We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Suites Resort to your Saves list
Sunshine Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked this as a deluxe room, in fairness it is a standard size basic room, however cannot fault the cleanliness, friendly staff, fantastic restaurant and location just across the road from seven mile beach. They provide you with beach chairs and umbrellas to carry on your back.
The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Really well kept grounds and communal areas, the pool is small but never found it overcrowded and we were there in peak season, Easter 2014. Would have no hesitation in recommending this for families, couples and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    325
    65
    16
    14
See reviews for
273
550
69
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Sunshine Suites is an excellent value resort that fit our needs. Extremely friendly and professional staff (everyone). Grounds always maintained, room cleaned on time, and knowledgable when asked about the island. Highly recommended! Great job team!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I think this was my fifth or sixth trip to Sunshine Suites since Ivan in 2004. It always offers consistently good standards of food and accommodation plus a helpful and friendly staff. Despite a fairly large number of rooms it never seems to be crowded, and the Grab and Go cantina has helped reduce the breakfast queues, although not so much free as there used to be!

On this trip, Expedia asked me to rate the check-in process etc and I mentioned that I had to wait some time due to my early arrival from Jamaica, but I did say that Sunshine is a victim of its own popularity and therefore usually full. No matter, the next day I was kindly offered (by Sunshine) a credit to my food and beverage account. This is the sort of service which brings people back - not to mention fast, free WiFi.

If they had dedicated smoking rooms this place would get five stars, but I suspect that's unlikely!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so ground floor might be better for those who are not so agile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After a 21 hour trip from the UK you need a nice friendly welcome and we got it with Shawnna-Kay ( one of the girls behind reception). In all my years of travelling and don't think I've ever felt so genuinely welcomed and taken care of. This followed by another girl lifting our 20kg + cases in each hand up two floors to our room - smiling continually! I was with my Mum so the help was so really appreciated.
We booked a 9 night stay from April 26 to May 5.
Our room was the deluxe - plenty of space overlooking the garden and two queen beds. It was totally what I expected from reading most of the reviews. The beds were extremely comfortable, so too the pillows ( and I'm fussy with pillows!) We left the air conditioning on through the day which kept the room cool enough not to have it on at night as we are not use to the noise of air con in England! We had too many clean towels and toiletries to get through!!....and the maids were always so lovely - we miss you Grace-Ann.
The breakfast was enough to get us through to lunchtime. Juice, Coffee, Assorted pastries which I liked cut in half as you could have more variety! Three different flavoured yoghurts, bananas, oranges as well as eggs and cereals. We didn't eat at the restaurant but discovered Eats ( just about 5 minutes walk) which was linked to Legendz so ate there each night which was quieter and cheaper with a good range.
Crossing the road for us was dead easy - its NOT the wrong side for us Brits and the drivers are unbelievably considerate. There is also a crossing if you feel safer. Buses too, regularly drive past and they can just be flagged down - its a great experience, cheap and you get to meet the local people too.
I had my Birthday on the island and they came to my room with a rum cake - such a lovely surprise and a lovely gesture.....thank you.
The girls behind reception are delightful - we got some amazing information about where to go and what to see. My main goal was to snorkel with turtles in the wild and that's what I achieved thanks to Shawnna- Kay's tip off!.....I couldn't wait to tell her when I got back!
She also sorted out our return flight and boarding passes and another girl fixed a last minute trip for us in seconds.
Most of our stay was very peaceful - we did have noisy neighbours for 2 nights but they take that very seriously and a security guard will sort that out for you as well as carry your cases for an early flight back home which by then were 23kg+
The Sunshine Suites fit perfectly with the Cayman vibe - Friendly, laid-back and honest. We have stayed in the bigger chains elsewhere but this seemed the right place for us in Grand Cayman - you will not get the personal touches and smiles anywhere else, I'm sure and we are already looking forward to a return trip.
Thank you Sunshine Suites :o)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st level which was perfect and it overlooked the garden (227)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First impression was that of a sleepy little hotel. Don't let the quiet charm fool you, this location has a lot to offer. Not as large or fancy as some of the neighboring hotels, and yet, not as stuffy either! Many of the guests I met were repeat and all seemed disappointed when it was time to go home. Downside - if you are on the 3rd floor, you have to haul your own luggage up and down.
Breakfast in the morning was a simple, usually pleasant and relaxed grab and go style. Nothing complicated about it. Juice, milk and cereal, fruit and muffins. If you needed anything, you only had to ask and it was taken care of.
I read some of the other reviews before and after my stay. If you were expecting the Ritz, you missed it by a driveway. If you want to relax, be left on your own and have a clean quiet room, this is worth it.

Room Tip: Stairs not elevators. If you have a lot/heavy luggage, ask for a lower floor. Be sure to check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Extremely helpful staff.
The included Breakfast a bit picnic like but now in a self contained building (or takeaway)
The rooms are very pleasant and spacious. There is an integral kicthen area and fresh coffee is provided for the coffee making machine.
Very good value with includive flight hotel offer from BA.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at Sunshine Suites for 9 nights for a dive holiday. It was my fourth time in Cayman and my first time staying at Sunshine. I would definitely stay there again!

The room was small but adequate for my needs. I don't go to Cayman to sit in the room! The bed was comfortable (a must when you are diving four times a day!) There's a big fridge, a microwave and a stove if you plan on cooking simple meals. For those who want to stay connected, wi fi is free and works throughout the property. If you want to catch your TV shows after spending a day in the sun, the TV gets quite a few channels.

The restaurant at Sunshine is really good. I had lunch and dinner there several times. It gets crowded for lunch and dinner early so be ready for a wait. I'd rather have a crowded restaurant than an empty one though! Grab a cold beer or a delicious homemade Painkiller at the bar. Be careful though-you can't taste the rum in the Painkillers! :) A continental "grab and go" breakfast is complimentary. A sit down option is available as well but that is not free. I did not have breakfast as I was up too early to dive, but based on lunch and dinner, I'm sure that breakfast is good, too.

The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. My air conditioning went on the fritz one night. I told the front desk when I left for my morning dives at 7:30 and it was fixed by the time I came back at 11:30 am.

I didn't have a ton of time to spend at the beach but if you do, Sunshine provides beach chairs and a place to rinse your gear and feet off outside if you don't want to track sand into your room.

For the divers, there is a gear storage area. I like to keep my gear with me, but it's an option.

If you're looking to spend a ton of money for a 5 star property, this is not for you. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, convenient and affordable stay, Sunshine Suites is the way to go! I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We’re a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman’s famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location next to the Ritz Carlton, down the road from the 18-hole North Sound Golf Course and near dozens of shops and restaurants. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.