We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and I completely understand why people keep coming back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Suites Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and I completely understand why people keep coming back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I have had such a relaxing holiday here. The staff (from reception to the maid service) are very friendly and informative. No request was too much bother and I very much look forward to coming back here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    302
    61
    15
    14
See reviews for
253
511
63
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Sunshine Suites is a great place for the cost conscious. It's across the highway from the beach, but in a great location in the Seven Mile Beach area. They grill is truly one of the best restaurants on the island. My husband and I are divers, and our dive master was only a half mile from the hotel. There are lockers for dive equipment and a large rinse tub. The rooms are large and clean. No frills. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice and each time we had a great experience. We will come back here a third time. Restaurants are close by. The restaurant at the hotel has amazing fish tacos. Great atmosphere. The ocean is a few steps away. Awesome experience !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great value, wonderful Sunshine Grill on premises. Staff is exceedingly helpful. Front desk called taxis, helped with directions, just great people. A short walk across the street to beautiful Seven Mile Beach!

Room Tip: For better sleep, ask for a room farther away from the pool and the Sunshine Grill, which is very po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite - everything was clean and there was plenty of space.
The restaurant was very good - the burgers were excellent. Not the cheapest place, but on par for Grand Cayman... Lunch for 2 was around $40-$50.
The Sunshine Suites is across the street from the Westin and the beach is excellent. It is a few hundred yards walk and the Sunshine Suites has chairs you can take.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for work so did not pay. Previously we had stayed at the Westin across the street. We had a 3rd story room (no elevators so be prepared) and it was lovely, with a good cross breeze. You need to keep the blinds closed or else anyone coming down the hallway can look into the room. The air con works great, the suite was spacious and the bathroom while slightly small had lots of places to hang a swimsuit or 2. The bed is comfortable and there are TVs in bedroom and living area. The kitchenette was adequate although I did not cook - too much good food in Georgetown. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and very efficient, they always seemed to know when I was not in my room. There is a pool but since we were across the street from the beach, we spent our water time in the ocean which is bathwater warm.
There was a very nice inclusive breakfast when we arrived but they are changing it to a more continental affair (1/2 a banana - seriously?) and keeping the cafe open for paying customers.
Our only gripe is that despite staying at the hotel we could not get food from the restaurant - no room service, no takeaway - because they were too busy and the kitchen is too small. It seems a shame that they can't somehow accommodate a room service hamburger??
Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place although if you can splurge, being on Seven Mile Beach was awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

the sunshine suites are an excellent value for cayman, which is generally pretty expensive all around. all the staff are very friendly and helpful. it has a kitchenette and laundry rooms, so you can save money with those.

there are two bus lines in front you can take west along 7 mile beach stops or east to the downtown george town bus station (if you want to go into george town just sit tight its the last stop for both busses). this is where you can transfer to east end busses. so take these little van busses they are much cheaper than cabs and just as fast!!

oh the sunshine has a pool and a nice restaurant. there are also plazas where you can get beer, sodas and suntan lotions, etc.

beach access is right across the street next to or through the beachside westin hotel. right along 7 mile beach close to the sunshine, we also liked governors park, with its wild chickens walking around and calico jacks beach bar just east of the westin. 7 mile beach is just magnificent and you can walk along and park it and swim anywhere.

all in all if you dont want a lot of typical expensive hotel amenities, i highly rec the sunshine suites. its especialy great for families too.

two more tips -- one is note that it was about $22USD to and from the airport by cab and they come very quickly after the front desk calls. the other tip is if you need an inter-island travel agency service, we used travel pros on dr. roy's drive in downtown george town. its right around the corner from the bus station lot final stop -- they were great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We’re a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman’s famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location next to the Ritz Carlton, down the road from the 18-hole North Sound Golf Course and near dozens of shops and restaurants. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.