ritz prices either.
The price (of close to $150US per night) was the most reasonable we could find in the area. Other hotels including Comfort Suites would have been well over $200 per night.
All in all I thought the hotel provided great value for money - well maintained, good location and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Family of five spent one night at the Sunshine Suites prior to moving into our condo for a week. The staff was wonderful and the place could not have been any cleaner. It is a good location, across the street from the Westin, and an easy walk to the beach. While there, be sure to try the Sunshine Grill on the premise. Great hamburgers and fish tacos and very reasonably priced. The room was a little tight for five of us, but we expected that. All in all, a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We’re a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman’s famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location next to the Ritz Carlton, down the road from the 18-hole North Sound Golf Course and near dozens of shops and restaurants. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.